Daily Archives: December 8, 2009

CPR, PBJ, SBUX

Well hello there! How is everybody doing? How is your airway? Your breathing? It’s okay, I’m a trained First Aid responder.

101_1001

CPR is actually only a fraction of it. I can also now dress and bandage any wound imaginable. I also learned that “RICE” now stands for Rest, Isolate, Cold and Elevate. They changed the acronym so they have an excuse to make people go back and pay for the course again :P

Before all that though, I was up in the middle of the night (5:30) for a jaunt on the treadmill at the gym. I don’t always photograph the small snack I eat before my a.m. workouts, but I need to eat something as soon as I get out of bed or I die.

101_0962 101_0963

Butt-end piece of bread with PB&J and my secret weapon to early morning workouts – iced coffee. I guzzle this back in less than five minutes and it’s like a jolt of energy to my veins that carries me through my workout. I know some people are iffy about caffeine, but I really like having a little before workouts as a performance booster.

I went for the usual 5-mile speed run. I’m going to get sick of this eventually, but so far I still love it :)

On a 1% incline:
2 min @ 3.2 mph
3 min @ 3.7 mph
5 min @ 5.6 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.0 & 6.4 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.2 & 6.6 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.4 & 6.8 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.6 & 7.0 mph
5 min @ 5.6 mph
3 min @ 3.7 mph
2 min @ 3.2 mph

 

I cannot believe that 7.0 mph is almost a “normal” speed for me now. At this exact same time last year, I would regularly do this same treadmill workout and my highest speed was 6.4 mph! Crazy. Sometimes I get so focused on improving my current fitness, I forget how much I’ve already improved!

I still had PB&J on my mind once I made it back to my apartment, so I incorporated it into my oats.

101_0973

Leftover steel cut oats (ccoked with banana & vanilla protein powder) topped with awesome peanut butter and jam.

101_0970 101_0972

Natur all natural 100% peanut butter and Crofter’s strawberry jam. Y’all know I’ve been having a love affair with Crofter’s. But I’m pretty sure of all the jams out there, plain ole strawberry is my favourite. I’ve been wanting to try this peanut butter for a while (I think my dad used to buy it?) and it was on sale so I finally splurged. SO worth it! I love my nut butters crunchy and natural. No salt, no sugar, extra chunks please :)

Then it was off to first aid class, with the luxury of a 90 minute lunch break to come home and make lunch.

101_0984
Yves veggie turkey slices, marble cheese, mustard, mayo, onions, tomatoes, sprouts, spinach on whole grain bread. And a pear :) This was mega yummy.

I kept up the yummy theme for dinner. Stuffed a chicken breast with peanut butter hummus and put in on top a bed of sauteed kale, spinach, garlic, mushrooms, onions and green pepper.

101_0996

With a baked sweet potato covered in cottage cheese.

101_0997

Aaallll together now…

101_0992

Solid meal, I loved it :)

 

So starting tomorrow, I am officially a full-time employee at Starbucks. Scary! I’m not sure how long I’m going to stick it out there. After Christmas, I need to get my butt in gear and try to find a sub-let for my apartment. I reallyreally want to move back home. But I just didn’t feel like I could get my act together in time to do it before Christmas. The Starbucks job is essentially just a way to pay the bills until I figure out a way to get outta here! In a couple months, I’m hoping to move back home with my mom for a little bit until I get my feet on the ground. We’ll see! I just want to make sure I do not do anything that will tie me down to my current city any more than I already am. No more commitments or I’ll never leave! :P

Alrighty, time for me to study bioenergetics concepts and watch the Biggest Loser finale. See ya tomorrow for some waffles!

 

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite kind of jam? Favourite nut butter? As mentioned above, strawberry jam is my favourite, but blueberry gets a close second. As for nut butters, I love them all, but natural crunchy PB will always have a hold on my heart (ahem, tastebuds).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers