Daily Archives: December 1, 2009

A Speedy Start to December & A New Set of Goals

Hello friends! Well, today has not been great. In fact, I am very happy to be full of spin class endorphins and cuddled up in my jammies right now.

It started with my french press breaking. This is nothing short of a tragedy. I took apart the filters yesterday to wash them and I think the screw that holds them together went down the drain. I ended up just pouring my coffee over the filter into the mug this morning. Thankfully, I do a coarse grind, so they were easy to pick out.

Then on my way to work, I got pulled over for speeding!!! Aaahhhhhhh. I was going 70km/hr in a 50km zone (ie 43 mph and not 31). A long stretch of road in the woods that just screams to be sped down. It’s my own stupid fault, and I was late for work. I cannot believe just weeks after getting into my first accident, I get pulled over for the first time too.

I’ve only had my license for a little over two years, so my slate is was completely clean. I probably would have gotten away with just a warning, had my registration and insurance cards been in the car. I know, I know. I got my new car at the end of the summer, and everything switched over during The Great Move. Moving into my current apartment was so chaotic (and maybe traumatic) that I never realized I never got my documents in the mail. Probably because they went to my old address.

Aaannnyways, what could have been $1200 in fines, ended up being $126 because I had a very nice police officer. Moral of the story is: don’t speed, make sure you have all the necessary documents in your glove compartment, don’t drive down long deserted roads that are too tempting to speed on.

Phew! But lets get to the good stuff, shall we? My protein pancakes this morning were particularly fluffy and delicious.

081 
Recipe can be found under the Eats tab along with my new additions: Peanut Butter Hummus, Peanut ButterNut Squash Muffins, and Thick n’ Spicy Moo-Beef Chili.

For breakfast dessert, I got to crack into my advent calendar!!!

084

Some Christmas traditions don’t need to end just because your grown up. I look forward to this little piece of cheap chocolate every day leading up to Christmas!

087

Today was my day off from the radio station, but I still had to go in for training at Starbucks this afternoon. Normally, I would work out before work, but I really wanted a leisurely morning in bed. It was nice :)

My new favourite lunch…

092

Smoked salmon is not only tasty, but full of Omega 3’s to bump my fat intake up. And pears are the new apples, right Janetha? :P

Packed lots of snacks for Starbucks this afternoon so I would be sufficiently fuelled for spin class after.

098

I snacked on the green pepper and peanut butter hummus while working through my training book. Then had the chocolate banana protein bar muffin (with PB in between) before leaving for spin. Don’t worry Brie, the KIND bar is still in my purse ready for my next snack attack ;)

As always…. spin was awesome!!! Usually I do the normal “RPM” class, which is another one of the Les Mills pre-choreographed classes. But tonight’s was called “Mixed Terrain,” i.e. whatever the instructor makes it. Lots of fun sprints and really good music. Great way to change up the regular ole’ spin routine :D

Dinner was a “burger and fries.”

104

The burger is actually real! The fries however are some of Meghann’s “okra fries.” I’ve never tried okra before! I sprayed them in olive oil and sprinkled some salt, paprika and chili powder on top, then roasted at 450F for 20-ish minutes. They were really good. I was not expecting the seeds in the okra. They actually reminded me a lot of papaya seeds. The okra itself was just what I expected. Typical “green veggie” taste, and a little stringy to bite into.

 

Goals for December

Here we go again, I’ve got more good ones for this month…

Spend 30 minutes everyday cleaning something in my apartment.
I got this one from the wonderful Holly. I’m not going to sugar coat it, I’m a slob. I always say I’m going to do something like this, but I never do. Well now I have to and hopefully my apartment will get and stay clean!

Stop procrastinating.
In other words, spend less time dinking around on the internet when I could be doing more productive things. I’m going to have a lot on my plate soon, and it’s important I start making things priority and getting them done.

Read more.
One of the things I looked forward to most when I graduated university, was being able to read whatever I pleased. But besides a few cycling books and the Twilight series, I haven’t read much! There are so many books I want to read, it’s time to start cracking their spines.

Read at least one chapter a day from my personal training textbook.
I want to get through the individual course work before my classes in January. It’s a pretty info-heavy book, with a lot of science talk I haven’t seen since high school. I want to put lots of time into it so I’m good at what I do!

Listen to my body.
Now that I’ll soon be working on my feet all day, it’s even more important to tune in and see when I’m too tired to push it at the gym, or when I need to eat more energy to get me through the day.

Try more recipes.
Oddly, I don’t follow a lot of recipes when cooking meals. I’m more into trying out new ingredients, no necessarily meals. Time to dig out my cookbooks and whip up some fun dishes :)

Spend less on groceries.
Ugh, this is ongoing for me. Problem is that I eat every single thing I buy. I never throw any food out. But I’ve got to work harder at taking advantage of sales and coupons.

Get a grip.
Honestly, I feel like my life is a little out of control right now. My speeding incident today only reinforced that. How did I not realize I never got those documents?? Ever since finishing final exams in April and diving head first into a full-time job just a week after, my life has been in a spiral. It’s still messy now, but this is my chance to take a biiiig step back and start picking up the pieces. This month is all about tying up the loose ends. I’m going to get shit sorted out, and get a firm grasp on life again.

 

I’m excited for what this month has to bring! I think I have my work cut out for me, but hopefully the heavy weight that’s been bearing on my chest lately will slowly start to lift. I’ll of course be checking in every Sunday and updating on how I’m doing with these goals :)

 

Question of the Day: What are your goals for this month? Write them down and remember them! I’ll be checking in on you too every Sunday!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers