Daily Archives: January 15, 2010

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

Some great comments on my last post about plastic surgery. I love it when: a) people better articulate the point I’m trying to get across and b) when people see it from a different point of view than I. Case and point:

Julie, on January 15th, 2010 at 11:30 am Said:

I think it’s sad when people get plastic surgery to make themselves happy. It’s one thing if you have something about yourself that honestly makes you sad or feel ugly (like having a large nose – not saying people w/ large noses are ugly, at all) but if you are doing it because of insecurities, maybe instead of paying to alter your body you should pay to alter your thoughts about your body…like going to therapy. I mean, if it’s really that bad.

I think Heidi was beautiful back in the day, it’s sad what she’s done to herself. I can’t imagine waking up one morning and not resembling pictures of myself that were taken a mere 5 years ago.

heather, on January 15th, 2010 at 2:20 am Said:

My thoughts on plastic surgery are the same as yours, to an extent. In my own personal case I would love to have a few surgeries performed. But, I’ve also lost over 280 pounds and have over 15 pounds of excess skin that cannot be gotten rid of without surgery. So while it would be dangerous, I also think of it as being necessary in the future. In the case of Heidi, I agree with you. She’s rediculous, and doing it for those reasons is way over the top.

Just my two cents.

And then I always love it when my mommy jumps into the conversation…

Christina, on January 15th, 2010 at 12:48 pm Said:

If Heidi does not accept herself now the aging process is going to be horrible for her. I am 55 and my body has undergone many changes. But I have Susan’s 86 year old grandmother as my role model. She has always ate well and exercised. Her skin is wrinkled and sags but that is what happens to skin after 86 years. She is still proud of her looks and it shines through. No one gets to be 86 without it showing…

I can thank my mom and nana for being two wonderful role models on how to age. My 86 year old grandmother goes to yoga for goodness sake! I’ve seen how beautiful the aging process can be with those two women as examples, and I think that’s why people like Heidi Montag make my heart ache.

Speaking of hearts, thank you to those of you who nominated me for the blogging pants! I’ve admittedly completely ignored my Google Reader these past couple days, so I was confused as to why I was suddenly getting people coming here from Caitlin’s blog. Seeing that a handful of people thought of me when they heard about the blogging pants initiative put a giant smile on my face. My heart grew just like it does at the end of How the Grinch Stole Christmas (you know what I’m talking about!) 

Okee, I’ve got lots of stuff to get to – including the Blogaversary Giveaway winner!! So let’s get down to business, shall we?

As I mentioned in my previous post, I had a completely wild night last night and stayed out till 10:30 with the girls from work. By the time blogging happened, it was close to midnight when I fell asleep. Six hours later, I was so not feeling the bike trainer session I’d hoped for. I rolled over and tried to go back to sleep, except I couldn’t!!! This is one of the reasons why I’m so successful at morning workouts. When I’m up, I’m up. So I pulled on my bike shorts and got to it.

It’s odd doing stationary bike workouts. I’m used to doing it in a spin class setting, or being outside on a real bike. I’m still not sure how to design a lengthy bike workout for myself. I kinda made it up as I went along today:

  • 5 minute warm-up – easy spin
  • 10 minutes – sitting sprints (1 min) + sitting recovery (1 min)
  • 10 minutes – hill climb, alternating between sitting and standing for 1 min each, increasing resistance every 2 min
  • 20 minutes – alternating 1 min sitting + 1 min standing sprints, with 2 min recovery in between each

Yeah, kinda random, but it kept me interested and I was working real hard by the end. Watched the local news again while on the bike. It was all about Haiti. An old “colleague” of mine was killed in the earthquake. Communications officer for the local RCMP. Heartbreaking. He always stuck out in my memory because he was so nice to me when I was a student journalist bugging him for interviews all the time. Strange how these people we cross paths with frequently can have such an impact on us…

Anyways, I should warn you, I’ve had a sandwich for every meal today. Starting with smoked salmon on an english muffin for breakfast.

IMG_2824
Also on there is laughing cow cheese, mustard, capers, red onion, spinach, tomato. And some grapes on the side. I’ve been craving savoury breakfasts lately!

I was supposed to go out to lunch with my dad today, but he finished up in court early and headed back to Moncton this morning. No worries cause I’ll be seeing in when I go home for my birthday next weekend!!! Since I didn’t pack a lunch, I tagged along to the mall with coworkers and stopped by Subway for sandwich #2 – turkey breast on whole wheat. Smothered in mustard and pickles. 

I had an appointment to get my hair done at 6pm, so I scooted home from work to make a quickie supper. Sandwich #3!

IMG_2826
Yves veggie salami slices, marble cheese, mayo, mustard, lettuce, tomato with a side of carrots, mushrooms + hummus. Nomnom. I’m like the female version of Joey Tribbiani. 

And my new single lady ‘do!!!

IMG_2832

Ta-daaaaa!! I had no idea what I wanted going in there, something shorter, darker, and a little sassier. I think it accomplishes all three and am quite happy with it. I feel like a new woman!! :D

All that scalp massaging stirred up my hunger, so I gave April’s protein cakes another go-around when I got home. This time I followed the recipe exactly, making two in total.

IMG_2853

Note to self: put it in bigger mugs next time!!! I don’t know why I didn’t learn from my exploding muffin top the first time around, but it happened again! They puff up big time in the microwave.

IMG_2858

Tastewise, these were much better. They’ve got some real potential. And by potential, I mean will someday be smothered in marshmallow fluff…

 

Okayokay. Enough chatter. Time to announce the winner of THREE Vega Vibrancy bars!!! Drumroll please…

….

….

 winner

#38!! Morgan!!!

Morgan @ Healthy Happy Place, on January 12th, 2010 at 1:21 pm Said: Edit Comment

yay! It’s been a year!! I love your blog and I’m so glad I found it.

Eeeee!!! Congrats Morgan!!! Send your address to thegreatbalancingact@gmail.com and I’ll send out your goodies!! As a side note, if you haven’t yet, you should totally check out Morgan’s blog. She has a very similar story to mine, and is now a television producer pursuing her personal training certification. Yay for fit broadcasters! ;)

 

And on that note, it’s time for bed.

IMG_2849

There are so many things I should do before bed, but instead I’m cuddling up with my hot water bottles and watching this week’s Real World episode. Night night!!! xoxo

Manufactured Beauty

Thank you soooooo much for all the kind, supportive comments on my news from yesterday. Break-ups are always sensitive topics and I had no idea how to approach it. I am 100% okay. In fact, I’m in a really good spot right now :)

So last night after blogging, I decided to try out April’s Protein Cake. I started off by mixing 30g chocolate whey protein powder, 2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder, 2 tsp Splenda, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1 tbsp strained bananas, 3 tbsp egg whites.

IMG_2782 
Oh, and a sprinkle of mini chocolate chips for good luck ;)

And by “strained bananas” I mean “baby food.”

IMG_2784

This stuff is just organic banana puree, organic lemon juice, ascorbic acid. It’s actually a little on the tart side because of the lemon juice. Wonder if it’s like your banana jam Ellie? Anyways, regardless, baby food is awesome.

I stuck my bowl/cup in the microwave for one minute and returned to a giant puffed-up monstrosity.

IMG_2793

It exploded over the rim of the bowl, hence the “muffin top.” I should have put this next top Deb’s cellphone for a size comparison cause this bad boy was HUGE.

I broke it apart and put a light swipe of PB on it.

IMG_2800

I did the calculations, and it was 180 calories, twice that of April’s. I commented on it, and then April e-mailed saying she actually meant 15g protein powder!! Oops. To be honest, I wasn’t quite sold on the spongey texture of this, but I guess I can’t really judge if I made it wrong :P Gives me an excuse to try it again!

Moving on… I’m sleeping awful lately. I keep waking up 1-2 hours before my alarm goes off. I think it’s because I’m still paranoid about being late for work. That will hopefully go away once the newness wears off! :P

Anyways, I was seriously out of it when I popped in Jillian this morning.

IMG_2803

Brie recommended No More Trouble Zones when I asked her which Jillian Michaels DVD to get. I can see why she thought I’d like it. It’s comprised of six strength circuits, each circuit going through ~4 exercises two times. They’re legit moves, combining a lot of upper and lower body stuff to save time and keep your heart rate up.

IMG_2806 
I’m still not a fan of doing low weights/high reps, but this was a great at-home strength video. I burned 300 calories in 50 minutes (including warm-up + cool-down) which is more than a Body Pump class for me. What can I say, Jillian is good ;)

Oh! And I totally did today’s workout in my peejays ;) Breakfast after was a belated Waffle Wednesday celebration. I’m a Thursday Slacker.

IMG_2812

Two Nature’s Path maple cinnamon waffles topped with 1/2 cup ricotta cheese, 2 tsp almond butter, 1 tsp maple syrup, cinnamon. I didn’t blend it today, just mixed it up with a fork. Stayed thicker and turned out better!

No food photos from work. I’m always rushed in the mornings, so if I pack my food in the a.m. I honestly can’t spare 2 minutes to snap a photo. Sad. I was so rushed today I had didn’t have 4 minutes to brew a french press and had to make instant coffee. Double sad :(

On the bright side, I made dinner plans with some girls from work! They’ve graciously adopted me into their little “clique” and I’ve been eating lunch with them in the university’s cafeteria everyday. We decided that we need to go out once a week so tonight was the inaugural outing. Just dinner at a local “gastro pub.” I was hungry, but didn’t want to spoil dinner, so I had a snack to tie me over.

IMG_2820

Banana + Naturally More almond butter. I’m saying it again – I love the crispiness the flax seeds add to that almond butter!!

Diner was fabbity fab. We gabbed and giggled for a solid four hours. I ate an okay chicken salad with a draft beer. It’s been a long time since I had a group girls to hang out with. The majority of my friends in university were guys!

 

Now yesterday I mentioned that I was riled up over an upcoming story in which Heidi Montag says she’s”beyond obsessed” with plastic surgery. Most recently undergoing 10 surgeries in one day. Remember Heidi? The cute bubby girl in the first season of MTV’s The Hills?

Of all the “young celebrity” stories out there, I think hers is one of the saddest. I remember thinking she was drop-dead gorgeous when I first started watching the show. I can understand the insecurities and drive to consider making a few changes, but I think this is an extreme example.

Her most recent surgeries include a mini brow lift, Botox in the forehead, nose job revision, fat injections in cheeks and lips, chin reduction, neck liposuction, ears pinned back, breast augmentation revision, liposuction on her waist and thighs and a buttocks augmentation.

 

Dude, she’s my age. Why on earth does a girl my age need Botox?? Actually, my real beef here is that no on needs Botox.

There are a lot of things that make a woman beautiful and attractive. Manufactured is not it. A striking woman is not one that gets to pick and choose her own looks, but works what she’s got to the fullest.

Plastic surgery is obviously expensive and dangerous. But I think it’s just another one of our culture’s “easy fixes.” Why take the time to eat well, exercise, sleep and treat our bodies well, when we can just fix the damage in an afternoon?

Plastic surgery has always irked me. More than that, it rattles me to the core. I’ve admittedly looked in the mirror and thought “I wish my body wasn’t this way.” But never would I undergo the knife as a healthy person to fix it. Even the “prettiest” girls out there still look in the mirror and see imperfections. I think that’s the problem with plastic surgery – especially at such a young age. Because no number of tweaks and injections can cure a woman’s insecurities. That’s something that has to come from the inside. And that is when she truly is beautiful :)

 

Okee doke folks. I’m beat! T’was a late night with the gals and I’ve got a date with my bike trainer in the a.m. Night night!!

Question of the Day: What are your thoughts on plastic surgery?

P.S. Hair appointment is set for Friday. Will be back with pics!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers