Daily Archives: January 7, 2010

Job-a-holic

TGIF!! Well, TGIAF. You see, I can legitimately say that now. I work a Mon-Fri job ;) For anyone who may be new, I used to work every Sat & Sun from 5am-1pm. It was lame.

In other (bad) news, my personal training classes next weekend got cancelled. Insert GIANT sad face here :(

In some ways, I think it’s just life’s way of straightening things out for me. Which is kinda weird, and starting to freak me out a little! I was scheduled to do a three-day course next weekend, then write my exam Feb 7. My original plan was to work at Starbucks till I got word I passed my exam and found work in a gym.

Then, I got offered this new job working communications at my old university until April 30. The next possible PT course runs for two weekends at the end of March, with the exam written on April 16. This is actually a better timeline for me! Again, I’m bummed to have to put it off, but weirded out that things are being all “serendipitous” again.

I’ll say it again – life works in mysterious ways!

Today is my “day off” from working out. Getting up at 6:30 opposed to 5:30 felt like such a treat! It called for a treat of a breakfast…

IMG_2437

Custard oats in jar. Topped with candy marshmallow fluff and M&Ms.

The best thing about OIAJ is that you get peanut butter in every bite. I always find myself scraping around the edges for maximum nut butter coating.
  IMG_2435

I remember April saying she weighed one of her nut butter jars before and after putting oats in it – and discovered there was three tablespoons worth of nut butter in there! Truth is, I suck at saving any at the bottom, so my jars are already pretty bare by the time I get to them.

Work was busybusy today!! I’m realizing it’s going to take up a lot of my time…I ended up bringing my laptop home tonight so I can tie up all the loose ends leftover from today. On the bright side, I’m really starting to warm up to my coworkers – good crowd!

I’ve been craving a giant salad for a couple days now, so I finally gave in tonight! (no worries, the chocolate cravings are still existent too).

IMG_2451

  • LOTS of spinach
  • red onion
  • mushrooms
  • green pepper
  • tomato
  • olives
  • boiled egg
  • grilled turkey breast (seasoned in the Kirkland no-salt stuff)
  • balsamic vinaigrette

So simple, SO good. Hit the spot.

I came home to yet another bloggie gift today!! I flipped out when I opened it.

IMG_2456 
Some of Deb’s famous nut butters!!! EEEEeee!!! Thank you so much Deb!! Definitely worth the wait ;)

The nut butters include roasted sunflower seed butter (sunflower seeds), spiced hole mole (peanuts, dark cocoa powder, instant coffee, chipotle powder) and spice nutella aka The OMG OMG OMG (roasted hazelnuts, dark cocoa powder, stevia, cinnamon, cardamom).

I’ve stuck my finger in all of them and they are uh-mazing. I see some wasas with hole mole on it as my nighttime snack ;)

 

So remember back in the day (ahem, November) when I was all worried about how working at Starbucks would affect my usual eating and workout routine? Well, now I’m getting the same way about working my first office job! It’s like I’ve gone from one extreme to another. Running around at the Bucks all day, to sitting on my bum writing all day. At least when I worked at the radio station, it was a good mix of the two.

I can say that I feel really good about my eats this week. My working hours are conducive to a good eating schedule for me. My office has no temptations (minus that chocolate covered cherry I ate today) and I always pack nutritious meals and snacks.

But I’m tired. Getting up so early to workout this week has been more of a challenge than usual. Doing it after work is not much of an option for me. Especially if I have to stay late at work, bring work home, or just lead some sort of a normal existence.

Anyways, like all things, it will take getting used to. This is only my first week! I’ll get settled into my new routine. But gosh, this is technically my third job in just over a month. I’m starting to feel it!!

 

Question of the Day: Are you a creature of habit? Or are you a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants type of person? I’m actually more of the latter. I like not having a structured plan for myself. I purposely drive different routes every day, change the order I do things in the morning, etc. But at the same time, I do crave some form of stability!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers