The Living Room Workout

So apparently I have an accent :P Haha. Thank you so much for all the comments on my blogaversary and video post! Don’t forget to head over there if you want to win some free Vega bars and read all about the exciting trip Holly and I are taking, which you’re invited to!!!

After three full days off from working out, I got back to it today. Would you believe I still had lingering glute and leg soreness from my lower-body workout on Friday? Crazy. I decided to maximize on my sleep and keep the workout to my living room this morning.

I started with 20 minutes of intervals on the bike trainer, alternating between sitting sprints and standing sprints. Then I popped in Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred for the 20-minute Level 2 workout. Then I hopped back on the bike for 10 more minutes of sprint intervals.

This was my first time trying Level 2 on the DVD, and it was much harder! I was only using 5 lb weights and I was going to failure on everything but the bicep moves. And the lunges killed me. But they always do.

Brie asked me to explain my bike trainer setup. A wonderful question, as it’s a pretty sweet setup ;)

First, meet Scottie. My beloved road bike. Hi Scottie!

IMG_2717
You’ll notice his front wheel is being held in place…

IMG_2714
It’s just a little plastic thingy to keep it stationary, nothing fancy.

The back wheel is where the work is done.

IMG_2713
The wheel fits onto a stand, which is screwed in where you would normally remove the back wheel.

The stand makes sure the bike is sturdy, and holds it up off the ground the wheel can spin freely. But a free-spinning wheel does not make for a very challenging bike ride. You need resistance!

IMG_2712

At the bottom of the stand, is a small roller. Here, you can see there’s a teeny space between the tire and roller. But when I go to use it, I turn that little knob on the left and it pushes the roller up to press against the wheel. This creates some resistance while allowing the wheel to still spin.

There’s also a little tube that runs from the roller to a knob that attaches to the handlebars. Clicking the knob forward adjusts the roller, and creates greater resistance.

IMG_2739I can also use my gears to change the resistance too. Today I switched between the lowest and highest gear on my largest chain ring for the sprints, and it was perfect!

As I mentioned in an earlier post, you get really sweaty on a trainer! My basement apartment does not have the fancy air system of a gym. Thus, a fan and towel are required. You can also buy specialized mats to place them on as well.

IMG_2722 
Finally, I wear all my usual bike gear on it minus the helmet and glasses ;) My butt doesn’t get quite the beating without the bumps, but my cycling shorts are still required for the seat. I still have my clipless pedals in, so my shoes are attached to them. I think it may actually help my awful dismounting technique come spring!

IMG_2733 
The best thing about it is that I get to watch whatever I want on TV. Today was my usual morning news program – CBC New Brunswick First :)

Oh, and there are tons of different kinds of bike trainers. Mine is pretty basic, but you can get ones that measure your distance and even watt output. There are also bike rollers.


But they look like a death trap :P

 

After my tough and sweaty living room workout, I made a wonderful breakfast!

IMG_2682

Smoked salmon, fried egg, laughing cow cheese on an english muffin with black grapes on the side (my favourite colour grape).

Another good day at work today! I spent it mostly in meetings and didn’t get any real work done. But I did get a much better sense of what I’ll be doing over the next couple months. I think I’m really going to enjoy working on some of the projects! I’m especially excited to be involved in some video projects. It will be a lot more fun getting interviews and footage without the stress of being a reporter :)

Dinner was one of my fave ways to shake up leftovers – on a salad!

IMG_2693 
Two of my mini turkey meatloaves heated and crumbled on a big ole’ bowl containing:

  • romaine
  • spinach
  • red onion
  • green pepper
  • mushrooms
  • tomato
  • olives
  • pickles
  • toasted walnuts
  • sundried tomato dressing whisked with mustard

IMG_2706
Yup. It was gooooood. I find it strangely comforting to dive into a giant salad bowl.

I don’t usually have bars for my evening snacks because I’m at home at can make something better. But I was really craving a dessert-like treat tonight, particularly this Larabar!

IMG_2746

The Peanut Butter & Jelly Larabar Chandra sent me as part of my Blogger Secret Santa gift. I cut it up into little pieces like a crazy person.

IMG_2742

Bite sized!! This was my second time trying this flavour and I still really enjoy it. Definitely one of my favourite Larabar flavours now :)

 

Going to try something a little different tomorrow and go straight from the gym to the office in the morning. Usually I come back home to shower and eat. But showering at the gym and eating breakfast at work will allow me more time to sleep! Always a good thing ;) I’m just not sure what I’m going to do with my wet towel and stinky clothes :\

 

Question of the Day: Do you work out at home? What do you do? This is the first time I’ve had a piece of cardio equipment to use, and it’s pretty suh-weet. I went through a period when I scoffed at exercise DVDs, but I’m starting to embrace them again. Some day I’d like to get dumbbells!

Posted on January 12, 2010, in Fun, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. I looove your blog!

    In answer to your question of the day…

    I downloaded body combat and had a really good work out in my living room! Also 10 min solution pilates and NYC ballet dvd worked well for me too. Nothing beats a good fitness class but working out at home can be quite satisfying!

    I would like to turn my bike into a spin bike! I have a mini bike similar to those stepper things but its not so great.

  2. I work out with the Jillian Michaels Shred DVDs all the time. I also use her Metabolism Boost workout as well. Lately I’ve been really into Yoga Sculpt on Exercise TV, too!! If I can’t get to the gym I have no reason why I can’t work out now

  3. I have 10 lb and 15 lb dumbells, plus some resistance bands, and a few workout dvd’s. I probably do short workouts at home like 3 days out of the year.

    I’m not sure why, but I need a gym or the great outdoors in order to get in a good workout.

  4. I do workout at home. I have a smith machine, treadmill, lat pulldown machine, bench, and tons of dumbbells and bars and weights :D

    I’m the same way with DVD’s. Once I got “serious” about lifting I thought they were for pansies. Now i”m enjoying them again and actually getting sore from them. It’s like having a personal trainer at home. Plus I think I focus more.

    • It’s my dream to someday have an exercise room with all that stuff!!! Slowly but surely, my bachelor apartment will transform into a gym with a bed :P

  5. Susan, I am so green with envy over that trainer. I think I might have to break down and get one for next winter if my house sells LOL!

    I used to work out at home until about 10 months ago. We have a bowflex, some dumbbells, and an SL of DVDs.

    And that bike roller? Why not just bike on a frozen pond??

  6. That looks awesome! What a neat set up! The bike roller looks super scary though, I wouldn’t trust it.

  7. Love your set-up!

    Um, yeah. I don’t exercise.

    If I do, it’s just yoga at home or walking. I really need to cancel my gym membership or get some motivation.

    • My unsolicited advice is to cancel your gym membership and take the time to find your own motivation. I’ve learned from watching my mom that a looming gym membership can kinda scare a person out of exercise more than help. Or even just joining a new gym with new classes and fun equipment can help give you a little kick in the pants. Or a yoga studio instead! You’ll find your own way of doing it Leah ;)

  8. My husband had one of those bike roller trainers a few years back. Scaaaaaaary.

    I have a treadmill for home exercise and I also do the 30 minute Shred DVD when I can’t get to the gym.

    My Mom came to visit from NB this weekend and she really spoiled me….a new belgian waffle maker. I’m gonna try some of your combos lady!

  9. Thank you! That looks pretty cool.

    I do yoga at home sometimes, and the occasional workout DVD, but two cats and a dog tend to interfere with anything TOO vigorous!

  10. Level 2 of shred IS quite a bit more challenging than level 1 but still a great workout!

    That bike trainer thingy looks a little freaky for me!

    Mmmm I may have started to drool at the pic of your mcmuffin :)

  11. Love the bite sized Lara Bar! hehe

    I usually twerk it out at the gym or run outside, but when at home, we have a workout room with an elliptical, set of weights, exercise ball, tubing, and a couple other gadgets, so I typically do a combo of elliptical plus strength training. Occasionally I’ll bust out a Chalene DVD or two ;)

  12. oh SNAP great workout! i bet your body was so happy after taking 3 days off! go you!!
    love your breakfast! AND SALAD! thats a power meal right there!

  13. I tried to work out at home with Jillian’s Shred and Trouble Zones and a yoga DVD…. I discovered toddlers make this impossible to do. I have fallen in love with running now. So, if it’s a bove 20 degrees early in the morning (which it won’t be for a while now) I run outside and lift on my off days. I love yoga but I feel that I still need classes because I have only been practicing a short time and would like to be corrected on form. I am struggling to establish a good running schedule weekly to insure recovery and cross training time.

  14. I work out at home ALL The time!!!! I think that as moms we need to grab 15 mins here or there and it’s either at home or bust. So for me, it’s at home. For some people it may not work, but i have to work out or i go mentally nutty so it’s like i just gotta do it. Unroll the yoga mat, or some pilates moves, or just running up the stairs 10 times, whatever it is, I need to workout at home…or many times it would just never happen :)

    Thx for your long comment bout karma, i enjoyed that one and sorry bout your driving mishaps of late, too :)

  15. Yes, the rollers=death. Certain death.

    Believe it or not, I got a spinning bike (a real one) for $2 from a studio that was upgrading- I also got a nordic track at a yard sale for $10. Plus some odd bits and pieces- weights are DEFINITELY worth it. You can sometimes find them on the cheap at THrift stores. I am all about saving mulah for this stuff!

    I also do my own self-inflicted boot camp type stuff- plyo, roping, lunges & squats etc- anything to get my sweat on.

    Well, you probably don’t have an accent for your area! But it sounds very elegant compared to that found in my part of the world! :-)

  16. I actually just bought a road bike and trainer last week and my set up is very similar to yours. Good call on the fan, I sweat like a beast on the bike so next time I’ll see if the fan makes it a bit more bearable. Usually I suck at working out at home so I stick to the outdoors and the gym as much as possible. It’s pretty fun to be able to watch TV while I bike though.

    I’m totally craving a salad now, too (ha, I think only food bloggers would say stuff like that).

  17. I’m addicted to exercise dvds. I’m forbidden to buy more by my husband but I sneak one or two in on occassion! If I’m not doing dvds then I take classes at the gym or just use the elliptical, treadmill, or rowing machine.

  18. i definitely believe you were still sore because i am still sore from sunday and it is wednesday! hi scottie! marshall’s roomie has a bike trainer that doesnt hold the bike upright. it is like two cylinders and you have to balance. omg it is soooo hard to use! oh haha. i was commenting as i was reading.. yep. bike rollers. that is it. death trap to the max.

    ooo the tomato/mustard dressing sounds banging.

    i work out at the gym! but i wish i had my mom’s home gym ;) i do get it when she dies. but i hope that is not for 100 years.

    love you, susan!

  19. that set-up is AWESOME! i love it!

  20. I always workout at home as well as the gym, I have tones of dvd’s I like to rotate between them so I don’t get bored. The best thing about working out at home is you can get hot and sweaty without worrying about what you look like! x

  21. I really like that bike setup! I love multitaskers….inside and outside, and no huge machinery to find room for!

    I maaaay just have to buy Jillian’s tapes. I don’t do too much workouts at home for the sake of our lower neighbors, but I think the weekends could use some Jillian!

  22. I workout at home a couple times a week! I have some good dvds, dumbbells, resistance bands, stability ball, and I even have a bowflex! Why I don’t use it I have no idea…

  23. I keep trying to leave you comments and they don’t post :-( anyways, I usually don’t work out at home. I have a few DVDs (30 Day Shred, yoga, Tae Bo even) and I get Exercise TV, but it’s just so hard to motivate myself to actually do it. And I never feel like it’s as good as a trip to the gym or a run. Same thing with yoga…I just don’t like it as much as going to a yoga class. Of course, I do like the cost better!

  24. Leftovers on salad look great!!

  25. Jillian Michaels is my absolute favorite! She kicks my butt on the free exercise tv workouts…
    My second favorite thing is the wold is ExerciseTV! … I honestly dont knwo what I would do without this amazing OnDemand channel. I hate the gym, so working out in the confort of my own home is really a plus.
    You should also check out exercisetv.tv! They have this amazing sweestakes going on until the end of the month. You can win a trip to LA for 2 and sessions with celebrity fitness trainer, Holly Perkins! Talk about a win-win situation

  26. You’ve inspired me to make an egg sandwich before I leave. It looks soo yummy!

    I always eat bars in very small bites too. Nibbler. Loved that you cut it up!

  27. After having my daughter, it was really hard to get to the gym, so I was lookin for a living room workout and this is just perfect! It’s hard for me to stay on track at home, but I’ve definitely had better luck in home than at the gym. Kudos for the ideas.
    -Kenzie
    Deep Fryers

  1. Pingback: Cat’s Outta the Bag « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Winner Winner Chicken Dinner « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

