Daily Archives: December 12, 2009

This body clock needs a snooze button…

Hey! Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend!! I had a wonderful Saturday off. Although, considering it’s been many moons since I spent a Saturday off at home, the bar was set pretty low ;)

I stayed up even later last night after being wound up from my busy night at work. It takes me a while to settle down and get in “sleep mode.” So after falling asleep at 12:30 am, my body clock had me up at 5:45 am. I hate you body clock.

I just rolled with it and made a spooky looking breakfast to eat in bed.

101_1074

Two fried eggs on a toasted bagel. With some yogurt and frozen blueberries. Then I promptly fell back asleep for nearly two hours. Ridiculous!

I felt much better after waking up the second time. Spent the morning in bed looking at cameras on the internet. My mommy is buying me a new one for Christmas!

I eventually left my cozy bed to get ready for the gym. Made a pre-workout snack of peanut butter and banana.

101_1077

With crushed M&M’s sprinkled on top. Of course!!! :P

I was so not feeling the gym today, and was tempted to stay home and try out one of my new Jillian Michael’s DVDs instead. But my legs are pissed at me from working all week, and I’ve heard the squats and lunges in those videos are killer. Upper body it was!

Warm-up:
15 minutes on the elliptical, increasing the resistance every 2 minutes

A1 – One-arm dumbbell snatch:
3 sets @ 20 lbs x 8

B1 – Seated cable row:
3 sets @ 50 lbs x 10

B2 – Dumbbell chest press:
3 sets @ 20 lbs (ea) x 8

C1 – Wide-grip lat pulldown:
3 sets @ 55 lbs x 8

C2 – YTWL:
3 sets @ 7.5 lbs (ea) x 4 each letter

D1 – Back extension:
3 sets @ 9 lbs x 8

D2 – Cable horizontal woodchop:
2 sets @ 35 lbs x 10

D3 – Hanging leg lift:
2 sets @ bw x 8

Cool-down:
Stretching

 

I wanted to do some sprints on the elliptical or treadmill after, but my hips started hurting, again. I don’t think they enjoyed pushing through the high elliptical resistance in my warm-up. Ugh ugh. At least I now know not to push through the pain, and they thankfully feel as good as new after an otherwise inactive day today. My body is just having a hard time adjusting to standing at work all day. Hopefully it adjusts soon – I want to run sprints dammit! :P

Met up with Chris for lunch after. I was craving a giant salad with a big hunk of meat on top – so we went to our friendly neighbourhood pub, The Lunar Rogue. I enjoyed their festive spirit. I’m doing much better at embracing the Christmas cheer this year!

101_1082

I ordered the “Mediterranean salad” with my dressing and feta cheese on the side.

101_1086

Those pickles are from Chris’ plate though – I love ‘em! I know this looks like a very simple salad, but pita bread + cheese + protein + crispy veggies is almost like the perfect meal for me.

Chris got a very “Chris” meal – “The Rogue Burger.”

101_1084

I had several of those fries. I think they’re frozen and oven baked here. They never taste greasy.

Chris’ burger though was HUGE!!! He had a hard time manoeuvring it.

101_1088

In the end, he claimed defeat. It’s rare that boy can’t finish his plate.

After lunch, I went to a local spot and partook in arts and crafts activities for a solid three hours. I can’t disclose where or what I was doing though, because the end product will be Christmas gifts for people who may or may not read this blog!! I’m quite proud of my handiwork and will show photos after Christmas though :)

I have to say, working on the gifts were in some way a gift to myself. It was so nice to have a quiet afternoon to myself, leisurely working away on my projects. I also had a couple decaf hazelnut coffees to keep me warm :)

I was staaarving by the time I got home and threw together a quick teriyaki shrimp stir-fry for dinner.

101_1095

In the dish is shrimp, green beans, mushrooms, onions, black sesame seeds, sesame oil, Bragg’s and some of this vegetable mix:

101_1099

Europe’s Best “Imperial Blend.” It’s got edamame kernels, snow peas, bamboo shoots, shitake mushrooms, water chestnuts, carrots and red peppers.

And the sauce:

101_1097

Diana’s Marinade in teriyaki. Diana can do no wrong in my eyes. Everything she makes is delicious.

 

Fun Facts!

So, remember in my morning workout tips I mentioned I come home and shower after the gym? Well, apparently, I may be doing myself a disservice by driving home in my sweaty gym clothes! FitSugar posted an article saying that going out in the cold in damp clothes can weaken your immune system. They recommend changing into dry clothes before going back out into the winter weather, instead of just throwing pants on over your sweaty gym shorts. Interesting!

I’m also learning tons of interesting info going through my personal training textbook. While we’ve all been told warming up before exercise is important, I’ve now learned exactly why. Simply put, our muscles demand oxygen. When exercise begins, our cardiovascular system must respond to this new demand in oxygen. How quickly it responds to this demand depends on how much oxygen was required before exercise began. So, if we all of a sudden go sitting to sprinting, our brain and heart can’t respond quickly enough to get the oxygen the muscles suddenly need. Thus, your muscles crap out on you, and you tire out much sooner than had you eased into exercise.  

So there ya go! Two interesting tidbits for your weekend blog reading :) I will definitely continue to share the info I’m learning through this personal training course. I mean, I’m doing it to help people after all!

 

Question of the Day: Do you have a question for me?? Anything you’ve been wondering for a while, or think I should answer in a post? Something completely silly and off topic? Serious and thought provoking? Ask away my friends!

Flashback Friday – X-Mas Feast Edition

Surprise! It’s a late Friday night update! Okay, well late for me anyways. This is my first weekend not doing the morning shifts at the radio station! More than that – I have Saturday off work!! Yessss!!!! For the past six months, I’ve been in bed at 9pm every Friday and Saturday night to be up at 4:30 am for work. Not anymore :D

Although, I’m still being a huge loser and am currently cuddled up watching Jay Leno. I’ve got to ease back into my Friday nights here ;)

Not many food pics today – but I do have more Flashback Friday photos.

Tried to “sleep-in” today after a late night last night. Who was I fooling? At 6am, I was up with a full bladder and an empty tummy. Breakfast came second.

101_1063

Two Nature’s Path maple cinnamon waffles with blended cottage cheese, almond butter, maple syrup and cinnamon. One of my new favourite freezer waffle combos!

I went to Body Step today, which is probably my favourite exercise class. Maybe tied with RPM (spin) and Body Flow (yoga). It’s just so freakin’ fun!!! I was a little tired today though. My knees were stiff from working on my feet, and I’m just generally tired from working 16 days in a row. Usually I go into that class with an attitude that I’m going to give it all I got (I think that’s why I always have so much fun!). But I held back a little today. Glad I did. Still got to jump around on a step, but didn’t put myself out of commission.

Then I came home and had an early lunch before work…

101_1066
Cheetahs!!!
  Can you believe this is the first time I’ve ever had sweet potato cheetahs? I’ve eaten sweet potato a million different ways by now – but damn this was good! Who woulda thought slicing them up differently would make such a delicious difference!? They thickened up nicely on the outside, and tasted perfect with ketchup :)

Oh yes, and the other item on that plate is tuna salad with laughing cow, red onion and yellow pepper. On a hamburger bun. I tossed it in the oven too to make it toasty. Stellar lunch, just the fuel I needed for work.

Work, by the way, was as cah-raaaazy as expected! We were short staffed and the customers just never stopped coming. After three hours straight of churning out drinks on the espresso bar, I needed food in me. So I tossed my half banana and Amazing Meal in the blender with some skim milk and ice. I was sipping it while making drinks (which is technically against policy). My district manager came and tried to take it away from me because it’s not allowed. I almost scratched dude’s eyes out. Do not come between me and my smoothie. I think he took the hint :P

After 9.5 hours of that, I am now immobile on my couch, unable to do anything with my Friday night freedom. My whole body is sore, and I reek of eggnog and mocha. Still happy though :) How sadistic is that? There is something wrong with me…

Now, how bout some Flashback Friday??

Since Christmas is exactly two weeks away, I wanted to start some Christmas flashbacks. The following series of photos are the mandatory Christmas dinner shots once we all sit down with our food on Christmas evening. My sister Sara is on the ball and always takes the shot, thus she’s not in any of them. (sneaky technique Sara!)

Christmas 2005:

6f19re2

Left to right: Mom, sister Jane, me, Papa, uncle Kenny, Nana. Yes, we wear funny hats. I think this is an English tradition?

a61fre2

Same year. I just like this shot because my Papa is going at it with the pepper :P He passed away in January  2007 and Christmas is definitely not the same without him! It bears mentioning that my uncle Kenny (my mom’s brother) was born with Down syndrome. He now lives in a small private home with a wonderful couple who care for him. He’s not always around for Christmas, but it’s always nice when he is :)

Christmas 2006:

100_0055

Same people, except a new face! My mom’s boyfriend Mark has replaced Kenny. I believe he had just entered the picture in Christmas ‘05, and moved in by Christmas ‘06. Mark is an awesome addition to our family – as are his three kids. I’m a big “family person” and truly believe the more the merrier :)

Christmas ‘08: (I don’t think Sara was home in ‘07? Thus, no smarty pants sister around to remember to take the requisite photo).

n26945_35882056_4308

Left to right: Mom, sister Jane, me, Nana, aunt Heather, Mark. I’m holding down fort for Papa here. I even drink my rye and water the same way ;) My mom and Mark are wearing garments sister Sara bought them while in Ghana right before coming home for the holidays. I should also apologize to my mother, because I know she doesn’t like how she looks in these photos! (even though she’s always beautiful in my eyes) My mom usually spends all Christmas Day in the kitchen making dinner. This meal is often the first chance she gets to sit down! But this year she said she’d open up the kitchen to let me help her. I’m excited to help create some dishes :)

 

Question of the Day: What are your family holiday traditions? I wouldn’t say we have many. We always get together with my Nana on Christmas Eve and Day. We often play music Christmas Eve night (we’re all musicians of some sort). It’s fun now to have Mark’s kids with us. They get so excited!!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers