Year in Review + Un Piece de Resistance

Happy New Year!!! Or… almost New Year. I finished 2009 on an awesome note today with a two hour group exercise medley. Oh yes. Fuelled up with some waffles first to make up for missing Waffle Wednesday while at my mom’s.

IMG_2112
Two Nature’s Path pomegranate plus waffles, topped with a blended mix of 1/2 cup cottage cheese, 1 tbsp almond butter, 2 tbsp fake syrup, cinnamon. Num :)

I was a little iffy going into the medley today, as I’m not the biggest fan of two of the classes we were doing – but it was awesome!

Started with 30 minutes RPM (ie, spin class). I was sweating up a storm 15 minutes into it and knew I had a long way to go… We followed that with 30 minutes Body Attack. Which is a sports conditioning class. Lots of hopping and jumping. I’ve done this class once before and didn’t care for it. Cardio classes on the floor hurt my legs and joints. But 30 minutes of it was perfect! Plus, I was nice and toasty from the spin class.

After the first hour, I was a sweaty, breathless mess. But we weren’t over yet. We then did 30 minutes Body Pump, doing squats, chest, back, triceps and biceps. And then to finish it all off, we did  30 minutes Body Flow, which is yoga with a little bit of pilates.

It was just a special New Year’s Eve offering, but I seriously wish they did this line-up more often. It was SO much fun!! (and by fun, I mean torturous). In two hours I burned 700 calories. Not bad, eh? Hopefully that makes a dent in the booze and food I’ll be consuming tonight ;)

Lunch was a simple one gobbled up before jetting for work…

IMG_2125

Tofurkey, swiss and hummus toasted sandwich. With more hummus and veggies on the side.

For dinner, I wanted something that would mix nicely with the champagne I’m drinking tonight…

IMG_2152 
Blueberry protein pancakes (recipe under the “Eats” tab!) with fake-syrup whisked with almond butter. Solid meal. Although, I actually missed my veggies!

And for my “piece de resistance” I present you with Fluffernutter Cookies. Fellow fluffernutter-lover Emily, e-mailed me the recipe and I knew I had to whip up a batch to bring to my New Year’s party tonight. The ingredients:

IMG_2126 
Ritz crackers, marshmallow fluff, peanut butter, chocolate.

Directions: Slather crackers with Fluff, slather other half with peanut butter, and sandwich them together.

IMG_2135

Melt chocolate (I used 1 1/2 of those Bakers bars) in microwave. Dip crackers in chocolate using a fork, completely coating. Drizzle leftovers on top to make look pretty :)

IMG_2140

Cool in fridge or freezer, and devour!

IMG_2146

Hey, I just gotta taste test the goods ;) I actually think I could have slathered on a lot more fluff and PB. It gets lost a little in the cracker and chocolate. Ah well, now I know for next time!

And because it’s the last day of 2009, it only makes sense to do a…

 

Year In Review!

January

I started a blog to chronicle the six month journey to my first triathlon.

 

February

Found my Happy Weight

Got a job offer I couldn’t refuse

 

March

Completed the six-month New Rules of Lifting For Women weight lifting program

I went to Cuba

 

April

Finished university

 

May

Stopped counting calories

Graduated university and ran my first ever race on the same day!

A hip injury put me out of commission

 

June

Bought a new fancy car

 

July

Did my first triathlon!!

Started a new blog

 

August

I completed the world’s longest move into a new apartment

 

September

I set a new 5k personal record

I ran my first 10k

 

October

I quit my job

 

November

Took a job at Starbucks AND decided I want to be a personal trainer

 

December

Got an even newer job working at my old university

 

Ummm… yeah. It’s been quite a year!!

I’ll be back tomorrow (hopefully not hungover) with some party pics and my usual monthly goal check-in and setting. Hope you’re all having a wonderful New Year!! xoxo

Posted on December 31, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. What an awesome year you’ve had, Susan!!!!!!!!!!! I love it! And of course, I love those F’Nutter Cookies!!! Oh boy those look good and what a great and fast and crowd pleaser thing to throw together for a quick party. I need to file recipes like these away somehow. As if I need more “saved recipes” but seriously these look great and easy and delish!

    As for the trainer/clients email, thanks for writing back and that’s soooo awesome for you! I couldnt be more happy. You rock and your (future) and new clients will all discover that oh so soon!

    xoxox

  2. OMG – those cookie things look good!

    You have had a great year. It has gone so fast, hasn’t it?

    Here’s to a fantastic 2010!

  3. Those waffles and pancakes look fab, and I’m glad you had such a great workout! I totally want some of those cookies, too ;) I hope you have a wonderful New Year!

  4. Mmm sugar free syrup- my favorite!!

    And that Body Attack class sounds right up my alley! I wish they offered that class here. Maybe I should just move to Canada? Bet I could find a nursing job there too! lol.

    I hope you have fun tonight! I can’t wait for the recap!

  5. what a great year!
    LOVE those pancakes AND cookies!!
    have a great night too!

  6. Wow those pb and fluff desserts look sooo good!

  7. Wow-ey! What a was to kick off your NYE celebrations with a killer work out! That sounds great!!

    Those fluffernutter cookies look so easy to whip up! Would you believe, I’ve never actually HAD this fluffernutter combo? I feel like I’m missing out on something. Hope you had a wonderful NYE and a fantastic 2010!

  8. HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY NEW YEAR MY LOVE!

  9. Dang girl, what a great year. Love the pic of you at graduation- you are so statuesque and elegant.

    And double dog dang, that’s a heck of a lot of cardio! Nice to have some strength and then some stretching at the end.

    Have a wonderful 2010!

    D

  10. eeek Susan, you had a really BIG year! Congrats on all your accomplishments, very excited to learn more whats in store for you this year.

    Your pics look fantastic now that you’re home! I knew that the rebel would accentuate the beauty of your waffles and pita sandwiches. ;)

  11. wow that workout sounded so fun! and 700 cals, you cant beat that. BFD is a great last meal of the year. but i gotta say the fluffernutter thangs are a bit wacky~but if you and em like them then they probably taste good.

    LOVED the year in review! i think i started reading in april! it has been a great year for you susan. so glad i’ve had the chance to know you for a lot of it!!

  12. Ok, wow. I PROMISE I did not read this post before I wrote my own year-end review…it’s the exact same format! I’m sorry! I did not intend to be a copycat! I guess great minds think alike, eh?

  1. Pingback: Things I Learned – 2009 Edition! « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Cat’s Outta the Bag « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

