Daily Archives: December 18, 2009

Flashing Back to Christmases of Past

Woooo!!! It’s the weekend!!! I just realized I’ve only had one day off over the past 22 days. So these next two days off will be glorious :D Well, actually, I have a lot of catching up to do. But crossing things off my to-do list feels pretty glorious anyways.

Loved hearing all the other career paths y’all would like to pursue!! Seems like jobs involving animals, travel and food were the most popular :)

I had custard oats on the brain again this a.m. Well, that and mollases. And coconut chia granola.

101_1292

There’s almond butter hiding under there too. Dare I say this was better than the first time around? Yum!!!

Worked 8-4:30 today. I’ve taken to not working out when I do this shift. The days are pretty  busy and I need to be on my “A” game!! Also, I’m still sore from Tuesday’s weight lifting workout. That’s some persistent DOMS!!

Packed the usual lunch for today (we don’t have a microwave at the Bucks).

101_1295

Smoked tofurkey slices, mustard, swiss + veggies on lavash bread. And a melt-in your mouth ripe pear!

101_1296

Janetha posted an apple-pear comparison the other day. Did you know pears are lower in calories, carbs and sugar than apples, and also have more fibre and potassium?? They’re also cheaper these days. The price of apples has for some reason skyrocketed this month!

Oh, and I’ve been studying my personal training textbook on my breaks. Hence all the words in the background ;)

On my afternoon break, I had my first Vega Vibrancy Bar in the wholesome original flavour.

101_1297

To be honest, i did not have high hopes for this bar. It just looked too “healthy!”

 vega vega

Can’t really argue with those stats or ingredients.

Of course, it’s how the thing tastes that’s reeeally important ;)

101_1298

It’s a date-based bar, much like a Larabar. But it tastes so different – I loved it!! You can taste the dates, but dates are one of my favourite foods, so that’s always a bonus for me. The little specks you see in there aren’t all nut pieces, but grains. It made for a wonderful texture. And the flavour was really “mellow” with nothing in particular standing out. It’s small, but still managed to hold me over for the last couple hours of work until I made it home for dinner. This gets a thumbs up!

That dinner I made was some standard Friday Night Fare. Burger and fries.

101_1304Real hamburger with sweet potato fries (spiced in cumin & chili powder). I’m still kinda hungry though!! I’m thinking a protein-yogurt dessert may be in order…

 

Friday Flashbacks… Christmas Edition!!!

Last Flashback Friday before Christmas!! Actually, Christmas is technically on a Flashback Friday this year. How fitting :)

Here are some random family photos from over the past four years (as far back as I can find). I stole some off my sister and mother’s Facebooks, so I can’t take credit for all of them.

My wonderful mom in her Christmas morning apparel, drinking coffee and awaiting the Queen’s Message…

29b5re2
My Dad, looking very studious and lawyer-like. Actually, I think that’s a Stuart Maclean book I bought him one year.

100_0035

Sara, Jane and I, three sheets to the wind on Christmas Eve, re-enacting childhood games.

f6d7re2

Archie, napping under the piano, exhausted from all the Christmas excitement.

100_0063

Me and Nana (my mom’s mom)

n115400580_30807099_3647

 

After the unwrapping frenzy on Christmas morning. I can’t believe my mother actually allowed her home looking like this get caught on film :P

n719571132_2357296_1303 
Last year’s dead bird, courtesy my mom’s new favourite Oprah recipe.

n26945_35882039_1184

Last year’s Christmas dinner! This is sister Sara’s plate. I think someone is a budding food blogger ;)

n26945_35882055_4042

My three favourite girls, two of which are in the most hideous winter coats I’ve ever seen. How can people who live in and near Quebec not remember to pack warm coats!? And why is my mom still holding on to these!?

n26945_35882032_9723

Girls, I will not be letting this happen again this year. :P

 

I’m starting to get really excited to go home! I leave Wednesday afternoon and I’m counting down the days. Almost all my gifts are taken care of. Hopefully I’ll get the rest this weekend. It’s been a while since I’ve been in the same room as my mom and two sisters at once (last Christmas maybe?). Life has been such a rollercoaster lately, it will be nice to be in familiar surroundings with the people I love most :)

 

Question of the Day: What are you hoping to get for Christmas? Yup, I want a completely selfish, material answer for this one!! I think my mommy got me an SLR camera. Not sure what kind yet, but anything will be a step up from my current camera!

Answered – The Final Round

Omygaaahhhh!!!! The weekend is almost here!! Hell has frozen over, pigs are taking over the skies, because I have a weekend off. I predict it will be amazing :D

But enough about the future, let’s live in the past for a little bit. I couldn’t decide between waffles, pancakes or french toast for breakfast – so I combined two of them.

101_1270 
French toast waffles. I defrosted a couple Nature’s Path pomegranate plus waffles in the microwave and dredged them in egg whites. Dipped in a maple syrup/almond butter mix. Did you know Thursday was National Maple Syrup Day? I didn’t! But I’m Canadian, I have it every day anyways ;)

Long after breakfast was digested, I braved the –28 C (-18 F) windchill to run at the gym. I don’t know what I was thinking when I said I wanted to run outside this winter. I want my runs to be fun, not spent getting frostbite or falling on the ice.

Skipped my usual 5-mile speed run for a 5-mile tempo run. Basically, I slowly increased my speed as time went on, then brought it down slightly. I find running fast on a treadmill is easier than trying to jog on it!

I waited too long after breakfast to go to the gym though, I was staaaarving before I even finished stretching! Came home and whipped up a fast one.

101_1278

Turkey and hummus pita. Surprisingly, the best part of this pita were the pickles on it. I swear I’m not pregnant, but I’ve been loving the pickles lately.

Worked 2-10pm again today. Hit up Subway again for a veggie sub.

101_1281
Doctored up with my own mini-can of tomato & onion tuna. The people at Subway thought I was a weirdo for sure after ordering a dry veggie sub. They asked me if I wanted cheese three times.

 

Noooow it’s time for the fourth and final round of Q&As!

Hallie, Said:

Oh another question, do you ever feel pressure to blog on a certain schedule or about certain things? What do the people in your “real life” think about your blog, given that you talk about some pretty personal stuff on it.

First, I never feel pressure to blog about certain things. One of the reasons why I love blogging so much is that I make it what I want it to be. Some days I have tons of food photos I want to share, but not much content. Other days I have boring food, but some words I just need to get off my chest!! Although, there are days when I have absolutely nothing. That’s usually when I’ll provide links to more interesting articles or posts ;)

As for my posting schedule, I do sometimes feel a slight pressure to post every evening. What I’ve started doing is writing up posts when I get the chance during the day (like right now!), then just publishing before I go to bed at night. Some days I just can’t get anything out, and I won’t publish at all. I like having regularity to my blog though, and I miss it when I skip a post!

So far the feedback from my family and friends has been positive about the blog. I think it’s allowed them to learn a lot more about me, and perhaps even strengthened our relationships because of it. I try not to publish anything personal relating to other people. So while my life may be an open book, if it involves someone else, it’s a no-go zone.

 

holly Said:

besides journalism and fitness, what career path would you like to pursue?

I still want to open my own cafe someday! But that’s a long way down the road. You need money to open a store, and that’s not something I’m going to have for a very loooong time ;) Nor am I stable at the moment, I’ll likely be moving at least a couple times over the next several years. The cafe will have to be something I do when I’m finally settled a few decades from now ;)

Nowadays though, I’m trying not to think too much about the future. Mostly because the idea of choosing a career path scares the crap out of me. I’m just trying to do what makes sense and makes me happy in the moment (and, ahem, pays the bills).

 

Bekah Said:

My question- from a fellow embarrassed muncher to another: When you munch, what are your munch foods?

Anything small and in a box :P Cereal, chocolate chips, raisins, dates, crackers, nuts. I actually munched my way through a whole box of Kashi Cinnamon Harvest! I do most of my munching when I go out the door to work out. Usually because I go into a workout with a semi-empty tummy and my mouth doesn’t want to wait till after a workout to have a meal! Or when I first come in the door hungry. I’m pretty bad for munching while I prepare dinner. At the same time though, having a few chocolate chips here and there keep me from having crazy chocolate cravings. So while munching isn’t always the greatest, there are worse things :)

 

fightingwithfood Said:

Here’s my question for you – If you could, with no consequences, throw the “Great Balancing Act” out of the window for 24 hours, what would you eat and do?

I believe this is called “New Year’s Eve” :P Seriously, that is one of the few days a year where I throw it all out the window. Fortunately, the blog was created just days after New Years last year, so there is no blog evidence of the damage that was done ;) There was a lot of whiskey consumed (the only liquor I really drink). Multiple chicken wings, chips, cookies, mozza sticks, etc. And there may have been some drunken dancing to old Rancid songs in a stranger’s living room.

So to answer your question, I would drink and eat with abandon and have a blast :)

 

ellie Said:

How are you liking your coworkers? Overall…the job? Good/bad? Ugly? :P

I hate to say this, but being back at Starbucks has made me realize just how much my old job was slowly killing me on the inside. Everything just feels so easy at the cafe. People will sometimes complain about having to do the smallest tasks, while all I can think about was the time I had to be the first to report three teenagers drowned in the river. That, was hard. Having to wipe out the milk fridge is a cake walk compared to that.

The only thing that I’m kinda “meh” about is the drama that always comes with service based jobs. I am a no-drama zone. And already my coworkers are trying to pull me in! I’m just not taking any of it seriously, and I’m not sweating the small stuff :)

 

That was fun!!! I’ll have to remember to do these more often. As always, you know you can ask me anything at any time. Be it a comment or e-mail. I always try to be active and prompt in responding to comments and e-mails. One of the best things about blogging is that I get to communicate with so many wonderful people out there :D

And with that, I’m hitting the hay! Just closed the cafe, only to open it in 8.5 hours time. I’m thinkin’ an extra shot of espresso may be needed in the morn’. Night night!!

 

Question of the day: If you could, what career path besides your current one would you want to pursue?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers