Daily Archives: December 31, 2009

Year in Review + Un Piece de Resistance

Happy New Year!!! Or… almost New Year. I finished 2009 on an awesome note today with a two hour group exercise medley. Oh yes. Fuelled up with some waffles first to make up for missing Waffle Wednesday while at my mom’s.

IMG_2112
Two Nature’s Path pomegranate plus waffles, topped with a blended mix of 1/2 cup cottage cheese, 1 tbsp almond butter, 2 tbsp fake syrup, cinnamon. Num :)

I was a little iffy going into the medley today, as I’m not the biggest fan of two of the classes we were doing – but it was awesome!

Started with 30 minutes RPM (ie, spin class). I was sweating up a storm 15 minutes into it and knew I had a long way to go… We followed that with 30 minutes Body Attack. Which is a sports conditioning class. Lots of hopping and jumping. I’ve done this class once before and didn’t care for it. Cardio classes on the floor hurt my legs and joints. But 30 minutes of it was perfect! Plus, I was nice and toasty from the spin class.

After the first hour, I was a sweaty, breathless mess. But we weren’t over yet. We then did 30 minutes Body Pump, doing squats, chest, back, triceps and biceps. And then to finish it all off, we did  30 minutes Body Flow, which is yoga with a little bit of pilates.

It was just a special New Year’s Eve offering, but I seriously wish they did this line-up more often. It was SO much fun!! (and by fun, I mean torturous). In two hours I burned 700 calories. Not bad, eh? Hopefully that makes a dent in the booze and food I’ll be consuming tonight ;)

Lunch was a simple one gobbled up before jetting for work…

IMG_2125

Tofurkey, swiss and hummus toasted sandwich. With more hummus and veggies on the side.

For dinner, I wanted something that would mix nicely with the champagne I’m drinking tonight…

IMG_2152 
Blueberry protein pancakes (recipe under the “Eats” tab!) with fake-syrup whisked with almond butter. Solid meal. Although, I actually missed my veggies!

And for my “piece de resistance” I present you with Fluffernutter Cookies. Fellow fluffernutter-lover Emily, e-mailed me the recipe and I knew I had to whip up a batch to bring to my New Year’s party tonight. The ingredients:

IMG_2126 
Ritz crackers, marshmallow fluff, peanut butter, chocolate.

Directions: Slather crackers with Fluff, slather other half with peanut butter, and sandwich them together.

IMG_2135

Melt chocolate (I used 1 1/2 of those Bakers bars) in microwave. Dip crackers in chocolate using a fork, completely coating. Drizzle leftovers on top to make look pretty :)

IMG_2140

Cool in fridge or freezer, and devour!

IMG_2146

Hey, I just gotta taste test the goods ;) I actually think I could have slathered on a lot more fluff and PB. It gets lost a little in the cracker and chocolate. Ah well, now I know for next time!

And because it’s the last day of 2009, it only makes sense to do a…

 

Year In Review!

January

I started a blog to chronicle the six month journey to my first triathlon.

 

February

Found my Happy Weight

Got a job offer I couldn’t refuse

 

March

Completed the six-month New Rules of Lifting For Women weight lifting program

I went to Cuba

 

April

Finished university

 

May

Stopped counting calories

Graduated university and ran my first ever race on the same day!

A hip injury put me out of commission

 

June

Bought a new fancy car

 

July

Did my first triathlon!!

Started a new blog

 

August

I completed the world’s longest move into a new apartment

 

September

I set a new 5k personal record

I ran my first 10k

 

October

I quit my job

 

November

Took a job at Starbucks AND decided I want to be a personal trainer

 

December

Got an even newer job working at my old university

 

Ummm… yeah. It’s been quite a year!!

I’ll be back tomorrow (hopefully not hungover) with some party pics and my usual monthly goal check-in and setting. Hope you’re all having a wonderful New Year!! xoxo

Goals for the New Year

Hello blog friends!! Wow, wonderful feedback on my last post about a poster at the gym that rubbed me the wrong way. It showed a woman standing on a scale, with the word “happy” displayed where the numbers normally are. Many of you agreed it was inappropriate, but I was surprised by how many saw it as reflecting a woman’s “happy weight.” That never occurred to me! Several others mentioned their weight (or “body size”) is one of the many factors in their personal happiness. Mish put it wonderfully by referring to happiness as an “onion.” Being happy is made up of many layers, and a person’s body-size can be one of those contributing layers. All very interesting stuff!! I encourage you to check it out :)

In other news, I’ve finally made it back to my apartment. I white knuckled it through the very windy drive home, but made it in one piece. Coming back to a snowed-over driveway was not fun though. Shovelling a car IN is much worse that shovelling it out :P

After four days in a row of getting up and going straight to the gym, my legs were telling me it was a rest day. I worked out five of the six days I was home – not bad! Makes up for all the meat pie and shortbread I ate… right…?

IMG_2086

Breakfast was a toasted blueberry bagel with cream cheese. I usually eat laughing cow cheese in place of the regular stuff. And you know what? I like laughing cow better!

And my fat/protein…

IMG_2090

A boiled egg.

I stopped by the grocery store before hitting the road as it was my only open window to do so until Saturday. So glad I did. Allowed me to throw together a rushed, yet delicious lunch before work this afternoon.

IMG_2094 IMG_2092

Sandwich with Italian Tofurkey slices, spinach dip, tomatoes and spinach with a side of black grapes.

Fuelled me through a busy shift at Starbucks. Found out today that my last shift is on Sunday! In fact, I only work tomorrow and Sunday, and that’s it!! Start my new job at the university bright and early Monday. Crazy.

I had Subway for supper. Don’t hate. But my evening snack involved probably the best trail mix ever.

IMG_2098

This package from Emily was waiting for me when I got home. Thank you so much Emily!!!! Besides yummy almonds, seeds, chocolate chips and cranberries, it has homemade dried apples. Not just any apples, but ones from her own backyard!! LOVE it :D

IMG_2106

I sprinkled it atop some yogurt + vanilla protein powder + cinnamon. Positively splendid :)

 

So my next few posts are going to be wrapping-up the past year while looking ahead to the new one. I decided to start with my “resolutions,” for no real reason whatsoever. Y’all know I’m big on setting goals for myself. Last year, my only two goals were to do a triathlon and get a job after graduating university. Both of which I did! :) This year I have five big ones I want to accomplish, all which I think are totally doable provided nothing big goes wrong.

 

Goals for the New Year

 

1. Run a half marathon

cropped

I tentatively have one planned for May 9th. But I don’t really care when it is – I just wanna do one this summer!! Also, let it be formally recorded that I will not set a time goal for this race. Finishing it is what matters.

 

2. Complete a duathlon.

 

Last year was “The Year of the Triathlon.” But to be honest, I don’t wanna swim in the lake again. There’s a small duathlon Moncton does every year that’s 5k run, 20k bike, 2.5k run. Stress-less and fun, just what I love ;)

 

3. Complete a metric century.

100_5774

This past summer I got up to 65 km on my bike, and I just know I can push out 100k!! Not sure if I’ll do this in an event, with Chris/family, or on my own, but my bike will see 100 kilometres in one day this summer!

 

4. Get my first client as a personal trainer.

Okay, ideally I’d like to have more than one client. But I’m trying to be reasonable here ;) Basically, I just want to move forward with this personal training thing. Doesn’t matter if I get hired full-time at a gym, or just start doing it on the side, so long as I can help someone as a personal trainer!

 

5. LIVE life.

n504422020_321031_8520

I feel like I spent 12 years in school “waiting” to graduate. Then spent four years “waiting” to finish university. Now I have nothing to wait for. I can do whatever I want! This year I want to experience life instead of watching it pass me by. I want to LIVE each day to the fullest. That doesn’t mean I’m taking off to trot the globe. I just don’t want to “survive” my days anymore. I want be an active character in them.

Question of the Day: Do you have any goals for the coming year??

Sooo tomorrow I’m doing a special "group exercise class medley.” It’s going to be 30 min spin, 30 min Body Attack, 30 min Body Pump, 30 min yoga. So two hours total!! I don’t actually expect it to be that gruelling, as the last two are pretty low intensity. But it will be a fun way to kick off the New Year!

I’ll also be scheduling a post tomorrow with my year in review. It will be scheduled, because I’m going to a house party to drink my arse off. But I’ll be sure it includes the awesome cookies I’m bringing to the part-ay with me! (Emily, you know that ones I’m talking about!) See ya then!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers