Daily Archives: January 11, 2010

Too Many Awesome Things To Give This Post A Title!!!

Why hello there! Hope everyone got a great start to their weeks! My Monday actually went pretty well, all things considered. Had a good day at work, which will hopefully turn into a good week! However, spin class did not happen today, I showed up and the class was full! So I’m doing my own spin class in my living room tomorrow out of spite. It’s going to be a million times better. And fret not Brie, I’ll explain the trainer!

Aaaanyways! I have a bunch of exciting stuff to get to so I’ll keep the yummy food pictures to a minimum. First up: waffles!!!

IMG_2648

Who says waffles are just for Wednesdays? :P The usual ingredients were blended for the batter:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • cinnamon/pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

IMG_2655

Torn up and eaten with my hands like a barbarian. Dipped in my favourite concoction – almond butter whisked with sugar-free maple syrup. Yes, sometimes, I eat sucrose.

Dinner was eaten in two courses! Started with a salad

IMG_2661

  • romaine lettuce
  • mushrooms
  • tomato
  • red onion
  • green pepper
  • olives
  • pickles
  • balsamic vinaigrette

The main course: leftover roasted zucchini, carrots + parsnip and mini turkey meatloaf!

IMG_2667

I actually intended to make a proper loaf-sized meatloaf, but I apparently don’t own a loaf pan. The downfall of relying on roommates for kitchen supplies then moving out on your own. I found a decent recipe here which I basically followed.

Ingredients

    2/3 cup old-fashioned oats (Quaker oats)
    1/3 cup milk (2% but other can be used) water
    3/4 pound ground turkey 1 pound ground turkey
    1/4 pound ground beef (the leaner the better)
    1/4 cup diced
    1/2 cup shredded carrots
    1/4 cup minced 1/2 cup shredded/chopped onions
    2 large egg whites, lightly beaten
    1 tablespoon Dijon Mustard
    2 teaspoons Italian Seasoning oregano + parsley
    1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
    1 teaspoon clove minced garlic
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1/3 cup Heinz Ketchup 1/4 cup reduced-sugar ketchup

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Farenheit. Lightly mist a regular-size muffin pan with olive oil spray. Set aside.
In a medium or large mixing bowl, combine the oats and the milk and let stand for 3 minutes (or until the oats are slightly softened). Add the turkey and beef, carrots, onions, egg whites, mustard, Italian seasoning, Worcstershire sauce, garlic and salt. With clean hands or a fork, mix well. Scoop the mixture into the muffin pan, making level with the top of the pan. Spread the ketchup over the top. Should make exactly 9 muffins.
Bake for 30 minutes or until a thermometer inserted in the center registers 180 degrees (I usually put back in for 5 minute increments until it reaches 180 degrees, which brings the total cook time to 40 minutes).
Number of Servings: 9

My only complaint is they were a little mushy which is entirely my fault. I shredded way too much carrot and onion because I’m a shredding machine. My stats on them are similar though – 128 calories, 5g fat, 152mg sodium, 7g carbs, 1g sugar, 1g fibre, 14g protein for each one. Wouldn’t make for a bad grab-n-go snack!

 

Okayokayokay. MY NEWS!!!! Click to play please! Turn your volume up :) (also, why does You Tube always pick the worst screen shot of my face?)

 

Sooo, if you missed it, not only is it my one year blogaversary, but I’m giving away a package containing each of the three Vega Vibrancy flavours!!

IMG_2671
In order to make it fair to bloggers and non-bloggers alike, I’m going to keep it simple. Just leave a comment on this post and I’ll pick a random winner on Friday, January 15. Pretty easy, eh?

My other big news is that my favourite Everythingtarian, Holly, and I are taking a bloggie vacation – and you’re invited!!  

We’re planning a trip to Banff, Alberta, Canada in June. We’ll be eating, hiking, biking, and adventuring our way through one of this continent’s most beautiful areas.

banff1

Photo courtesy my mom, who says Banff is one of her favourite places on earth :D

If you’re interested in joining in on the fun, or at least part of the fun, e-mail myself at thegreatbalancing@gmail.com or Holly at healthyeverythingtarian@gmail.com. It’s going to be mind-blowingly awesome. I am SO excited!!!

 

Okay, that’s enough excitement for me, I’m about ready to bust :P On a sappier note, I just want to reiterate how much fun this past year of blogging has been for me. I started it as a way to track my progress to a fitness goal, and enriched my life in ways I never thought possible in the process. Most of all, I’ve met amazing people. Thanks for stopping by my little piece of the interwebs (almost) everyday. Blogging is often one of my favourite parts of the day, and I’m one helluva lucky gal to get to do it :D

 

Question of the Day: Well?? Do you want free stuff or not!?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers