All Spun Out

Aahhhhh… I gotta tell ya, I never thought I was a 9-5, Mon-Fri person – but I could get used to this weekend thing!! Monday to Friday doesn’t seem so bad when it’s followed by two glorious whole days off! Alas, I don’t think it will happen often working at Starbucks now. I just got lucky :)

I slept in until 8am today. That’s crazy for me, I never sleep that late. I think my body is slowly starting to adjust to not getting up at 4am for work two days a week. I may in fact be taking on normal sleeping patterns.

Yesterday’s breakfast was so good I had it again.

101_1468

Everything bagel with almond butter and strawberry jam with an egg white pillow + laughing cow cheese in the back. Part of the reason I love this so much is because it’s a real bagel!! Usually I buy smaller or “light” bagels. But this week I splurged and bought larger ones and they are so much better. Can’t say I’m surprised ;)

I spent aaallll morning in bed reading blogs, the news and watching the news. I made the mistake of not immediately wrapping up and hiding my baked goodies last night. Two cake balls were consumed before I properly packaged and put them in the freezer. The coconut ones are fabulous, but the Lindt 70% ones are a little too rich. There may have been a turtle pretzel consumed later in the day. Uff round 2.

Inspiration for lunch hit while catching up on Lori’s blog.

101_1479

Egg salad with two whole eggs, laughing cow cheese, mayo. mustard, onion and pickles on toast. Sliced pear on the side.

Then at 2pm I had my special 90 minute RPM spin class!! It was SO much fun!! We had three instructors – all of which were dressed up in Christmas gear. One was wearing antlers and a rudolph nose! The class itself whizzed by. I sipped some Gatorade they provided, but felt I didn’t really need it. I was able to pace myself well enough to hold it through, and ended feeling I worked really hard. Oh yes, and during the cooldown, they passed out Jell-o shots!! Okay, virgin Jell-o shots. So technically just Jell-o in a small cup. But it was still awesome :)

Wasn’t feeling my usual post-workout shake when I got home, so I refuelled with a bowl of yogurt and granola.

101_1484

Coconut chia granola that is ;) I’ve got to start making my own granola more often. I stopped buying cereal to sprinkle on top of things because it usually just gets sprinkled directly into my mouth. But for some reason, I don’t munch on granola.

Dinner was something I’ve been craving foreverbutternut squash soup! Specifically, Wonkeynut Squash Soup.

101_1494 
The only change I made, was I added leek instead of the shallots and kale. It’s an incredibly basic soup recipe – that way I can dress it up!! Tonight I added shredded chicken breast, basmati rice, brussel sprouts, cumin & curry spice and maple-cinnamon-cumin almonds. I loooove me a chunky soup, and this turned into more of a “stew” with all the add-ins. It was fabulous! And incredibly filling.

It’s that time of week…

December Goal Check-In Time!

Spend 30 minutes everyday cleaning something in my apartment.
I did this almost every day this week. Although most of it was spent cleaning my kitchen every day! I miss my old dishwasher…

Stop procrastinating.
I did okay at this. Got lots done (Christmas presents) but could have done more (cleaning).

Read more.
This one is already a giant fail for the month. This will definitely be making a reappearance in next month’s goals.

Read at least one chapter a day from my personal training textbook.
I only got two chapters read, but I did some of my online modules, so it evens out :) Going to make a big dent on it tonight once I finish blogging!

Listen to my body.
I think I may have ignored my body a little this week. Perhaps splurging too much, and tricking myself into thinking I was just “listening to my body.” Working on my feet for eight hours does not justify mass amounts of sugar and chocolate! :P However, I do think my body if finally starting to adjust to all the standing I’ve been doing. My workouts felt much better this week.

Try more recipes.
I did three new ones yesterday :) I’m also taking over Christmas dinner this year. Okay, okay, I’m contributing a few side dishes and dessert. But that’s huge, my mom normally handles the meal all by herself!

Spend less on groceries.
I was doing okay on this until I bought all my baking supplies yesterday. For example, my three batches of turtle pretzels cost approximately $17. That’s not exactly cheap :(

Get a grip.
Okay, so my life is still a little chaotic. But I’m getting there. I’ve got a long list of “life administration tasks” that I’m slowly getting through. Hoping to get all those things checked off in January. Cause, let’s face it, Christmas is in five days. Ain’t nothin’ getting done from now until Jan. 3 :P

 

I also have to share this one tidbit I heard while listening to a Jillian Michael’s podcast at the gym earlier this week. She took a phone call from a guy who was saying he would give up and totally drop the ball on some days. He said he would get mad at himself for eating a piece of pizza, so then he’d just eat the whole pie.

Jillian used this really great analogy of getting a flat tire. If one tire gets a flat, you wouldn’t get out and slash the other three tires, would you? Well, you shouldn’t do that with your eating/exercise either. I love this way of thinking. I always used to be a “tomorrow” person, but these days I’m a “right now” person. If I made a bad food choice earlier in the day (ahemcakeballsahem) that doesn’t mean my whole day is lost. It just means I should take extra care in choosing my next meal.

I think this is something to remember entering “Christmas week.” Some of us may already by worn out by holiday parties and get-togethers, with no immediate end in sight. Just because we lose it on a plate of sugar cookies, doesn’t mean our good eating intentions for that day are totally lost. So this week, I’m just going to try to make the best choices I can in between the inevitable not-so-great ones ;)

 

Question of the Day: Monthly goals aside, do you have any goals for this “Christmas Week?” Mine is above. To consciously eat clean foods when I get the chance, but to not stress about it when I don’t. I also reeeeally want to make it to a spin class Boxing Day morning! What do you think those chances are? :P

P.S. Feel free to check out my guest post over on Lara’s blog – Thinspired!

Posted on December 20, 2009, in Challenges, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. I have one goal: to clean and vaccum my car. I DREAD this task with a passion, but I feel so much better once I get it out of the way.

  2. I totally agree with you on the flat tires analogy. It’s a great way of thinking, but sometimes not easy for me!

  3. That is a wonderful analogy.

    I have the same goal as you. Enjoy the treats, eat good clean meals when you can.

    Oh, and spend as much time with family as possible.

  4. I love your goals and specifically the read more and the spend less on grocs. I am guilty of lettting my mags & books fall wayyyyy distant 2nd to blogs and blogs are fun but it’s great to unplug too. $17 on one recipe is alot girl. I try to not do that unless I realllllly “have to have it”. Lots of the popular raw cookbooks use really exotic ingredients and one could spend $50 on a recipe, easily. Like a dash of maca ($10/jar), a sprinkle of mesquite ($10/jar), a little coconut oil ($14/jar)..and you dont use it all at once, but the raw ingredients are just pricey. So I always try to “adapt for the mainstream” and not do that b/c I think it’s insane otherwise for “Real people”. Sorry rambling :)

    • I know eh!?!? The pretzels are going out to six people, so $17 IS pretty cheap for six gifts, but still!!! $4.50 for each bag of caramel cups, $3.50 for the bag of pretzels and $4.50 for the can of pecans. Bam. Seventeen bucks :(

    • I’m horrified to say that I found a bottle of maca in my cupboard that I’m gonna give to Heather- I must have lost my mind as the price tag was $25? Huh? Crazy. No more!

  5. I love the flat tire analogy! awesome.

    My goal this week is to not go crazy – enjoy the good food, but realize the not as good food may not be worth it. I’d also like to hit the gym on both Christmas Eve and Boxing Day (but boxing day depends on the shopping too ;-))

  6. I love the flat tire analogy! I am SOOOO this way- as in, oh well I already ate a cookie today, might as well have that piece of cake. Terrible, especially for my stomach that can handle small amounts of not so great foods, but not large amounts. I have the same goal as you this week- try to eat clean but if I don’t, it’s okay too. Just don’t let myself go crazy over one cookie haha.

    Glad you made it through the 90 minute spin class, I am impressed!

  7. What a fun gym class! That’s so funny that the instructors dressed up!

    My goal for this week is to relax a bit and enjoy some yummy treats!!

  8. Hi Susan!! I just read all about your story on Thinspired and I totally totally feel you. I love your positive attitude on weight loss and your upbeat personality. I’m glad you did what every “normal” person would do and throw out your scale!! hahaha I would love to have you as a role model for me. :) Weight maintenance is hard and I need more great role models like yourself!!

  9. I like Jillian’s analogy! I’m usually an all-or-none person so it’s good to remind myself of that.
    Your spin class sounds really fun; I’ve never been to one but if they were dressing up and handing out jello shots I’d be there everyday lol.

    My goals for this week would be to savor the family time. Corny, I know.

    • It was a special holiday spin class. They kept referring to tracks as the “turkey burner” or “one peanut butter ball” :P They did a good job of making it fun – I hope they start doing it for every holiday!!

  10. Susan, we are so much alike. I am the same way with granola being one of the only cereals I don’t snack on!

    Yay for egg salad (except the pickles).

    Doing good on your goals! Does reading more count your training materials?

    I am trying to focus hard on the next few days to eat well, since I do plan on eating lots of food I normally don’t on Christmas, which means I don’t need to do that leading up to that day! I have to do the usual work week up through Christmas eve, so I do have a routine to keep at least.

    • Yeah, it was kinda silly for me to list reading more AND reading my textbook in the same month. My spare reading time is going toward studying, which is good, but doing nothing for that stack of real books I want to read ;)

  11. LOVE the analogy!! Just like you, I used to be a “tomorrow” person. NO MORE though! Eating clean and healthy is a constant murmur in the back of my mind, gently yelling at me to do the right thing and to put that cookie down. HA! It took a long time to get here though!

    My goal for the Holidays is to keep up with the workouts and to not get tempted with all the time I have off from work. You can’t relax TOO much because it makes you lethargic. As far as snacks go, I do admit that sometimes you just have to have a slice of pie. The key is to know when to stop! Don’t go for the HUGE piece. Go for the small slice and share it with someone you love. Everything is okay in moderation. :)

    Love your blog!

  12. Miz has used the analogy before..and I love it.

    This Christmas week I am focusing on listening to my emotions. Also not saying ‘I ate good’ instead of ‘I ate healthy’. I hate the idea of ‘being good’…it usually means restricting myself and then eating ‘not good’ the next day. As you say it’s about balancing my life out. So focuing on eating healthy is more important than being good.

    Merry Christmas. I am REALLY glad that I found you. I feel like you are where I want to be.

  13. WOW that sounds like the coolest spin class ever!! and “jello shots”? haha AWESOME!! 90 min is so beastly!

  14. Everything looks so good! My plan is to do some sort of exercise other than general walking everyday till the 25th so i can chillax on the big day its going pretty well too. I wish my gym was open boxing day! x

  15. Hmmm…my goal for the week is to chill the eff out. I always get so tense and anxious before family events. I’m so excited to go home this year and I don’t want my fear of food or not enough exercise to get in the way of my holiday. So I’m not going to let it :) I can’t wait to see your contributions to your family meal. xoxo

  16. Christmas week goals:

    -go see the OLYMPIC TORCH on Christmas Eve!!!!
    – be mindful of what I’m eating. I undoubtedly will indulge, but I want to make sure that I don’t become a glutton.
    -exercise or make it to the gym at least 5 days
    -purge the storage room in our basement

  17. I’m becoming a huge fan of Jillian! Lately I have been flattening all four tires with Christmas goodies. That is one of my goals to stop eating cookies and sweets. I eat healthy all day than after dinner attack the sweets. I can’t wait to get the baked goods out of my house!

    • Ditto!! I’m excited for the usual Christmas meals, but I’ve got to lay off on the little baked goods that keep circling. All the sugar is starting to make me feel like crap!

  18. I like the sounds of an everything bagel with PBJ – sweet and savory! Hahah I love that they passed out (virgin) Jello shots! That’s hilarious!

    Baking supplies are one of my biggest holiday expenses too! I’m dreading going shopping :(

  19. i cleaned up my apartment this morning too and it felt soo nice afterward! now on to the car

    jello shots during spin is an awesome idea!!!

  20. That is a great analogy…I think I missed it when I was doing my Jillian podcasts. I know it’s not the greatest strategy, but I’ve been making my meals a little smaller knowing that I’m eating more sweets (and drinking more!) than I usually do. I know all the crap isn’t good for me but it’s still calories in calories out so I’m just trying to be sensible…sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t!

    Now I’m going to go look up Boxing Day on Wikipedia…it sounds fun :-)

    • Omg!!! I forgot you don’t have Boxing Day in the States!! You’re missing out :P (not really, I could use to look up it’s real meaning too).

      Yes, I’ve traded in a few of my usual snacks for sweets this past week. Technically, I’m not taking in toooo many extra calories. But damn, a small cookie is not as filling as a bowl of yogurt! Just leaves me with an empty sugary feeling :\

  21. goal for christmas week – just enjoy it! i know when i go overboard, so just keeping aware of myself!

    love your goal check-in…and you are so right, ain’t nothing getting done between now and january :)

    i love that jillian michaels analogy…mostly because i used to be that person.

    hope you have a wonderful day dear susan – let’s please catch up soon :)

  22. I read your guest post. It was great! It really helps me with my weight loss journey. Thanks for reminding us about not beating ourselves up over treats. The Holidays are rough. Being sensible next meal is the best form of checks and balances. :) Goals this Christmas week would be to stay active to balance out the yummy food.

  23. I loved your guestie on THinspired.

    I’m gonna try to really eat well over the next week, and get back exercising. I’ve taken off two days in a row- today would be the third and I start going stark-raving mad about now. :-P

    I’m done with all the food-making presents (read: lick, nibble, taste, sample oh 800 calories later??). So now it shouldnt be too hard. I’m just impatient and want to feel better NOW. Not a week from now. Gah.

    And yah, bagels are amazing.

  24. that is so funny they passed out jello shots. how random! your goals are going along nicely, yay! and it is nice to know that having a “giant fail” is totes normal. because i am the same way :) ohhh i havent put a dent in my reader yet~started here first~but i cant wait to get to lara’s blog so i can read your GP!

  1. Pingback: Moments that make you go “a-ha!!” « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

