Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

Some great comments on my last post about plastic surgery. I love it when: a) people better articulate the point I’m trying to get across and b) when people see it from a different point of view than I. Case and point:

Julie, on January 15th, 2010 at 11:30 am Said:

I think it’s sad when people get plastic surgery to make themselves happy. It’s one thing if you have something about yourself that honestly makes you sad or feel ugly (like having a large nose – not saying people w/ large noses are ugly, at all) but if you are doing it because of insecurities, maybe instead of paying to alter your body you should pay to alter your thoughts about your body…like going to therapy. I mean, if it’s really that bad.

I think Heidi was beautiful back in the day, it’s sad what she’s done to herself. I can’t imagine waking up one morning and not resembling pictures of myself that were taken a mere 5 years ago.

heather, on January 15th, 2010 at 2:20 am Said:

My thoughts on plastic surgery are the same as yours, to an extent. In my own personal case I would love to have a few surgeries performed. But, I’ve also lost over 280 pounds and have over 15 pounds of excess skin that cannot be gotten rid of without surgery. So while it would be dangerous, I also think of it as being necessary in the future. In the case of Heidi, I agree with you. She’s rediculous, and doing it for those reasons is way over the top.

Just my two cents.

And then I always love it when my mommy jumps into the conversation…

Christina, on January 15th, 2010 at 12:48 pm Said:

If Heidi does not accept herself now the aging process is going to be horrible for her. I am 55 and my body has undergone many changes. But I have Susan’s 86 year old grandmother as my role model. She has always ate well and exercised. Her skin is wrinkled and sags but that is what happens to skin after 86 years. She is still proud of her looks and it shines through. No one gets to be 86 without it showing…

I can thank my mom and nana for being two wonderful role models on how to age. My 86 year old grandmother goes to yoga for goodness sake! I’ve seen how beautiful the aging process can be with those two women as examples, and I think that’s why people like Heidi Montag make my heart ache.

Speaking of hearts, thank you to those of you who nominated me for the blogging pants! I’ve admittedly completely ignored my Google Reader these past couple days, so I was confused as to why I was suddenly getting people coming here from Caitlin’s blog. Seeing that a handful of people thought of me when they heard about the blogging pants initiative put a giant smile on my face. My heart grew just like it does at the end of How the Grinch Stole Christmas (you know what I’m talking about!) 

Okee, I’ve got lots of stuff to get to – including the Blogaversary Giveaway winner!! So let’s get down to business, shall we?

As I mentioned in my previous post, I had a completely wild night last night and stayed out till 10:30 with the girls from work. By the time blogging happened, it was close to midnight when I fell asleep. Six hours later, I was so not feeling the bike trainer session I’d hoped for. I rolled over and tried to go back to sleep, except I couldn’t!!! This is one of the reasons why I’m so successful at morning workouts. When I’m up, I’m up. So I pulled on my bike shorts and got to it.

It’s odd doing stationary bike workouts. I’m used to doing it in a spin class setting, or being outside on a real bike. I’m still not sure how to design a lengthy bike workout for myself. I kinda made it up as I went along today:

  • 5 minute warm-up – easy spin
  • 10 minutes – sitting sprints (1 min) + sitting recovery (1 min)
  • 10 minutes – hill climb, alternating between sitting and standing for 1 min each, increasing resistance every 2 min
  • 20 minutes – alternating 1 min sitting + 1 min standing sprints, with 2 min recovery in between each

Yeah, kinda random, but it kept me interested and I was working real hard by the end. Watched the local news again while on the bike. It was all about Haiti. An old “colleague” of mine was killed in the earthquake. Communications officer for the local RCMP. Heartbreaking. He always stuck out in my memory because he was so nice to me when I was a student journalist bugging him for interviews all the time. Strange how these people we cross paths with frequently can have such an impact on us…

Anyways, I should warn you, I’ve had a sandwich for every meal today. Starting with smoked salmon on an english muffin for breakfast.

IMG_2824
Also on there is laughing cow cheese, mustard, capers, red onion, spinach, tomato. And some grapes on the side. I’ve been craving savoury breakfasts lately!

I was supposed to go out to lunch with my dad today, but he finished up in court early and headed back to Moncton this morning. No worries cause I’ll be seeing in when I go home for my birthday next weekend!!! Since I didn’t pack a lunch, I tagged along to the mall with coworkers and stopped by Subway for sandwich #2 – turkey breast on whole wheat. Smothered in mustard and pickles. 

I had an appointment to get my hair done at 6pm, so I scooted home from work to make a quickie supper. Sandwich #3!

IMG_2826
Yves veggie salami slices, marble cheese, mayo, mustard, lettuce, tomato with a side of carrots, mushrooms + hummus. Nomnom. I’m like the female version of Joey Tribbiani. 

And my new single lady ‘do!!!

IMG_2832

Ta-daaaaa!! I had no idea what I wanted going in there, something shorter, darker, and a little sassier. I think it accomplishes all three and am quite happy with it. I feel like a new woman!! :D

All that scalp massaging stirred up my hunger, so I gave April’s protein cakes another go-around when I got home. This time I followed the recipe exactly, making two in total.

IMG_2853

Note to self: put it in bigger mugs next time!!! I don’t know why I didn’t learn from my exploding muffin top the first time around, but it happened again! They puff up big time in the microwave.

IMG_2858

Tastewise, these were much better. They’ve got some real potential. And by potential, I mean will someday be smothered in marshmallow fluff…

 

Okayokay. Enough chatter. Time to announce the winner of THREE Vega Vibrancy bars!!! Drumroll please…

….

….

 winner

#38!! Morgan!!!

Morgan @ Healthy Happy Place, on January 12th, 2010 at 1:21 pm Said: Edit Comment

yay! It’s been a year!! I love your blog and I’m so glad I found it.

Eeeee!!! Congrats Morgan!!! Send your address to thegreatbalancingact@gmail.com and I’ll send out your goodies!! As a side note, if you haven’t yet, you should totally check out Morgan’s blog. She has a very similar story to mine, and is now a television producer pursuing her personal training certification. Yay for fit broadcasters! ;)

 

And on that note, it’s time for bed.

IMG_2849

There are so many things I should do before bed, but instead I’m cuddling up with my hot water bottles and watching this week’s Real World episode. Night night!!! xoxo

Posted on January 15, 2010, in Fun, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. love the new do!!! you look so gorgeous :)

  2. I love your hair, it looks great :)

    The plastic surgery debate is definitely interesting- i tend to say it’s bad no matter what, but some of your readers make a lot of good points about times when it may be appropriate…

  3. Love the hair – we really have to stop doing the same things on the same days – I cut mine today, too LOL!

    I *love* those mugs, too!

  4. your hair is sooo cute!! You’re so pretty!!

    All your food looks yummy! I didn’t comment on the plastic surgery post, but I think it’s crazy. And people like heidi who were beautiful to begin with, it’s a shame.

    Age gracefully, that’s my motto!! :)

  5. Love your new do! Nite! Nite!

  6. Your hair looks amazing! You won’t be single for long, girl LOL

    Enjoy your weekend!

    Nicole G

  7. You look gorgeous! Your hair looks so healthy and bouncy!

    And the protein definitely don’t match up to real cakes.. but like you said they have potential! LOL

  8. I actually won something!! woww!! i’m emailing you now :) oh, and your new hair cut is GORGEOUS! seriously stunning

  9. I chopped ALL of my hair after the break-up. It’s so cleansing.

  10. Your hair looks SO good! I definitely need a haircut, my hair is getting way too long.

  11. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE YOUR HAIR! you look gorgeous my dear! and the same thing happened with caitlins blog to me, and it just warmed my heart so:)

    sorry to hear about your colleague – just another reason to live life, be healthy, enjoy and never take anything for granted. we need a HUGE conf call this weekend re: banff….will sat or sun work for you?!?!

    love you hot mama!!!!

  12. Yay for new hair! It complements you so well. Thanks for the link to the protein cakes. I can’t wait to give them a try!

  13. LOVE, love, love the new hair cut! It looks ridiculously gorgeous on you!

  14. OMG your hair is soooooooo cute!!!!! I’m in love. You can totally pull it off – you look hot!

  15. LOVE LOVE LOVE your hair! Love it! I cant stop looking at your picture!

    Ah! I just scrolled up again!

    Hot!!

  16. I LOVE YOUR HAIR!
    so hip and beautiful!!
    yay for sandwiches!

  17. “something shorter, darker, and a little sassier. I think it accomplishes all three”–OH INDEED!!!!!!! Miss Sassy Pants, someone will be out buying you a drink (of coffee! b/c i know you’re not a big drinker LOL) sometime real soon. Sassssssy beeotch. And I mean that in the nicest possible way :) HOttie alert!
    xoxo

  18. i love the hot new hair!!!!!!!!!!!! looks like an absolutely perfect “pick me up/put a smile on my face” kind of hairdo!!!

  19. LOVE the hair! Gorgeous! Is that your natural colour? The reddish tones are awesome.

    I had cereal for almost all my meals yesterday…like FB status said, no shame in my carb game ;)

    • No, my natural colour is a boring, mousy dark blonde. I grew it out once and it made me look sickly with my pale skin. Dark colours are much more fun ;)

  20. Sassy indeed!! Ay, Susan, your salmon always kills me. Makes me craaave it to the enth degree. I keep meaning to email you and the Holl-ster about your trip–what are the dates. i will probably not make it–I think I will be in North Carolina–but I would like to day dream about it a little :) xoxo
    P.S. Now that song, Single ladies is stuck in my head. :) I think I will go dance to it

  21. Love your new do!! It’s sassy, I need something like that too. I’m sorry about your recent break up, that’s so hard, but it sounds like you’re coping well. I hate cliches but ‘time does heal’ in this case. :)

  22. No Shame in having 3 sammies today!
    Like the new hair cut!

  23. erintakescontrol

    Love the new hair. Very much all things you mentioned, but I think it’s very professional looking, too!!!

  24. Your hair looks fab! What a beauty x x

  25. Love to new do! “It’s short, it’s sassy, it makes you look so classy!” – David Spade, Just Shoot Me. Please tell me you remember that show!?!

    Love your moms comment. You have a great role model!

  26. I love the Real World. this week’s episode was really good! Beautiful eats! I love your blog!! Great hair too!

  27. Of course I know what you mean with the Grinch and his heart! LOVE the new ‘do – it flatters you so well!!

    Those protein cakes look mighty fine!

  28. You look amazing with your new hairdo and color. So great!

    And all that food looks great, especially the chicken – yum!

  29. AHHHH i love your hair! and i love the new blog look! and i love you! haha. ok, i am so excited. can you tell?! congrats to your winner and um YES you totally need the blogging pantalones!

  30. LOVE your new hair! so cute! You truly look so gorgeous and grown up (in a fab way of course).

    Smoked salmon sandwich? Nooomm so good

    oo just noticed the new header! so cute!

  31. Cute ‘do!

    Loved the little stick figures you drew on the photo of banff in your other post too!

  32. It totally nominated you :)
    Your hair looks FANTASTIC! Totally sassy and sophisticated. It really suits you :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

