Daily Archives: January 13, 2010

Cat’s Outta the Bag

Hello friends! I’m impressed so many of you workout at home! Some great exercise DVD suggestions in the comments section of the last post, ch-ch-check it out.

Today I left the comfort of my own home to work out. I wanted to run! It was –18 C without the windchill this morning (-1 F) so there was no way in hell that was happening outside.

I did my usual 5+ mile treadmill speed workout:

On a 1% incline:
2 min @ 3.2 mph
3 min @ 3.7 mph
5 min @ 5.6 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.0 & 6.4 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.2 & 6.6 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.4 & 6.8 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.6 & 7.0 mph
5 min @ 5.8 mph
3 min @ 3.7 mph
2 min @ 3.2 mph

Baddabing. Stellar sweat sesh in 60 minutes flat. One thing I love about this workout is that I gets my heart rate up really high and keeps it there for at least the last 15 minutes. I can get my heart rate to peak at 175 bpm doing HIIT, but I feel like I’m training the ticker when I get it up in the 170s and “comfortably” keep it there for an extended period.

Usually I come home after the gym to shower and eat before scooting off to work. But today I tried something different and went straight to work (showering at the gym).

I packed two homemade protein bars for breakfast. Normally I would pack a breakfast cookie, but that’s what these things essentially are.

IMG_2748

I loved this new routine! I got a solid 45 minutes extra sleep, and felt much less rushed. It was also nice to get to work a little early and leisurely eat breakfast before the madness of the workday begun.

Morning snack attack:

IMG_2756

McIntosh apple and two cheese strings. I don’t normally buy McIntosh, but they were on sale for $1/lb!! Sold!

Lunch:

IMG_2753

Yves veggie salami slices, marble cheese, mayo on bakery whole wheat bread (no more light bread- blech!) and a naval orange. Looks boring but it was mega tasty. What can I say, I’m a simple sandwich girl.

Afternoon munchables:

IMG_2750

Source vanilla yogurt muesli cup and a Kashi blackberry cereal bar. I don’t normally buy flavoured yogurts, but these cups are pretty handy and tasty to boot.

I have a ton of romaine and spinach at the moment, so I went for another salad for dinner. It was delicious.

IMG_2771

  • romaine
  • spinach
  • onion
  • carrot
  • mushrooms
  • green pepper
  • mandarin
  • leftover roast chicken
  • roasted almond pieces
  • black sesame seeds

IMG_2766 
For the dressing, I shook up 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar, 2 tsp sesame oil, 2 tsp Bragg’s, 1/2 tsp agave. I LOVED this salad. I tend to always make the same sort of salads at home. I need to branch out a little more. Salads can be fun!

So. The title of the post. I have had a few days to mull over things, and in order to continue moving forward, I feel like it’s time to let the cat out of the bag. You may recall that Saturday was an “off” day for me. I alluded to something major happening in my personal life. Well, Chris and I broke up.

Oof. That feels tough to say.

I’m obviously not going to go into the dirty details. Chris and I spent four wonderful years together. We “worked” together seamlessly for almost that entire period of time. But due to several non-scandalous reasons, it seems we’ll be better off apart than together.

Despite losing a dear friend, I am remaining positive about it. I have essentially spent no time as a single adult and I think it’s very important for me to do so. Especially in this period of my life. I remain excited about my current situation and opportunities for the future. I love my new job, am making new friends, pursuing my passions and reconnecting with my family. I am slowly starting to feel “full” again. This is a big deal, as just a few short months ago, I was feeling very “empty” indeed.

 

…and like any newly single lady should, I’ve already booked an appointment to get my hair cut and dyed :)

 

Well that’s that. Time for me to go do the work I brought home. I’m thinking of trying out Jillian Michael’s No More Trouble Zones dvd in the morning, so I’ll review it for ya tomorrow. Also, I want to talk about the whole Heidi Montag plastic surgery thing. I’ve got a rant brewing!

Don’t forget about my blogaversary giveaway!! You’ve got till Friday! I also never did a whole “review” post to celebrate my one year blogging anniversary, but if you’re curious about it, I did something similar just before the new year: http://thegreatbalancingact.com/2009/12/31/year-in-review-un-piece-de-resistance/

 

See ya tomorrow! We’re over the hump!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers