CPR, PBJ, SBUX

Well hello there! How is everybody doing? How is your airway? Your breathing? It’s okay, I’m a trained First Aid responder.

101_1001

CPR is actually only a fraction of it. I can also now dress and bandage any wound imaginable. I also learned that “RICE” now stands for Rest, Isolate, Cold and Elevate. They changed the acronym so they have an excuse to make people go back and pay for the course again :P

Before all that though, I was up in the middle of the night (5:30) for a jaunt on the treadmill at the gym. I don’t always photograph the small snack I eat before my a.m. workouts, but I need to eat something as soon as I get out of bed or I die.

101_0962 101_0963

Butt-end piece of bread with PB&J and my secret weapon to early morning workouts – iced coffee. I guzzle this back in less than five minutes and it’s like a jolt of energy to my veins that carries me through my workout. I know some people are iffy about caffeine, but I really like having a little before workouts as a performance booster.

I went for the usual 5-mile speed run. I’m going to get sick of this eventually, but so far I still love it :)

On a 1% incline:
2 min @ 3.2 mph
3 min @ 3.7 mph
5 min @ 5.6 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.0 & 6.4 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.2 & 6.6 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.4 & 6.8 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.6 & 7.0 mph
5 min @ 5.6 mph
3 min @ 3.7 mph
2 min @ 3.2 mph

 

I cannot believe that 7.0 mph is almost a “normal” speed for me now. At this exact same time last year, I would regularly do this same treadmill workout and my highest speed was 6.4 mph! Crazy. Sometimes I get so focused on improving my current fitness, I forget how much I’ve already improved!

I still had PB&J on my mind once I made it back to my apartment, so I incorporated it into my oats.

101_0973

Leftover steel cut oats (ccoked with banana & vanilla protein powder) topped with awesome peanut butter and jam.

101_0970 101_0972

Natur all natural 100% peanut butter and Crofter’s strawberry jam. Y’all know I’ve been having a love affair with Crofter’s. But I’m pretty sure of all the jams out there, plain ole strawberry is my favourite. I’ve been wanting to try this peanut butter for a while (I think my dad used to buy it?) and it was on sale so I finally splurged. SO worth it! I love my nut butters crunchy and natural. No salt, no sugar, extra chunks please :)

Then it was off to first aid class, with the luxury of a 90 minute lunch break to come home and make lunch.

101_0984
Yves veggie turkey slices, marble cheese, mustard, mayo, onions, tomatoes, sprouts, spinach on whole grain bread. And a pear :) This was mega yummy.

I kept up the yummy theme for dinner. Stuffed a chicken breast with peanut butter hummus and put in on top a bed of sauteed kale, spinach, garlic, mushrooms, onions and green pepper.

101_0996

With a baked sweet potato covered in cottage cheese.

101_0997

Aaallll together now…

101_0992

Solid meal, I loved it :)

 

So starting tomorrow, I am officially a full-time employee at Starbucks. Scary! I’m not sure how long I’m going to stick it out there. After Christmas, I need to get my butt in gear and try to find a sub-let for my apartment. I reallyreally want to move back home. But I just didn’t feel like I could get my act together in time to do it before Christmas. The Starbucks job is essentially just a way to pay the bills until I figure out a way to get outta here! In a couple months, I’m hoping to move back home with my mom for a little bit until I get my feet on the ground. We’ll see! I just want to make sure I do not do anything that will tie me down to my current city any more than I already am. No more commitments or I’ll never leave! :P

Alrighty, time for me to study bioenergetics concepts and watch the Biggest Loser finale. See ya tomorrow for some waffles!

 

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite kind of jam? Favourite nut butter? As mentioned above, strawberry jam is my favourite, but blueberry gets a close second. As for nut butters, I love them all, but natural crunchy PB will always have a hold on my heart (ahem, tastebuds).

Posted on December 8, 2009, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Mmm, rice.

    That’s like asking me to pick a favorite child. I’ll have to go with crunchy almond butter and strawberry preserves!

  2. Have fun at Starbucks! I hope you don’t have an early morning shift…people are bitchy in the mornings!

    And THAT is a perfect meal indeed…sweet potato with cottage cheese? Gotta try that!

    • Haha, I’m reading this as I’m about to head out for a morning shift :P It’s okay, they’re a lot better when they come back in the afternoon and are properly caffeinated :)

  3. Crunchy peanut butter hands down! And that stuffed chicken looks AMAZING!!! mmm…

  4. I did 5 miles today, too – we are twins again :D

    My favorite nut butter is cashew butter hands down. I could bathe in it. Favorite jam is a little harder. I love seedless blackberry and a local made one that is ginger rhubarb (to die for!!).

    Is there a Starbucks near your parents house that you can transfer to? That way you could at least have some stability while you look for another job.

    • Yup, there is a Starbucks there (thankfully, they’re everywhere! :P ). The plan is to transfer there to work while I try to find a personal training job :)

  5. Your chicken breast looks like a heart :)

    I love strawberry jam, and natural smooth PB. classics :)

  6. my fav kind of jam is def strawberry!! GREAT dinner!!

  7. I like raw almond butter the best. So nutty and I like really coarse, not creamy nut butters.

    My favourite jam, hands down, is raspberry. I love the little seeds.

  8. what tasty eats! I love almond butter best, I wish I could eat peanut butter but unfortunately I am intolerant : ( this makes me sad but almond butter to me is better anyway! Favorite jam has got to be cherry or raspberries and I love it with almond butter! x x

  9. When I read your title, I was afraid I’d have to spend the next 30 minutes googling what each abbrieviation meant – good think you explained :P

    I love plum jam! The one that my grandma makes – so Bulgarian so yummy (I miss Bulgaria :'(…)

    And I like PB so far, cause i’ve only tried pb and hazelnut and hazelnut didn’t sit well with me…

    xxx

  10. I need to eat as soon as I get up too. So much so that my breakfast is pre-made so all I have to do is grab the bowl out the fridge. I literally cannot do anything without some caffeine and food in my system. Lol.

    I had no idea you were planning to move back home- that’s awesome! i remember you saying you weren’t happy with where you live- where does your mom live? Can you still do your PT training there?..

    Question of the Day: What’s your favourite kind of jam? Favourite nut butter Jam- banana jam. OMG, best stuff ever. They discontinued it a while ago here but it was ridiculously good on freshly baked challah with real butter. Yum. Nut butter- SMOOTH, either peanut or almond as long as it’s roasted and salty. Delish. Though the Maranatha almond butter is sweetened and has grown on me (big time!)

    • Banana jam!?!?!? OMG. That sounds amazing. Was it mushy, or like an apple butter? My PT classes and exam are actually in my hometown, which is only a 90 minute drive from where I live now. It would probably work out better for me there :)

  11. Oh the PB does look tasty- Wondering if there’s something wonderful in Canada that I need to buy (so that I can fall in love, never to have it again til next time I’m here)? Would that be one of those items?

    I love all sorts of preserves. I get sugarfree by habit.

    Fun to move back home- more changes for you!

    Great on improving your running skills too- you have come a long way!

  12. CONGRATS on being certified!! I need to get my certification but I’ve been putting it off – I still have a few years before I NEED it. Woohoo for the fitness improvements as well. That’s always nice when you can see a change.

    Hope your first day on the job goes well! Fav. jam = strawberry preserves; Fav. nut butter = crunchy Barney Butter!

  13. dudeee a starbreezies job is intense! you see people BEFORE they’re caffenated! thats super scary :)

    mmm i lurrv sweet potatoes with cottage cheese!

  14. I’ve never stuffed a chicken breast but I always see recipes for them and they look so good! Is it hard to do??

    My favorite nut butter is either Costco’s organic brand of peanut butter or Naturally more peanut butter. And I’m not a huge jam/jelly person but I do love apple butter!

    • Oooh, I’ll have to pick up some Costco PB the next time I’m home. I trust your nut butter opinion, you’re an expert after all ;) I’m not sure if I stuff chickens properly, but I just put a huge slit in the side of the raw breast and stuff as much as I can in there before cooking.

  15. I guess peanut butter is probably my favorite. Crunchy is best. I don’t eat a ton of jam/jelly. I like blackberry preserves and marmalade a lot though.

  16. I lovee unsalted crunchy PB too. Raw is my fave, but very hard to find. Arrowhead Mills make a damn good valencia peanut crunchy unsalted PB, so yum. Thats what my parents bought when I was a kid, but its a little pricey too.

    I keep on wanting to make your peanut butter hummus, it sound soo good. (But yeah, you dooo need to jump on tahini bandwagon.)

    Props on moving home- my older brother just moved
    home for the time being, and as much as i wanna go “ughhh”, its the right thing for him right now. C’est la vie right?

  17. I love almost every nut butter, but almond butter is my favorite.

  18. OH WOW that chickena nd potato meal is JUST what i need. that looks delicious! i think i need to have CC+potato tonight. yum. loving the PBJ oats~my favorite jam is my mom’s homemade raspberry or strawberry. actually i don’t really even like any other jams! nothing can compare :) maybe i will try to wake up one of these days and slam a coffee and go run.. we shall see haha

    hope your full time position is going well and you are having fun being a barista!!

  19. its all gonna work itself out…trust in that :)

    hfcs-laden smuckers red raspberry jam with seeds will forever be my favorite. its a childhood thang. and my fave nut butter is probably skippy…again, a childhood thang. now, i don’t really eat it (and neither do my parents), but when it comes around, gah, LOVE! but it has to be smooth – i don’t like crunchy :)

    have a fab day girl!

    p.s. LOVE the idea of stuffing chicken with hummus!

  20. 7.0 is smokin’! That is my “sprint” these days. Can’t hold it for very long!

    RICE, wow, I just learned the old version. Now I have to re-learn the new one! Congrats on your certification!

    “Butt-end” of the bread. Hehe. You are so cute.

  21. I love homemade strawberry jam. We try to make it every spring – yum!

    I hope your new temporary job works out. I think I’d want to drink a lot of coffee if I worked there!

  22. Lucky girl working at starbucks, get the yummies there everyday !!!! Good luck there!!! I heart your blog!! I found it through another blog I follow!!!!!! xoxo

  23. I think we have a lot in common at the moment – you’re looking to sublet your apartment, and I’m looking to move into one (in the next couple of months). You have a temporary job at the moment, and so do I! Starbucks sounds like a great in-between job for you – you’ll be on your feet all day, think of all that incidental exercise! I’m doing waitressing at the moment, so it’s pretty similar too.

    I think its really exciting you’re training to be a personal trainer. Definately get onto the gloves ;-)

    In answer to your question – I guess I like strawberry jam best but I don’t really eat a lot of it. Nut butter wise – almond. Basic is best, I think.

  24. Good luck with the subletting action and moving back in with mom!

    As for fave nut butttahhh, that would be sunflower seed butter, hands down. So sweet, decadent, and just blows the pants off almond, cashew, peanut, etc butters!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

