Daily Archives: December 5, 2009

When one door closes, another one opens…

Phew! What a day! I worked my last shift at the radio station (old job) and then went straight from there to work at Starbucks (new-ish job). 5am – 5pm. I’m wiped!

Let’s start at the beginning, shall we? I’m sorry if you’re tired of looking at breakfast cookies. I’m actually looking forward to having a hot breakfast again tomorrow!

101_0849 

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • M&Ms
  • 1 tbsp marshmallow fluff
  • splash almond milk

I ran out of coffee again and had to resort to gas station coffee. Not cool.

My snack isn’t photogenic, but the best ones usually aren’t ;)

101_0853 
Plain yogurt, one scoop vanilla protein powder, cinnamon, raisins. Yum. I love how raisins get all soft when they sit in yogurt overnight.

Luuuunch, eaten at 10am (for the last frickin time!)

101_0859

Bagel breakfast sandwich (yay Sammie Saturday!). Just a toasted whole wheat bagel with a microwaved egg and marble cheese.

And a battered pear.

101_0864

All eaten while reading blogs, in this case Hallie’s (I’m still drooling over the thought of the Reese’s cookies that could have been…)

I had a perfect assignment for my last day at the radio station – I got to cover a local 5k race! It was fun :) And I ran into reader Faith Ann (hi!!!).

It was definitely strange cleaning out “my drawer,” throwing out literally years worth of old press releases, council agendas, court dockets and government reports. It was strange to listen to my noon newscast and think, “This may be the last time I hear myself on the radio.” Which, after two and a half years, was something that I still got excited about.

I didn’t leave without a little memento though:

101_0882

My personal mike sock. We all had our own to prevent the spreading of germs. Ooohh the news that was told through that thing…

That wasn’t it for work though, I was scheduled to work at Starbucks immediately after. How’s that for a transition?

I fuelled up for my afternoon of Saturday mall madness with two Peanut ButterNut Squash Muffins.

101_0865

My little fat bombs I like to call them ;) Each muffin has 12g of fat. 10g of it comes from the PB, 2g from the canola oil. That’s good news for me, as my diet is always too low in fat. Not to mention, it makes them mega filling!

Starbucks was crazy busy! Today was my first shift on the floor (I’ve been doing training books up to this point). I immediately got back into “my zone” and I just felt like I was back home. It flowed out of me so naturally. All the sad feelings I had leaving the station today disappeared. Once I got there, I could feel it in my gut I’d made the right decision.

At some point I had the chance to sit briefly and eat this:

101_0868

I was too busy to even notice if I was hungry. But eating it actually started to stir my hunger!

Before leaving for the day, I also got to bring home probably the best work perk.

101_0888

A free pound of coffee. A week. Which works out perfectly, because I just ran out of coffee, and I go through exactly one pound a week! Suh-weeeeet!

I jazzed up my pasta sauce again for dinner. I was going for fast and easy.

101_0878

Stuffed peppers. Or rather, pasta sauce dumped on pepper halves and baked. With parmesan cheese on top. Kinda looks like snow, which fits the Christmas theme of the peppers ;) This was another delicious way to use the sauce – and filling!! Stuffed peppers always, well, make me stuffed.

 

Now I am currently sprawled on my couch. Nursing a little foot and back pain from running around on my feet all afternoon (need comfy work shoes stat!!). I also smell heavily of mocha syrup, and I think I may have whipped cream in my hair. I’m exhausted from my 12 hour day, but, I’m happy :) I can’t explain it, but things are beginning to feel right again. I wish I started listening to my gut a long time ago…

 

See ya tomorrow for the goals check-in!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers