Manufactured Beauty

Thank you soooooo much for all the kind, supportive comments on my news from yesterday. Break-ups are always sensitive topics and I had no idea how to approach it. I am 100% okay. In fact, I’m in a really good spot right now :)

So last night after blogging, I decided to try out April’s Protein Cake. I started off by mixing 30g chocolate whey protein powder, 2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder, 2 tsp Splenda, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1 tbsp strained bananas, 3 tbsp egg whites.

IMG_2782 
Oh, and a sprinkle of mini chocolate chips for good luck ;)

And by “strained bananas” I mean “baby food.”

IMG_2784

This stuff is just organic banana puree, organic lemon juice, ascorbic acid. It’s actually a little on the tart side because of the lemon juice. Wonder if it’s like your banana jam Ellie? Anyways, regardless, baby food is awesome.

I stuck my bowl/cup in the microwave for one minute and returned to a giant puffed-up monstrosity.

IMG_2793

It exploded over the rim of the bowl, hence the “muffin top.” I should have put this next top Deb’s cellphone for a size comparison cause this bad boy was HUGE.

I broke it apart and put a light swipe of PB on it.

IMG_2800

I did the calculations, and it was 180 calories, twice that of April’s. I commented on it, and then April e-mailed saying she actually meant 15g protein powder!! Oops. To be honest, I wasn’t quite sold on the spongey texture of this, but I guess I can’t really judge if I made it wrong :P Gives me an excuse to try it again!

Moving on… I’m sleeping awful lately. I keep waking up 1-2 hours before my alarm goes off. I think it’s because I’m still paranoid about being late for work. That will hopefully go away once the newness wears off! :P

Anyways, I was seriously out of it when I popped in Jillian this morning.

IMG_2803

Brie recommended No More Trouble Zones when I asked her which Jillian Michaels DVD to get. I can see why she thought I’d like it. It’s comprised of six strength circuits, each circuit going through ~4 exercises two times. They’re legit moves, combining a lot of upper and lower body stuff to save time and keep your heart rate up.

IMG_2806 
I’m still not a fan of doing low weights/high reps, but this was a great at-home strength video. I burned 300 calories in 50 minutes (including warm-up + cool-down) which is more than a Body Pump class for me. What can I say, Jillian is good ;)

Oh! And I totally did today’s workout in my peejays ;) Breakfast after was a belated Waffle Wednesday celebration. I’m a Thursday Slacker.

IMG_2812

Two Nature’s Path maple cinnamon waffles topped with 1/2 cup ricotta cheese, 2 tsp almond butter, 1 tsp maple syrup, cinnamon. I didn’t blend it today, just mixed it up with a fork. Stayed thicker and turned out better!

No food photos from work. I’m always rushed in the mornings, so if I pack my food in the a.m. I honestly can’t spare 2 minutes to snap a photo. Sad. I was so rushed today I had didn’t have 4 minutes to brew a french press and had to make instant coffee. Double sad :(

On the bright side, I made dinner plans with some girls from work! They’ve graciously adopted me into their little “clique” and I’ve been eating lunch with them in the university’s cafeteria everyday. We decided that we need to go out once a week so tonight was the inaugural outing. Just dinner at a local “gastro pub.” I was hungry, but didn’t want to spoil dinner, so I had a snack to tie me over.

IMG_2820

Banana + Naturally More almond butter. I’m saying it again – I love the crispiness the flax seeds add to that almond butter!!

Diner was fabbity fab. We gabbed and giggled for a solid four hours. I ate an okay chicken salad with a draft beer. It’s been a long time since I had a group girls to hang out with. The majority of my friends in university were guys!

 

Now yesterday I mentioned that I was riled up over an upcoming story in which Heidi Montag says she’s”beyond obsessed” with plastic surgery. Most recently undergoing 10 surgeries in one day. Remember Heidi? The cute bubby girl in the first season of MTV’s The Hills?

Of all the “young celebrity” stories out there, I think hers is one of the saddest. I remember thinking she was drop-dead gorgeous when I first started watching the show. I can understand the insecurities and drive to consider making a few changes, but I think this is an extreme example.

Her most recent surgeries include a mini brow lift, Botox in the forehead, nose job revision, fat injections in cheeks and lips, chin reduction, neck liposuction, ears pinned back, breast augmentation revision, liposuction on her waist and thighs and a buttocks augmentation.

 

Dude, she’s my age. Why on earth does a girl my age need Botox?? Actually, my real beef here is that no on needs Botox.

There are a lot of things that make a woman beautiful and attractive. Manufactured is not it. A striking woman is not one that gets to pick and choose her own looks, but works what she’s got to the fullest.

Plastic surgery is obviously expensive and dangerous. But I think it’s just another one of our culture’s “easy fixes.” Why take the time to eat well, exercise, sleep and treat our bodies well, when we can just fix the damage in an afternoon?

Plastic surgery has always irked me. More than that, it rattles me to the core. I’ve admittedly looked in the mirror and thought “I wish my body wasn’t this way.” But never would I undergo the knife as a healthy person to fix it. Even the “prettiest” girls out there still look in the mirror and see imperfections. I think that’s the problem with plastic surgery – especially at such a young age. Because no number of tweaks and injections can cure a woman’s insecurities. That’s something that has to come from the inside. And that is when she truly is beautiful :)

 

Okee doke folks. I’m beat! T’was a late night with the gals and I’ve got a date with my bike trainer in the a.m. Night night!!

Question of the Day: What are your thoughts on plastic surgery?

P.S. Hair appointment is set for Friday. Will be back with pics!

Posted on January 15, 2010, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. It’s just sad. There’s a video that is posted on People abt. her thoughts. She just wants to be ‘happy’ and having bigger boobs will make her happy.

    For some people that’s true. Addiction to plastic surgery is no different then binging. You’ll never be happy. You’ll never have enough.

    I hope that she finds peace. I actually feel bad for men in this situation who are with women who are constantly unhappy with the way they look. I was one of those girls w/ my ex. It must be exhausting.

  2. Holy yum!! That muffin top looks amazing!
    Ya the whole thing on Heidi is kinda obsurred I think!
    Jenna

  3. OMG that protein muffin top looks amazing and my cell phone thanks you for the shout out! :-)

    That ricotta shmear is amazing! I’m gonna do that rather than blend-do you find that 2 little itty bitty tsp gets lost or do you actually taste it?

    Plastic surgery? Don’t hate me but I joke that I’m amassing a stack of doctors business cards for that special day when I pull an MJ. No, kidding aside, I really have no problems with it as long as it’s not freakish or OTT. But that’s just me :-)

    • I could still taste the nut butter, but I add it more for the fat content than anything else. If it wasn’t for sneaking nut butter into everything I eat, I think my hair would fall out :\

  4. I love NMTZ!

    Plastic surgery…yikes. I am not a proponent of it, but to each their own. To me it just seems so superficial. There are people in this world with real problems, and to get caught up in the fact that one doesn’t fit some cookie cutter notion of beauty is sad. Heidi was gorgeous in the befores; now she just looks scary.

  5. I don’t know where to begin my thoughts on plastic surgery. It’ll turn into a diatribe if I get too into it. Aside from extreme cases in which someone is disfigured in an accident, needs a breast reduction to alleviate back pain, born with a cleft palate, (anything within those realms)… I think it’s a horrid health risk and a huge waste of money. I’m a purist when it comes to aging. I see beauty in lines, gray hairs, and smiley eye crinkles.

    Love your blog!

    • Totally agree that there are times when plastic surgery is acceptable!! One of my good friends got a breast lift/augmentation because she was oddly shaped. Everyone thought she was self absorbed for doing it, but it was just one of those things she HAD to do for her own sake. She’s much happier with the change and has no plans to get anything else done. A good example of when it’s okay for a young woman to get it done :)

  6. Oh man, do I love/hate that Jillian Michael’s DVD!! I have yet to make it all the way through without having to leave a rep or two out!!

    Wow, I didn’t realize Heidi was as plastic-y as she was… I don’t even remember her looking like the older picture!!

  7. oh my gosh that made me SO sad about her!! grr!
    she was beautiful before.. i dk why she had to do that

    love that protein cake!!

  8. My thoughts on plastic surgery are the same as yours, to an extent. In my own personal case I would love to have a few surgeries performed. But, I’ve also lost over 280 pounds and have over 15 pounds of excess skin that cannot be gotten rid of without surgery. So while it would be dangerous, I also think of it as being necessary in the future. In the case of Heidi, I agree with you. She’s rediculous, and doing it for those reasons is way over the top.

    Just my two cents.

    • Excess skin from weight loss is another good example of an acceptable use of plastic surgery, good point! That’s why I put I would never do it as a “healthy” person. I can’t imagine changing the way I am now, but if I lose my breasts to breast cancer someday, that attitude may change…

  9. Muffin Top. I wish i could do eggs b/c I’d love muffin top!

    Heidi. The sad part, is she’s soo young! Early 20s. Or mid. But still. Save the plastic surgery for after you’ve given birth and breasfed for 3 yrs…like I have! haha! Seriously..to each her own but 10 procedures in a day AND at her age. All I can say…she better find her inner voice, soon. Because no surgeon will ever help her if she doesnt find her own internal peace, and stat.

    GREAT POST SUSAN!!!!!!!

  10. Yummy muffin! Surgery hmmmmmmm I would want to go plastic fantastic but when I’m older a boob lift and neck smoother might be good! x

  11. Heidi’s story really is tragic! She was my favorite person on the first season of The Hills, and she was absolutely gorgeous! She looked unique! Not like some plastic surgeried bimbo.

    The Jillian Michaels DVD looks interesting. In the picture you posted, it looks like the “models” are doing lunges and lateral raises at the same time. I know that working two muscle groups at once is supposed to be great for you, but I can’t stand it when exercise DVD’s/group exercise instructors ask you to do them. I don’t know why…it just seems like I can never fully work either muscle group if I try to workout that way. Plus, I lack the coordination to do it properly!

  12. Gah! Susan, how did I miss your news yesterday? I am so glad to hear that you are 100% fine, but breakups are very hard no matter what the circumstances. It seems like it is a positive thing in your growth and I wish you all the comfort I possible can! love you! xoxo

  13. Haha your protein cake actually looks really cool!! LOL. The protein cakes are a bit spongy but try it with less protein and see if it helps any!

    And I’m not for plastic surgery unless it’s something to do with a car accident or a medical problem. Other than that I think we should be happy with what God gave us!

  14. Poor poor Heidi. Not to mention her husband is a douchebag.

    I feel the same way about lightweight high resp BUT when I want to follow a DVD I use Cathe’s slow and heavy OUCH! It’s still light weight but going slow really get in the muscle.

  15. I think it’s sad when people get plastic surgery to make themselves happy. It’s one thing if you have something about yourself that honestly makes you sad or feel ugly (like having a large nose – not saying people w/ large noses are ugly, at all) but if you are doing it because of insecurities, maybe instead of paying to alter your body you should pay to alter your thoughts about your body…like going to therapy. I mean, if it’s really that bad.

    I think Heidi was beautiful back in the day, it’s sad what she’s done to herself. I can’t imagine waking up one morning and not resembling pictures of myself that were taken a mere 5 years ago.

  16. So happy you are liking your colleagues! Definitely makes work more fun :) All the baby food here has water way up high on the ingredients, but I am pretty sure that banana jam is far sweeter than baby food…hehe.

    Plastic surgery… It seems addictive to me. So many people seem to have one thing done, then another, then another, until they look like a Barbie doll. Nothing wrong with growing old and having the wrinkles to show it, IMO. Though I have always wanted a nose job. I doubt I would ever have one- stuff like having a perfect nose doesn’t feel as important to me as it did when I was in high school. I guess I’ve learned that external beauty can only do so much for you in terms of happiness and I would rather 1) spend my money on stuff like travelling, my apartment, etc, and 2) I would never want to feel like I was successful/popular based on how I looked. I am what I am. Take me or leave me :)

  17. I’m intrigued by the protein cake – spongy texture sounds kind of fun! YAY for making friends with the girls from work. Although I missed the post yesterday I just wanted to give you my support with the break up – I’m sorry :(

    Heidi used to be so pretty!! I’m against plastic surgery with the exception of SERIOUS cases (i.e. burn victims, etc.).

  18. Plastic surgery (elective) really irritates me. First off there are people all over the world who NEED surgery to fix deformities like cleft palette, for injuries, and illness who can’t afford them and forced to suffer while people with perfectly functioning bodies waste money for vanity purposes. Secondly, no matter what you do to the outside you can’t change what’s inside and you can’t stop time.

  19. Christina Guthrie

    If Heidi does not accept herself now the aging process is going to be horrible for her. I am 55 and my body has undergone many changes. But I have Susan’s 86 year old grandmother as my role model. She has always ate well and exercised. Her skin is wrinkled and sags but that is what happens to skin after 86 years. She is still proud of her looks and it shines through. No one gets to be 86 without it showing…

  20. I think Heidi looked so much better before plastic surgery – she looked like a hot real person. Now she looks like a wannabe Barbie.

    Glad you had a great night out with the girls! :D

  21. Oh my… that’s so sad. She was so beautiful and healthy and natural before. Now she looks like a cookie-cutter Hollywood girl…

  22. I’m glad to see you stepping out!

    The plastic surgery thing is really a double-edge sword. For some, it can mean the difference between being made fun of or having a physical ‘defect’ corrected. The right surgery for the right reason can really change someone’s life for the better.

    For others, there is some striving to change on the outside what they cannot on the inside. Someone who does this many changes (especially at such a young age) is unhappy on the inside. You can tell. She looked much happier and so natural in the earlier pics.

    I have to say, though, there are times where I think if I had the money, I might get loose skin removed from the large weight loss. Then I think that I might feel too alien to myself and change my mind again.

  23. yayyyy so glad you are making friends, hanging out and just enjoying life as a single gal. love it. we def need to chat this weekend re: banff plans.

    plastic surgery = no. not worth the risk. plus, peeps always look fake after. no thank you!!!!

  24. Haha, the muffin top cake thingie looks awesome! And the banana baby food is actually a great idea :)

    I had a rhinoplasty (nose job), but it wasn’t for cosmetic reasons. I broke my nose and it healed improperly, so last summer I had to get it fixed to reset the bones. It. Was. HORRIBLE. Seriously, I don’t know why anyone would put themselves through that if they didn’t have to. Uggghh, what a bad experience! Besides the horrible pain and mega bruising, I was sidelined for 2 months. No fun!!

  25. Heidi Montag. RIP. :( I looved her and thought she was adorable on season 1, and season 2 of laguna beach even. She made tiny/petite so cute! now she’s just a hollywood drone(<correct use of word? idk sounded good to me). And honestly, I don't think she's even that pretty anymore.

    I'm okay with some plastic surgery, to each her own I say.. but there is an extent to everything. TOO much of anything is never a good thing! i mean butt augmentation?!! god heidi, take some of mine..i've got plenty to go around.

  26. hello love bean! i just emailed you. ha. now i am reading blogs, starting with this one, obvi. thank god you got those waffles in there! don’t worry, i celebrated for us on wed :) that is stellar that you have some new lady friends. sounds fun! dude.. i cant believe shes had so much work done. and why get any to begin with?! she was def cute in the first place. blah. so whack. i agree w/ you 110% CANT WAIT to see the hair! xo

  27. I was shocked when I saw Heidi’s “new” pictures the other days. She looks even worse than after her first few operations. She’s definitely turning into one of these Hollywood clones. Sad. Sad. I am completely against plastic surgery IF it’s not for health reasons. I can see why women with large breasts want to get smaller ones because of back aches. Or why an other person gets a nip tuck because he/she lost a crazy amount of weight. But if someone “only” wants to get prettier, be thinner? No way!

    Btw I stumbled upon your blog yesterday. Took me forever and a day! Anyway.. Hi! ;)

  28. Hi Susan,

    So I am finally saying hi after following your blog since early in your tryingforatri days for two reasons: 1. I was totally beginning to feel like a creepy weird person because I’ve been following you for so long. (I started following your blog because I also was training for my first triathlon) and 2. I found a recipe for butternut squash fries that I thought you might want to try. It suggested wringing the excess moisture out with paper towels (like I know you do), then sprinkling them with sea salt. Letting that sit for five minutes and then wringing out the moisture that the sea salt draws out. Then baking. I haven’t tried it – but I know how you love them and I thought of you! Weird I know.

    • Liz!! 1. Thank you for delurking/reading my blog ;) 2. Thankyou for the stellar recipe! I’m adding butternut squash to the grocery list so I can try this method asap. Will of course blog all about it :D

  1. Pingback: Winner Winner Chicken Dinner « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

