Daily Archives: December 7, 2009

Just keeps going…and going…and going…

First, I want to say HI!! to all the new readers and commenters. I love seeing new names pop up, and clicking on your blog links. It’s almost like I’m getting to “meet” new people :)

Hm. Or, I’m just a big dork.

Moving on!

I rolled out of bed for the 6am spin class today. Surprisingly, I had tons of energy! Must’ve slept decently. Lately I’ve been dragging a little, but today I felt like I just couldn’t push hard enough! It helped my favourite instructor was back after a long hiatus. Funny how a good instructor can make all the difference in an exercise class!

I prepared a pot of steel-cut oats last night so I wouldn’t have to waste any time this morning making a yummy breakfast. Just had to pop it in the microwave!

101_0939

One serving steel-cut oats cooked with vanilla protein powder, cinnamon and topped with dates and almond butter

Then I rushed out the door to Day 1 of my First Aid course. I’m doing two 8 hour days of first aid training that’s required for my personal trainer certification. My class is uh, interesting. I’m usually the type of person who is nice or at least polite to anyone, regardless of how they come off. But wow, my class consists of some crazy characters! Two people actually got into an argument while going through how to use a defibrillator. It was intense.

Regardless, I’m finding it really useful. The way I see it, there’s a good chance someone will go down while I’m working in a gym. So I’m taking it seriously. Thankfully, our teacher is fully sane and a very experienced paramedic and nurse. Lots of good info!

The best part was that I got to come home for lunch. Not having to pack a lunch feels like such a luxury!

101_0946 
However, I did boil two eggs last night in preparation for my lunch, so I turned them into an egg salad with mayo, pepper, onion and green pepper, then put in on toast. And the mandatory side of orange ;)

And what’s lunch without dessert!?

101_0949

My advent calendar chocolate and some dark chocolate M&Ms. A little goes a long way. As in, that way you can have a little after every meal ;)

After I got out of class, I fiiiinally hit up the grocery store. I didn’t do too bad considering there were some cleaning and beauty products on the bill as well. Except, I was planning on making butternut squash soup as my “big dish” this week, and there was only one near-rotten b-nut squash left. Boo :(

To make room for the new food, I finished up the remainder of last week’s “big dish”.

101_0954
Pasta sauce mixed with quinoa on top of a bed of masaged kale. Yummmm!!! I love making really simple dishes, that way I can spice up the leftovers a million different ways.

 

Soooo, this is shaping up to be another crazy busy week for me. Ahh! How did that happen? I don’t have a day off till Saturday, which will be 16 days from my last day off. I’m not complaining, I know some people have it just as bad, if not worse. I was just hoping this would be a period of “catch up” for me, and it’s turning into the exact opposite. I’m falling even more behind!! My apartment is thisclose to being taped off as a hazardous zone :P Oh well. I can always hope for next week… Right…?

 

Questions of the Day:

1) What are your favourite ways to change up leftovers? I like to put them on a bed of greens, in a pita, stuff veggies with them, add cooked grains, or even just add different spices or salsa!

2) When you’re low on spare time, what things take priority? Even though I’ve been crazy busy lately, the two things I refuse to ditch are my workouts and food preparation. I feel so much better when I’ve worked out and have good food in my belly. Unfortunately, that has also led to a piles of both dirty clothes and dishes :\

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers