Nil, Nada, Zip

This is what I planned for after work today:

image 

But this is what ended up happening:

101_0295

Six miles somehow turned into six chapters from Eclipse. In my defense, it wasn’t nearly as nice out as in the above picture. I’m hurtin’ for some cold-weather running gear and couldn’t bring myself to do it. But getting lost in a book is just as fun as getting lost on the trails :) Tomorrow, I fully expect to get lost in the void that is the empty gym on a Sunday afternoon…

My day didn’t start out this relaxing. I was in and out of consciousness all night, finally coming to at 5:15 am. CRAP!!! I have to be at work for 5am to ensure my 7am newscast gets to air. I have to compile all the news that happened overnight, write, sift through stories, e-mails, phone messages, get the cast together to record on time. Apparently, I just forgot to turn my alarm on last night. Silly. I’ve been living in fear of sleeping through my first newscast for so many years, I find it ironic that it happens just two weeks before I’m due to leave.

In case you’re wondering, I got the 7am newscast on two of our three radio stations. There was one I still couldn’t get to on time, but that was partially a programming mistake and not entirely my fault (although, I could have fixed it had I been there in time).

In the world of broadcasting, deadlines are infinite. Basically, not getting to air on time is not and option. Small mistakes sometimes have big consequences. Ugh. Stress.

Needless to say, I did not get to savour my breakfast cookie as much as I would have liked.

101_0254 
S’muffernutter!

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate whey powder
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp marshmallow fluff
  • 1/2 tbsp mini chocolate chips
  • couple splashes almond milk

My late start led to one of those work days where I felt like I was trying to catch up the whole time. Luckily, I had awesome food! First up: Peanut Butter and Jelly Larabar!!!!

101_0258

I know this flavour is probably old news to all you “big city” bloggers out there, but I’ve been anxiously awaiting these in my small New Brunswick city. Things were starting to look bleak!

Same ‘ole Larabar stats, if not a touch higher on the calorie side.

101_0261

I remember some other blogger pointing out the emergence of a new ingredient in the new Larabar flavours…

101_0259

Refined sunflower oil? Really? I wonder why…

Anyways, we all know taste is what matters most, even more than dinky size.

101_0265

Ohmygodthiswasgood. I’ve never tried the Peanut Butter Cookie flavour, so I didn’t have anything to compare it to on that front. But I looooved the peanut flavour mixed in with the sweetness (and chunks!) of dried cherries. Odd, because the Cherry Pie flavour is really tart, but this balanced the flavours really well. Actually, it was kinda odd to eat a Larabar that tasted like a PB&J sandwich. But for 230 calories, something a little bigger, and more filling, would be appreciated.

“Lunch” was pretty stellar too, as I hammered away at work.

101_0267 101_0269

Smoked salmon bagel (with laughing cow, mustard, capers, tomato and spinach) and a perfectly ripe pear. I’m one of those crazy people who spend ten minutes rummaging through the produce bins looking for the perfect one. This pear was definitely it – yum!

I picked up a new box of Kashi cereal bars after enjoying the blackberry flavour. This time I chose baked apple and had my first one crumbled atop some yogurt (with extra cinnamon).

101_0273

Stirred up into a yog mess, of course.

101_0279

I really liked it! Better than the blackberry flavour too. I know many people don’t care for the Kashi cereal bars, but I used to love Nutri-Grain bars as a kid, so they’re a nice alternative for me :)

Then I got lost in Eclipse and at some point breaked for a simple dinner.

101_0284

I’m still eating that Sabra hummus I got at Costco two and a half weeks ago. How long does that shite last? It still tastes okay… I think…

My sandwich was definitely okay, if not great.

101_0289

Yves cajun chicken slices, mayo, mustard, swiss cheese, tomato, onion, spinach  and sprouts. All toasted up for melty-crunchiness. I’ve been on a real sandwich kick lately. Plus, it is Sammie Saturday after all ;)

Now if you don’t mind me, I have another s’muffernutter cookie to prepare (silliest name ever) and a book to get lost in again. Today was definitely a write-off. Some Saturdays I feel like go-go-going after work, some I feel like doing nothing. Guess what today was? :P

Questions of the Day:

1. What’s your favourite way to do nothing? Besides reading, I like to putter away on the internet, which I guess is also just reading. Watching crappy movies and going through old pictures is also fun :)

2. What’s your favourite book? I lovelovelove children’s fantasy novels. The Hobbit, Alice in Wonderland, A Wrinkle In Time, House at Pooh Corner, the Golden Compass, Harry Potter,and yes, Twilight. I appreciate the simple writing and how the fantastical elements don’t need complicated explanations They’re just accepted :)

Posted on November 21, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. 1. Reading (books or magazines!) or watching Bones or Scrubs recaps.

    2. I have far too many to ever choose a favorite, but I really like Alice in Wonderland, anything by Augusten Bourroughs (sp), and I Was Told There Would Be Cake.

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  2. Girl, I had a hairy morning too. Being late, got locked out of yoga studio. I am posting in 10 mins bout it. So sorry.

    And then the rest of the day feels off, rushed, weird, can’t enjoy your breakfast..we had parallel days. But this one’s almost over now :)

  3. I love the new PB&J Larabars too…I have to go to a special grocery store because my normal ones don’t have it! But in mine, they are 210 cals and don’t have that added oil. Interesting…I trust your Canadian label more than mine…

    My favorite way to do nothing: sleep! Especially if that including snuggling with my dog and/or my boyfriend. And I don’t think I have a favorite book but when I was younger, my favorite was The Giver…don’t remember the author though. That was a good one.

  4. i had my first pb+jenny lara the other day too! it was awesome, but mine was 210. i guess it didn’t have the sunflower oil yet?? old batch, i say.

    weird. bad bad lara. (compensating ingredient list +cheaper production= lower prices? maybe??)

    when i’m doing “nothing” its usually walking around my house looking for something to do. either eating, cooking, looking at stuff, lol. so random.

    usually, reading, blogging, watching tv, napping to me, its all accomplishing something! (my to do lists are so detailed, they usually include nap, tv, shower etc. haha)

  5. Those larabars have been angering me! They taste delicious but I could make a huge stirfry for the same amount of calories.. grr! I haven’t noticed the new ingredient in the larabars.. I’ll have to look now!

    Reading is one of the greatest pleasures in life! Do you have any books you recommend?

  6. playing video games is what i like to do to “do nothing.” and i’m doing nothing right now!!!

  7. That picture made me giggle! I totally did the same thing when I first got the books. Is this your first go around?

    Oh and my favourite books are 1984 or A Tale of Two Cities.

    • Hey! It’s my second time around reading them. It’s actually taking me awhile this time because I can never find the time to just sit and read for a few hours, so I’m glad I did it :)

  8. Thanks for the linkback Susan, you are so awesome! I appreciate you celebrating Sammie Saturday with me :)

    that is so odd about the lara bars…i haven’t noticed any new ingredients, but I will be very disappointed if they have started adding oil. Boo.

    I actually can’t think of a a better way to do nothing than to read. I love it, love it, love it. Growing up, mys sister and I read all the Nancy Drew and Bobsey twin books. Now I’m into the Sookie Stackhouse books–you’ve GOT to read those when you’re done with Twilight. They are good! xoxo

  9. I didn’t notice the oil in the larabars. Hmmmm… wonder if they are replacing some expensive nuts/dates with cheap oil (sunflower is inexpensive). That could be why the bars look smaller and have the same calorie count.

    I like to relax with coffee and a book most times. The internet can be a good time waster, too :D

    My favorite book is probably Stephen King’s The Stand. I can never tire of reading it over and over again.

  10. That is strange about the Larabars- I had mentioned that the tropical Lara had extra ingredients and was made by another company, but the PBJ from the US is just dates, cherries, peanuts and salt (I have one right here!) Hmm. I wonder if they make them more shelf stable to import or something?.. They are also 210 cals in the US but America subtracts calories for fiber which doesn’t happen in the UK or Canada so stuff is usually a little higher (Lara bars, Fiber 1, Kashi cereal).

    I hate days when I am running late- throws my whole day into a spin and it seems like an endless race to catch up.

    I don’t read much anymore because my concentration has vanished, but yesterday I opened up a book with a goal of reading one chapter- ended up reading the entire book throughout the day. Was awesome :D

    • It must have been your blog I saw the oil mentioned on! And I also didn’t know that about the fibre!! Explains why Fibre 1 cereal in Canada has twice the number of calories of “Fiber One” in the U.S. Maybe we have different labelling laws here? I’m e-mailing the company, this is going to bug me :P

  11. Can I just say that I covet your breakfast cookies!? Always. They look so huge. BTW you are RIGHT- it’s NOT the nut butter that is the glue as I did an experiment (I’ll post one of these days) without it (so that I could smear it on top instead) and the protein powder was totally glue-like and it worked a treat!! Thank you for your insight in that little comment on your video (I tend to listen to those under-the-breath words of wisdom!)

    Have a great sunday!

    • Oooh, I like the “smearing on top” idea for the nut butter! Yeah, other bloggers have said they don’t use protein powder and it still works. But I’m not sure if it would be portable that way. Or maybe they just sprinkle magic blogger dust in it :P

  12. Sometimes that happens. Reading is fun too, especially twilight. somehow those books manage to be addictive.

    1. What’s your favourite way to do nothing? I definitely like to read or waste away time online. And, there is always tv. Super fun time wasting.

    2. What’s your favourite book? I just can’t choose one so I’m skipping this question. ;)

  13. My fave way to waste time is DEFINITELY surfing the net!

  14. I saw the New Moon movie on Friday. I thought it was really good, actually better than the Twilight movie. The books can get quite addicting!
    My do nothing activities are probably channel surfing (or surfing on the internet!) or when I take the time to read.
    I would have a hard time narrowing down my favorite book, but my adult book would probably be anything by Mary Higgins Clark. I love children’s book as well, since I’m a teacher, and I really like Robert Munsch or Dr. Seuss’ books.

  15. Hehe–I have losing myself in Eclipse, too, and am laughing because I was just reading text from that picture and trying to figure out if I’ve read that part yet!

    I’m really loving Twilight–and I also love Harry Potter. But my favorite book of all time is either Pride & Prejudice, or the lesser known (you might like it–very witty writing) Otherwise Engaged by Suzanne Finnamore.

  16. sometimes ya just gotta relax – i think reading is one of my faves. organizing things is also weirdly calming. and COOKING!

    my favorite book…gah, that is hard. a tree grows in brooklyn? the red tent? memoirs of a geisha? east of eden? all classic and fab.

    love the name of your cookie! and your sammies are lookin’ slammin. yay for the two week work countdown!!!!

    p.s. yog mess looks delish :)

  17. My favorite ways to do nothing are reading, napping, or watching funny TV shows.

    My favorite book….oh my…I love to read so that is a tough question. I’ll go with The Bell Jar, Sylvia Plath.

  18. 6 miles, 6 chapters.. potato, potahto! the bagel sandwich looked incredible and i have been LOVING pears lately! so good! ugh i hate oversleeping. i guess they cant fire you ;)

  1. Pingback: Ch-ch-check in time! « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: [insert clever title here] « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

