Final monthly goal check in!

Loved hearing all your favourite muffin varieties!! I’m a big muffin head. I blame it on my mom, who didn’t let me eat them as a small kid because I would crumble them everywhere and make a HUGE mess (don’t worry mom, you made up for it by teaching me how to make a mean chili). One muffin variety that piqued my interest were Ellie’s “kitchen sink muffins” with carrot, zucchini, raisins, banana, and walnut. Doesn’t that sound fab? Must add that to my ever-growing list of things to bake…

Moving on!

I caved and bought dark chocolate M&Ms yesterday, so you know they found their way into my breakfast cookie today.

101_0644

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • M&Ms
  • splash almond milk

All mixed up, flattened out on a plate and set in the fridge overnight :) One of my coworkers came in a FIVE A.M. this morning while I was chowing down on my cookie. It scared the crap out of me! But it was nice to see a friendly face. Normally I’m there all by my lonesome on the weekends.

Snack was one of my chocolate banana protein bars muffins.

101_0649

I put peanut butter on it last night before wrapping it up again, that’s why it looks funny. I also heated this up before eating, as that usually makes bad baked goods taste better. But it made it squeaky :\ Like, it squeaked in my teeth. It was still edible with the PB though. And surprisingly filling!!!

“Lunch” (I always put that in quotation marks because I eat it at 10am) was a smoked salmon bagel sandwich. 

101_0655

I finally found decently priced local smoked salmon at my grocery store – it’s my new favourite thing! It had laughing cow cheese, mustard, onions and spinach as well. There was an orange in there too, but I trust you know what that looks like ;)

I immediately dug into my Peanut ButterNut Squash Muffins when I got home from work.

101_0657

Wait. You hear that? Oh, that’s just me tooting my own horn. *Toot toot* :P I’m in love with these muffins! Besides the perfect marriage of the PB and squash flavours, the texture is perfection for me. Soft, dense and a little crumbly. Nomnomnom.

Then I read a chapter of Eclipse, and proceeded to conk out for an hour. One of those naps where I just remember closing my eyes, then all of a sudden I open them and it’s an hour later. I laid around for a bit, waiting for my post-nap drowsiness to subside. Then had another snack in preparation for a long gym visit:

101_0659

Bananas, dates and almond butter. I don’t always photograph it because it’s redundant, but if you’re reading about a workout on here, you can just assume I had some variation of this beforehand. Never fails me.

My gym visit today was ohsogood. I’ve been doing a combo of HIIT, upper-body weights and abs on Sundays lately, so that’s what I stuck to. Since I only ran once this past week, I decided to do all my cardio on the treadmill. I ended up with three separate variations of HIIT on the treadmill. It was awesome. I felt h-core.

Warm-up:
Walk/jogging on the treadmill for 5 minutes

HIIT:
incline = 1%
0:00-1:00 – 6.0 mph
1:00-2:00 – 6.2 mph
2:00-3:00 – 6.4 mph
3:00-4:00 – 6.2 mph
4:00-5:00 – 6.4 mph
5:00-6:00 – 6.6 mph
6:00-7:00 – 6.4 mph
7:00-8:00 – 6.6 mph
8:00-9:00 – 6.8 mph
9:00-10:00 – 6.6 mph
10:00-11:00 – 6.8mph
11:00-12:00 – 7.0 mph
12:00-13:00 – 6.8 mph
13:00-14:00 – 7.0 mph
14:00-15:00 – 7.2 mph

A1 – Wide-grip lat pulldown:
3 sets @ 55 lbs x 8

A2 – Dumbbell shoulder press:
3 sets @ 15 lbs (ea) x 8

B1 – Seated cable row:
3 sets @ 50 lbs x 8

B2 – Dumbbell bench press:
3 sets @ 20 lbs (ea) x 8

B3 – Tricep dips:
3 sets @ bw x 8

HIIT: (a la Janetha)

incline=0 – 2 min @ 5.5
incline=0.5 – 1 min @ 6.0
                       1 min @ 6.5
                       1 min @ 7.0
                       1 min @ 7.5
incline=1.0  – 1 min @ 6.0
                        1 min @ 6.5
                        1 min @ 7.0
                        1 min @ 7.5
incline=1.5 – 1 min @ 6.0
                       1 min @ 6.5
                       1 min @ 7.0
                       1 min @ 7.5
incline=2.0 – 1 min @ 6.0
                       1 min @ 6.5
                       1 min @ 7.0
                        1 min @ 7.5
incline=0 – 2 min @ 5.5

A1 – Swiss ball crunch:
3 sets @ 11 lbs x 15

A2 – Russian twists:
3 sets @ 11 lbs x 30

A3 – Reverse crunch:
3 sets @ bw x 8

HIIT:
incline = 0%
0:00-1:00 – 3.0 mph
1:00-3:00 – 3.5 mph
3:00-4:00 – 8.0 mph
4:00-6:00 – 3.5 mph
6:00-7:00 – 8.5 mph
7:00-9:00 – 3.5 mph
9:00-10:00 – 9.0 mph
10:00-12:00 – 3.5 mph
12:00-13:00 – 9.5 mph
13:00-15:00 – 3.5 mph

Cooldown:
Bah! Accidentally skipped it! I was so hungry when I finished, I ran out of the gym. But no worries, I foam rolled and stretched at home while my dinner heated up ;)

This workout took me almost 90 minutes and I loved it! HIIT on the treadmill is so much fun, I ended up covering just over 5 miles. And Janetha, I lovelovelove your routine. I was a sweaty mess at the end of it, and I even skipped the final sprint because I knew there was more in my future.

As previously mentioned, I was ready to eat my arm off when I finished. I grabbed the quickest, most filling thing I could thing of when I got home. Frozen leftovers of moo-beef chili.

101_0666

I realized I was lacking in the green department today, so I heated two big handfuls of spinach into it. Hit the spot! Just what I needed.

 

Final November Goals Check-In!

I cannot believe it’s almost December. Wow. This was my first month checking in every week on my goals, and it really kept me motivated. With that said, I feel I only accomplished maybe half of them. I don’t see that as a bad thing though, I may never have accomplished any of them had I not set the goals in the first place!

Have fun workouts.

Monday – Step class at the women’s gym. Sosososo fun. I LOVE this class.

Tuesday – 5 miles speedwork on the “dreadmill,” except I really enjoyed it!!! I swear, I really did ;) I’m a sucker for intervals, they make anything fun.

Wednesday – Rest day.

Thursday – Body Pump at the gym, followed by HIIT on the elliptical. It was “meh” but got the job done.

Friday – Spun my little heart legs out in spin class. I pushed myself and it felt good!

Saturday – Rest day. Broke my quads in spin.

Sunday – HIIT extravaganza on the treadmill with some upper-body weights and abs. Best way to spend a “lazy” Sunday afternoon :)

I also did no yoga this week! My schedule didn’t jive with yoga classes, and I suck at getting motivated to do it at home.

Be less complacent with food.
I’m still feeling okay with this. I definitely feel like I’m “on track” and my food choices are for the most part deliberate.

Get more sleep.
Again, it’s hard to switch from early morning shifts on the weekend, to evening shifts throughout the week. But I did okay once I got into the swing of it. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve had 8 hours though…

Make it through the last month of work with a positive attitude.
My co-workers set up a going away get-together for me!! How sweet!!! I’m not incredibly close with any of them, so I’m very touched by the gesture. My schedule for this last week is going to be tough, but having that in there should make it easier :)

Try my best to not let anything hold me back.
Um, I registered to get my personal training certification this week. I finally followed my heart and took the plunge. I say I excelled at this goal.

Figure out a way to get into the holiday season.
I’ve been smiling at all the pretty lights that are starting to pop up :) I’m getting really antsy to see my family again too. Definitely feel like I’m entering December with a positive attitude.

Spend more time with my grandparents.
I really wish I did better at this one, as I only got the chance to see my Nana once. I still have two other grandparents in another city that I never get to see.

Be more honest with people.
Check and check. This goal has been on the back of my mind a lot this month. I think I moved forward a lot by being more honest with people, it’s something I’m definitely going to continue to think about and strive to do.

Look for a job.
How about got a job :D Albeit, it’s just another temporary gig at Starbucks. But a paycheck is a paycheck my friends.

Start playing music again.
This is my biggest fail of the month. I don’t want to push it though. I’ll start playing again when I feel inspired again.

 

Re-reading that, I feel pretty good about it actually. Tomorrow, I’ll do another instalment of “Things I Learned This Month” and then Tuesday will be a whole new set of goals for December!

 

Question of the day: What’s one thing you feel you accomplished this month?

Posted on November 29, 2009, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. I just recently found your blog through a fellow blogger’s and I really love how you do the goals listed and then you revisit them to see what you have accomplished. That is a great idea. :)

  2. Your breakfast cookie looks amazing.

    And you are almost finished! One more week!
    You can do it.

  3. Susan – I can’t believe you did *3* HIIT sessions in one workout! You are a machine!

    And a bagel, looks so good, but any bagel looks good to me :P

    I haven’t even reviewed the month to notice what I have done (or not done). I should sit and do that this week.

    I think you did pretty well on those goals!

  4. i accomplished getting a manager! woo hoo!

  5. It looks like you did a pretty good job with those November goals! I have the same goal as you about grandparents…

    Those peanut butter squash muffins look so amazing I may have to try making those.

  6. It must be a muffin kind of day.. I made some today and have eaten two already! Your little protein muffins are so cute! I bet they taste delicious :)

  7. Dark chocolate M&Ms are a worthy addition to the breakfast cookie! I love the sounds of that!! Well done with your goals – you should feel good about it!

    I accomplished eating new meals! As a creature of habit, that was hard!!

  8. great job on all those goals! that is awesome!!
    i LOVE dark chocolate m & ms!! gah..they are so great! almost better than peanut m & ms..

  9. Great post!
    dark chocolate M&Ms–used to munch a handful every day. Forgot about them. Thanks for the reminder LOL
    Thx for the M’Mallow Fluff email too. Dont want it to get “lost” in the mixture, totally agree.
    Your muffin/bars and your muffins both look great, again.

    Love the goals too.
    Esp the personal trainer part b/c that’s near and dear to me in my head these days. Cant wait to hear how it goes for u!!!!

  10. Wow! That was quite a workout- 50 min of cardio alone- you’re one fit bird! :-) And I think that based on the weights you listed, you ARE strong!! Very strong!

    Great job on the goals. You know, the music should come from within you anyway- if you’re not inspired, you will be when it’s right.

    My accomplishment this month: unpacking the entire house, sorting through every belonging…charity, trash, save…put back what was left …repeat 3X. Ugh. Wish i could say it was a labor of love, but sadly, it was just a labor!! :-)

  11. SUSAN MY LOVE…YOU ROCKED THE GOALS!

    goals aren’t necessarily about doing each of them perfectly, but striving for something, and i am pretty sure you did that and more!

    i am so excited for all the amazing changes you have in store for you – and obv, it will include more yummy eats, so this all makes me happy!

    let’s chat again soon :)

  12. my big accomplishment this month was surviving november and not turning into a crazy bitch..excuse my language :)

  13. My accomplishment…is being less stressed in school! I’ve been managing time a bit better, too! :-)

    Wow, Susan, you’re amazing with your accomplishments! Pat yourself on the back!

    and tee hee, I LOVE those M & Ms in your cookie!

  14. shoooot.. they got a horn toot? now i have GOTTA for sure make them!

    holy balls batman, THREE sets of HIIT?!?! you are my hero. seriously. and i love that first one you did, i want to try it. and of course the moves you did in between.. hmm i think i should print this out for next weekend when i have some time. i love sundays at the gym! glad you liked mine.

    i love how you check in with your goals, ive told you before. i cant wait for your what ive learned post. those are great.

    and also cant wait to hear december goals! i think i need to have some of my own and do a check in!

    i think i have accomplished a lot with my job this month as well as with the move to the new house!

    xoxo

  15. I accomplished getting a job too! (heck, 10-15 hours a week, seasonal- but you’re so right- a paycheck is a paycheck! especially in a temporary situation.) Also accomplised logging over 50 miles with the POTM challenge. Which was crazy for me, because I just started running . I’m getting to the point where I actually like it! :/

    But seriously Susan, you have much to be proud of! I would say- November= SUCCESS! Also- that dark choc m&m brek cookie- eeeek I’m in love.

  16. I have definitly gotten more sleep which has allowed me to make some progress in the gym! I missed running and lifting and abs!! I do need to get back to my yoga studio though

  17. You did great this month :D AWESOME work! And you can add, “make som fab muffins” to your list of accomplishments cause the butternut ones still have me drooling.

    This month- I applied for some jobs, picked myself up out of a major funk and made it through the month in one piece. This is a rough time of year for me, but this year, I’m not letting it bring me down!

  18. Congratulations on hitting those goals lady! You’ve had quite the month, no?

    I would say I have been pretty great at working out this month, especially at getting my yoga quota in!

    Man alive, that chilli looks incredible! Putting it on my to-make list this week!

  19. I see you were awarded my Atta Girl Award by another blogger.(Diane @ fit to the finish) Congratulations.
    I do have to ask that you link my Atta Girl award back to my site as I created it and have explained the use of it on my site.
    Anyone can give it out but you must tell them it comes from my site and link back to my site so they and others can get the award too. I also post on each winner of the award increasing traffic to their sites at the same time. I can’t do this if you don’t explain to them where it comes from and notify me who you gave it to. Thanks

  20. HOly moly girl, nice workout! And nice muffins ;) xoxo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

