Daily Archives: December 3, 2009

Peek-a-Boo! I’m Back!

Hi friends!! Didja miss me? I missed you!! I don’t apologize for taking days off from blogging. Even bloggers need a day off to relax sometimes ;)

Unfortunately, I do not return with many exciting things to report from yesterday. I of course celebrated Waffle Wednesday.

101_0761 
Two Nature’s Path maple cinnamon waffles topped with blended cottage cheese, almond butter, cinnamon and maple syrup. Ooohhh yessss :)

At some point I snacked on an awesome KIND bar – Almond & Coconut flavour.

101_0777

The coconut in this was top notch, not the cheap-o bulk stuff I usually buy. And it was chock full of whole almonds. Thumbs up!!

Oh, and I made pasta! Boring dish for most, but I never make regular pasta, so it was a treat for me :)

It had this:

101_0780

And this:

101_0785

(with onions, mushrooms and bell pepper because I have to add them to everrrrything I make).

Turned into this!:

101_0792

I put the sauce on some spelt penne noodles, brussel sprouts, zucchini and asparagus. Topped with parmesan of course ;) Yum! Now I have a ton of sauce leftover.

 

I was actually going to go to the gym after work yesterday, but I ended up working late and skipped it so I could hang out with the boyfriend I never see instead. So I was up bright dark and early this morning to make up for it. I did an hour of treadmill intervals and it was awesome! I actually prefer running first thing in the morning, less food in my tummy to disagree with me and slow me down. I did my favourite hour-long set:

On a 1% incline:
2 min @ 3.0 mph
3 min @ 3.5 mph
5 min @ 5.6 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.0 & 6.4 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.2 & 6.6 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.4 & 6.8 mph
10 min of 1 min intervals alternating between 6.6 & 7.0 mph
5 min @ 6.0 mph
3 min @ 3.5 mph
2 min @ 3.0 mph

Good times. My heart rate didn’t go below 170 bpm for the last 20 minutes, which is pretty rare for me! Means I was pushing myself, and am getting better at maintaining those high heart rates for longer periods :)

I had to be at work early today, so I made breakfast and iced coffee last night.

101_0797

The lighting on top of my TV seems to work best these days…

101_0802

Peanut M&M cookie :)

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 2/3 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • M&Ms
  • splash almond milk

I scraped the cookie off the plate, flipped it over, and stuck it in the freezer while I showered. Gets rid of the gooeyness that sometimes happens on the bottom.

Work was work, lots of running around in the rain today. I did however get to run home for a quick lunch in between assignments. Since I was driving the work car, I didn’t think to grab my house/car keys on the way out – and I locked them in my apartment!!! Ugggghhh. I am such a scatterbrain. Seriously, my life is a mess sometimes. I called Chris in a panic, and he was able to pick me up from work and expertly break into my apartment (I don’t know whether to be happy or concerned it’s so easy to break into…). So crisis kinda averted. With the whole speeding thing, and now this, I think I lost 2 years of my life in stress this week.

Thankfully, I got to lay a load off at the pub tonight :)

101_0808

My newsroom coworkers had a little going away get together for me tonight :) I’ve said it many times and I’ll say it again – the job itself may not be for me, but I worked with some amazing people. Not just nice and fun, but really talented and good at what they do. 

As for the food, I drank this beer, snacked on a few nachos and ate part of a big Greek salad. It actually wasn’t that much food volume-wise, but I was stuffed!!

Oh, and look at what they gave me as a going away gift!!

101_0810

A $60 gift certificate to a sporting goods store. How appropriate is that? They all know I’m doing my personal training certification now (and that I often mosey into the office in the morning having run “x” amount of miles already). I’m hoping to spend the money on some desperately-needed long running pants :)

Well friends, that is all from me tonight. I’ve got to be at work early again tomorrow, and want to fit a weight lifting sesh in beforehand. I must get in the kitchen an prepare a bazillion meals for tomorrow :P

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite part about your job? At the radio station, it was definitely the peeps! Not just the newsroom folks either, the whole office was full of good-hearted people. Starbucks is the sweet discount, duh :P

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers