Sweet Saturday

Uff. I am soooo full of sugar right now. I spent all night baking, and sampling those baked goods :\ At least I had a decent day leading up to it.

I fell asleep watching “The Goods” with Chris last night. Not a very funny movie. However, we watched “Zombieland” before that and it was awesome. All together, I think I finally got 8 hours sleep. Yesss!! Went for a simple breakfast.

101_1314

Everything bagel with crunchy PB on one side and strawberry jam on the other. In the back is an egg white pillow to round the meal out. I was scared a bagel wouldn’t fill me up – but it totally did!! I think I’ve finally found the secret to a filling breakfast for me. It’s got to be around 400 calories and have significant amount of each protein, fat and carbs.

I had a stellar gym visit this morning. I think the extra sleep put more of a bounce in my step.

Warm-up:
Walk/jogging on the treadmill for 5 minutes

HIIT:
incline = 1%
0:00-1:00 – 6.0 mph
1:00-2:00 – 6.2 mph
2:00-3:00 – 6.4 mph
3:00-4:00 – 6.2 mph
4:00-5:00 – 6.4 mph
5:00-6:00 – 6.6 mph
6:00-7:00 – 6.4 mph
7:00-8:00 – 6.6 mph
8:00-9:00 – 6.8 mph
9:00-10:00 – 6.6 mph
10:00-11:00 – 6.8mph
11:00-12:00 – 7.0 mph
12:00-13:00 – 6.8 mph
13:00-14:00 – 7.0 mph
14:00-15:00 – 7.2 mph

A1 – Front squat push/press:
3 sets @ 40 lbs x 8

B1 – Underhand-grip lat pulldown:
3 sets @ 55 lbs x 8

B2 – Barbell upright row:
3 sets @ 15 lbs (ea) x 8

C1 – Seated cable row:
3 sets @ 50 lbs x 8

C2 – Dumbbell fly:
3 sets @ 20 lbs (ea) x 8

HIIT:
@ 0.0 incline -  2 min @ 5.5
@ 0.5 incline – 1 min @ 6.0
                           1 min @ 6.5
                           1 min @ 7.0
@ 1.0 incline – 1 min @ 6.0
                           1 min @ 6.5
                           1 min @ 7.0
@ 1.5 incline – 1 min @ 6.0
                           1 min @ 6.5
                           1 min @ 7.0
@ 2.0 incline – 1 min @ 6.0
                           1 min @ 6.5
                           1 min @ 7.0
@ 0.0 incline – 1 min @ 3.5

Plank: 90 sec
Side planks: 30 sec each
Stability ball rollout: 15 reps
Jackknifes: 15 reps

HIIT:
incline = 0%
0:00-1:00 – 3.0 mph
1:00-3:00 – 3.5 mph
3:00-4:00 – 8.0 mph
4:00-6:00 – 3.5 mph
6:00-7:00 – 8.5 mph
7:00-9:00 – 3.5 mph
9:00-10:00 – 9.0 mph
10:00-12:00 – 3.5 mph
12:00-13:00 – 9.5 mph
13:00-15:00 – 3.5 mph

Cool-down:
Stretching

The HIIT was tough, but I felt sooooo good when I was done :)

Came home to a wonderful lunch!

101_1321

It was delightful! I love cumin :)

Today’s plan was to pick up the last of my presents and brave the grocery store the weekend before Christmas for baking ingredients. It called for a solid snack.

101_1336

Three light wasas, soy nut butter, honey, raisins, cinnamon. This is probably one of my favourite snacks and always fills me up :)

I survived the grocery store and got straight to baking!

Warning: a plethora of pictures featuring baked goods devoid of any nutritional value follow. 

You guys. It’s Christmas. Healthy treats are for the rest of the year! :P

First up: peanut butter cup cookies that I actually first saw on Hallie’s blog.

101_1343

Mmmm….hydrogenated oil…

101_1347

Generic PB cups, no Reese’s to be found!

101_1348

My first mini muffin pan :)

101_1354

Slice up cookie dough into inch-thick rounds. Then cut each round into quarters and drop into greased pan. Baked for about 5 minutes at 350 F until just slightly golden.

101_1367

They naturally started to sink into the pan!

101_1362

Don’t forget to unwrap your PB cups ;)

101_1372

Drop PB cups into fluffy or sunken dough, and bake for an additional 3-ish minutes. It smells crazy delicious. But you have to wait until fully cool before removing from the pan. Don’t want to mangle all that doughy chocolate nutty goodness!
 101_1379

 101_1381

 

Then it was onto Brie’s famous cake balls. Aka Bakerella’s red velvet cake balls.

Except I’ve never seen red velvet cake around these parts. So I grabbed the yummiest cake flavour I saw. People were trying to hustle me out of the aisle – I almost lost my ankle to a shopping cart!

101_1375
I followed the box instructions exactly. While that bad boy cooked, I sat down to a healthy dinner of a tofurkey + jarlsberg lavash wrap. At least I got lots of veggies with my sugar today ;)

101_1394

Dessert was… what else!? A peanut butter cup cookie! 

101_1398 101_1402

I’ve been obsessed with trying these ever since I first laid eyes on them. And with good reason!! I mean, how can you go wrong? Chris loved them too. He promptly popped two whole ones in his mouth.

101_1401

Thankfully, he brought the bulk of the cookies back home to his parents. That is, if they made it there :P

Somewhere along the way, my cake came out of the oven and had the chance to cool.

101_1397

I then got to rip it all apart and mash it up with this even healthier product:

101_1382

101_1408
I then rolled the mixture into a gazillion little balls, and stuck them in the freezer to harden.

101_1415
While my balls were hardening (I’m not going there) I got started on my next baking project! This one I’ll call “homemade turtles” and got from Zesty’s blog.

I looked everywhere for waffle-shaped pretzels and could only find giant ones and sticks. I went with the latter.

101_1419

More cups!! This time in caramel.

101_1424
And the final piece of the puzzle – pecan halves. Which I quickly threw in the oven to roast first.

101_1421

I tried to shape my pretzel sticks like pretzel waffles, but Chris said they looked like pretzel rafts :P

101_1426 
Put this in a 300 F oven until the first sign of melting (2 minutes maybe?) Then take out and squish the pecans on top!

101_1437 
I did three batches of this, then stuck it in the fridge to harden. While those babies were hardening in the fridge, I pulled my now hard balls out of the freezer (seriously guys, I am not going there).

More chocolate was needed to coat my cake balls. I couldn’t decide on milk chocolate or dark chocolate with almonds. So I chose both and melted them together :)

101_1385

Two chocolate bars weren’t enough to coat all the balls though! I ended up melting one of my beloved Lindt 70% bars (cause ya know, I happen to have a lot of them lying around). But that wasn’t enough either! So I dug around my cupboard and found some yogurt chips that I melted with unsweetened coconut. The result was a variety of balls…

101_1455

Butter pecan cream cheese cake balls in a chocolate almond coating, dark chocolate coating and yogurt coconut coating.

And as those dried, I wrapped up my hardened homemade turtles!

101_1462
These packages are going to the kiddies in my family. Grandparents will be getting cake balls, and any leftovers are going to buttering up my new coworkers ;)

I don’t know how all of you bake without licking/sampling. I actually did good on the spoon and bowl licking front (kept it minimal anyways). But I still had to sample one of each of my goodies. Way more treats than I usually have and now I’m in a sugar coma. And maybe a hydrogenated oil one :P Uff.

On the bright side, I have a 90 minute spin class to look forward to for tomorrow!! Seriously. Can’t. Wait.

 

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite holiday goody? Mine are candy canes and my Grammie’s peanut butter balls :)

Posted on December 20, 2009, in Fun, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 38 Comments.

  1. WOW all that great baking!! the pretzel things are ADORABLE!! my fav holiday goodie-peppermint bark w. dark chocolate!
    and that is a great gym workout you had!

  2. the cookies with the resses cup look the best

  3. yum! your baking looks AMAZING. So so yummy :)
    ooh i love baking during the holidays!

  4. I love Puppy Chow candy! It’s made with Chex cereal, melted PB and Chocolate and then covered in Powdered Sugar. I do not make it now because we tend to eat it instead of dinner…. I do enjoy it at the family gatherings though!

  5. Dear lord! You baked up a crazy storm!!

    My trick (I hate doing tricks) is to chew gum while baking. Eventually I think I salivate too much just looking at everything and after a while the gum finds its way to the trash :-P

    Love your Janetha inspired lunch with the garbanzos. I want to try it one day.

    Fave holiday treat is a Swedish cookie my mom used to make. It was made on a form (that I think she got rid of) and was like crispy waffles in a cool shape. Then topped with powdered sugar.

    OMG I’m in love with those cinn. maple cumin almonds! Wildly addictive.

  6. all those sugar babies look great, yum!!!

  7. Ok so the cookies with the store bought cookie dough in the unlined muffin container in and of themselves would have been great. BUT you added the PB CUps..OMG those look decadent, amazing, and I may just have to find a way to make those. Even if I can’t healthify them (it’s a food allergy thing not even a health thing) they look awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The turtles.
    I made raw vegan ones here.

    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2009/11/raw-vegan-chocolate-turtles.html

    Just thought I’d share b/c you can pretend they’re healthy :)

    The cake balls that you broke apart and mixed with frosting and choc dips, OMG girl.

    YOU ROCKED the eats and this post, I love it!!!!!!!!!

  8. Haha, I’m allllll over this post! Those pretzel desserts looks AMAZING :)
    My fam makes homemade lolipops, which I’m a huge fan of..

  9. Wow! The great bake of 2009! All of your treats look seriously yummy!

    I don’t know about you, but as a beginner in the kitchen, I truly have to try all of my baked goodies. Especially if I’m going to give them to someone else, I need to make sure they taste ok!

    • Yes!! That’s part of why I HAVE to taste just one when they come out of the oven!! My baking fails outweigh my baking successes, and I don’t want to pawn off a failed batch to someone without knowing it!

  10. Love all the baking! I have been doing lots myself!

    xo
    K

  11. I’ve been meaning to make those little truffles.. they sound so good! I’ve been baking up a storm and it’s so hard not to lick and sample everything isn’t it?? Oh well.. the holidays only come once a year!

  12. HOLY DELICIOUSNESS!!! All of those goodies look so yummy! This post just made me so excited to kick start my baking extravaganza. Love this time of the year :)

    This is kind of random but at first I thought your egg whites were white rice – you know how sometimes Chinese places serve rice in a dome like that. Egg whites sound better than rice for breakfast though! Haha!

    • Ha, funny you mention rice for breakfast. My little step-sister used to eat white rice and parmesan cheese every single morning for breakfast for like two years. It actually wasn’t that bad! :P

  13. Your treats all look fantastic! I might have to make those balls (heehee) for my coworkers!

  14. I LOVE those peanut butter cup cookies. My cousin made them for a cookie swap a few weeks ago and I couldn’t keep my hands off them. I almost bought cake ball supplies yesterday to make for christmas but changed my mind…I might have just changed it back, they look so good!!

    No matter how hard I try, I can’t not sample cookie batter. I alwasy tell myself how gross it is because of the raw eggs in there, but I haven’t died yet!

  15. I love the one with the pretzels! I’ve never heard of doing that before – how much fun is that?!

    We are doing a little bit of baking this week – I think sugar cookies are on the agenda.

  16. Those look wonderful! I’m gunna hafta steal some of those recipes for dessert on Christmas. We’re having Christmas at my house this year because my grandmother doesn’t want to hoopla at her house ( =( end of a tradtion). However, with a new generation of grandkids (I was the youngest (am now 21) and now the next oldest is 10) these treats will be DEVOURED.

    Favorite holiday goody? Candy Canes – the traditional type, I don’t like the candy flavored colorful ones!

  17. Ahhhh!!!!!!!! Those things look so good! PB cups are my nemesis, too. I sample big time when I bake. I would say I almost actually like the batter of cookies and cakes better than the finished item.

    I, too, have at least a 400 calorie breakfast, and closer to 500 on hard workout days.

    That always freaks people out, but breakfast is pretty much always my biggest meal of the day.

    • Breakfast is always my biggest too! Actually, I think we do pretty similar meals: big breakfast, small-ish lunch, medium dinner.

      P.S. I really did go boil eggs after reading your blog today. It was delish :)

  18. Wow! Those treats look insanely good! x x

  19. All those treats look incredible! I also love your workout – I have to break it up when I’m on the treadmill and your workout is exactly how I like ‘em – keeps my mind busy :D

  20. Oh my goodness! All the sweet deliciousness! That is making me want to go bake some sweetness myself!

    And it also makes me wish the holidays would be over already. It’s not helping my healthy eating. Hehe.

  21. Wow everything looks fantastic! My favorite holiday goodies are sugar cookie holiday cut-outs with green and red sprinkles, plain and simple. So delicious : )

  22. All your baked goods look great! I like you tip to unwrap the peanut butter cups; something I could totally forget… (I’m a bit challenged when it comes to baking!).

    Favorite holiday treat? Sugar cookies.

  23. Just found your blog through your post on Lara’s blog. I love what I’ve read so far!

    I actually bookmarked a recipe very similar to those pb cup cookies. I can’t wait to make them. Of course some taste testing will inevitably follow. :)

  24. you are KILLING me with these treats!!

    and you have GOT to check out my oreo bombs on my blog, you’d LOVE them!

  25. Yeah, I am righttt there with you Susan- seriously, if I bake, I binge. I can actually bake without eating any of it, only if I truly have NONE OF IT. Even one chocolate chip or lick while baking automatically leads to 10X that.

    If I’m goood and don’t touch any of it, its more insentive to enjoy a sample at the end. So no worries. :) And conrats on the 90 min spin! Seriously impressed.

    And all the goodies look successful and delicious.

  26. you are the devil woman. i just ate a cupcake because after seeing this post, i wanted sugar.

  27. Hi,
    Really new to baking/cooking and I have no idea how to roast pecans (for the pretzel turtles)…please help! Is it as easy as just putting the dry pecan halves on a cookie sheet in the oven @ 350?
    Many thanks in advance!

    • Hi Sherry! Yup, that’s exactly it :) I had my oven at 300 F for the pretzel turtles. I spread the pecans out evenly on a baking sheet first and popped them in there for maybe 7 minutes? I’d check on them every two minutes though, because they can burn really fast! Some people also salt or oil their nuts when roasting, but it’s not really necessary when you’re using them for baked goods :) Good luck!

  28. hot damn. that is a lot of amazing baked goodies! your cookie cups turned out AWESOME! they are so freaking cute. and you know i love your workout and your garbanzofied lunch :)

  29. I found it. This is the post I have been dreaming about for 6 weeks. I read it in Aruba. I remember thinking holy crap.

    Now. Just in time for Valentines Day, in my own kitchen. Look out world, here I come. I’ll report back with what I make. I may or may not blog about it b/c the vegan police will come for me. LOL

  1. Pingback: All Spun Out « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Moments that make you go “a-ha!!” « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

