It’s Sunday… Check-In Time!

Hello friends! Hope you all had fantabulous weekends :) Mine was the usual 5am-1pm shift at the office. Only three more weekends left!! Who knows? Maybe I’ll have a social life again! :P

A little calorie counting update:

  • Turns out I’m getting lots of protein, but still not getting enough fat. I have a digestive intolerance to high-fat foods like cooking oils and avocadoes. Nuts, eggs and tofu seem to be the only high-fat foods I can eat that don’t keep me bed-ridden for four hours after. More peanut butter? Yes please! :P
  • I eat a lot of fibre! Like 50g a day. Who knew?
  • Measuring every little thing seriously sucks. Weighing my apples seems so silly, I just want to eat the damn thing!
  • I spend a lot less time thinking about food. I log what I eat, or plan to eat, then forget about it. After I stopped tracking, I still kept counting in my head. I’m like the Rainman of calorie counting and can’t be stopped. It takes up a lot of mental energy. When I’m done tracking in a few days, I’m going to work much harder at not thinking about the calories in my foods. Shouldn’t be a problem so long as I’m choosing whole, fresh foods :)

Besides working, napping and eating today, I had a stellar gym sesh! One of those Sunday afternoons where I just pump and sweat my time away playing with all the equipment :)

Warm-up:
5 minutes easy on the elliptical

Elliptical:
0:00-1:00 – sprint @ level 17
1:00-3:00 – recovery @ level 14
3:00-4:00 – sprint @ level 18
4:00-6:00 – recovery @ level 15
6:00-7:00 – sprint @ level 19
7:00-9:00 – recovery @ level 16
9:00-10:00 – sprint @ level 18
10:00-12:00 – recovery @ level 15
12:00-13:00 – sprint @ level 17
13:00-15:00 – recovery @ level 14

A1 – Romanian deadlift to barbell row:
2 sets @ 50 lbs x 8

B1 – Incline dumbbell shoulder press:
2 sets @ 20 lbs (ea) x 8

B2 – Wide-grip lat pulldown:
2 sets @ 55 lbs x 8

C1 – YTWL:
2 sets @ 7.5 lbs (ea) x 4 each letter

C2 – Tricep cable pulldown:
2 sets @ 25 lbs x 8

Stairmill:
0:00-1:00 – level 6
1:00-2:00 – level 7
2:00-3:00 – level 8
3:00-4:00 – level 9
4:00-6:00 – level 10
6:00-7:00 – level 9
7:00-8:00 – level 8
8:00-9:00 – level 7
9:00-10:00 – level 6

Whittle My Middle!:
Plank:
90 sec
Side planks: 30 sec each
Plank on swiss ball: 90 sec
Prone jackknife: 10 reps (I’ve always sucked at these!)
Stabiliy ball rollout: 60 sec
Plank rotations: 60 sec

Treadmill:
0:00-1:00 – 3.0 mph
1:00-3:00 – 3.5 mph
3:00-4:00 – 8.0 mph
4:00-6:00 – 3.5 mph
6:00-7:00 – 8.5 mph
7:00-9:00 – 3.5 mph
9:00-10:00 – 9.0 mph
10:00-12:00 – 3.5 mph
12:00-13:00 – 9.5 mph
13:00-15:00 – 3.5 mph

Cool-down:
5 min. stretching

Phew! Props if you read through all of that. I know a lot of people skip past my workout details, but I also know there are a few nerds out there like me who love going through other people’s workouts! :)

 

Oh, and the eating part of my day? I snacked on some Pumpkin Spice Roasted Chickpeas at work.

101_0070

I liked them better this time around. Although I think they need to be 1) roasted longer and 2) more cinnamon!! ;)

Last of my un-frozen chili leftovers.

101_0078

On top of some spaghetti squash. Delish!

Wasn’t very filling though, so my evening snack attack hit early. Mixed in 1/2 tbsp almond butter with a small bag of popcorn.

007

If you use drizzly nut butter, it kinda coats the hot popcorn. Mmm, sweet and salty…

And for some reason, I crave flavoured drinks when I eat salty food (I’m usually an all water, all the time kinda person).

006

Obviously, I don’t keep any flavoured drinks in the house because of that. So I mixed up a PVL peach whey cooler. Perfect!

 

November Goal Check-In

Halfway through the month! Let’s see how I’m doing…

Have fun workouts.
I actually got all three yoga sessions in this week, it was fabulous!

Monday – BodyFlow yoga class at the gym

Tuesday – Weight lifting and HIIT sesh. Left me SORE!

Wednesday – 8 mile trail run, t’was wonderful!

Thursday -  60 minutes of living room yoga, courtesy Dave Farmar and Yoga Today

Friday – Mediocre step class but a perfect BodyFlow yoga class at the gym

Saturday – Chilly 45 minute run

Sunday – HIIT, upper body weights and abs. Driving tomorrow should be fun ;)

*I do low intensity yoga, so those are technically my “rest days.” No crazy sweaty power yoga happening over here. I do it to relax :)

Be less complacent with food.
Temporarily tracking my calories again has really helped with this. It’s been a nice little kick in the butt for me.

Get more sleep.
Meehhhh. I didn’t work very hard at this this week. In fact, I don’t think I got 8 hours once this week. Tonight, I promise!

Make it through the last month of work with a positive attitude.
Hey, I’m still showing up for those 5am shifts, aren’t I?

Try my best to not let anything hold me back.
In terms of the job search, I’m not letting anything scare me out of not applying for certain jobs :)

Figure out a way to get into the holiday season.
I actually thought of something this week that got me really excited for Christmas. This year, I’ll get to blog about it!! I’ll get to share all my family traditions (and by traditions I mean food + booze). And I’ll get to invite you all into my loving home for the holidays. That sounds like fun, doesn’t it? :)

Spend more time with my grandparents.
Didn’t get to see any this week. But perhaps I’ll make the hour long trip to see my Grammie and Grampie this week. At the very least, I will call or write them.

Be more honest with people.
I caught and stopped myself numerous times this week from giving generic responses to questions. If someone asked me how I was doing, I did not respond “good” if I was not feeling good. Pretty sure this is why everyone I know thinks I loved being a reporter. It’s because when asked if I liked it, I just gave a simple “yes” instead of delving into how I really felt about it…

Look for a job.
Sent out lots of resumes!!! Fingers crossed I actually get a response this week.

Start playing music again.
Nope, nada. Still feeling very uninspired.

 

And one more piece of randomness for this Sunday evening (or Monday, if you’re an office reader. Or Thursday, if you’re behind on your blogs). Holly over at The Healthy Everythingtarian is doing something wonderful this year for Christmas. Instead of asking for presents, she is asking people to donate money to help build a well in Cambodia. Holly spent time in Cambodia herself so this gift is very close to her heart. Read about it here and then go donate! Minimum donation is $10. That’s two eggnog lattes. Skip the lattes, give to people who need it, everybody wins :D

 

Question of the Day: How is everyone coming along with their goals? Setting any new ones? The Whittle My Middle and Yoga challenges are new since making the list. Always good to update your goals to keep yourself motivated :)

Now if you don’t mind, I have a date with Edward Cullen Jacob Black then the 8 hours sleep I promised. Night night!

Posted on November 15, 2009, in Challenges, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. My goals are coming along pretty well, I think. Some of them have been more difficult than others, but it’s good to push myself!

    The Rainman comment totally hit home with me. I know exactly what you mean 100%! It’s so hard, but it does take up a lot of mental energy to hold on to it. Let it go, girl!

    :)

  2. Jeez Susan, are you going for an ironwoman or something?? LOL I got pooped just reading your workout!

    I’m doing fairly well with my goals. I think I am going to have to shoot for some new ones.

    Hope you hear something positive this week on the job front!

    • Haha, it’s the curse of the Sunday afternoon gym visit. The place is a dead zone. I see all those empty machines and benches and just want to use them ALL! :P

  3. I love reading workout details too! My mom tells me she skips over mine all the time haha but I’m glad to know there’s other people who like to read the details!

  4. wow very impressed with your workout!!!

  5. trying to whittle my middle as well! =D
    show dem abs. (tons of cereal doesn’t help, so i have to get my eating in check! )

    love the chili!

  6. Wow, lots to comment on:

    I used to call my grandparents Grammy and Grampy too :-)

    Goals: I just re–set them- need to get on the better-eating bandwagon asap. Will prob post about it this week. serious revamping necessary. STILL not back in the swing of things after vacay- extending it an extra 3 weeks- not cool. And the ass knows it!

    Interesting that you are thinking LESS about food now that you’re counting cals. I was total full-on rainman when i WAS counting cals. It slowly went away when i stopped counting. we’re all so different eh?!

    I think you’re doing well on your goals!

    • Deb, I SO get you on the extending the vacay thing. I’m pretty good at eating decently when I’m on vacation, but really bad about coming home and thinking I can still eat like I’m travelling!

  7. Wow! You have such great goals and great nutrition going on. I have a hard time getting enough protein – it’s something I have to work on. I’m not a vegetarian, but only eat chicken twice a week. I do fine on fat because I do love my chocolate.

    At least I don’t eat pounds of it a day like I used to!

    Have a great week!

  8. I am one of those people who skim over workouts ;) BUT, sounds intense.

    My fat intake is always low too- I naturally veer towards fat free foods (just naturally fat free, not an overly conscious thing) but I focus a lot on protein because my body seems to run best with a high amount (higher than calculators suggest for my size/activity level).

    Good job with the goals- I like that you are assessing them each week. My music has been nada too. Though I am rocking the teeth-flossing challenge :D

    • Yeah, I naturally gravitate toward fat free foods too. It doesn’t help that I don’t eat a lot of fatty meats, and I HATE full or low fat dairy. Anything above 1% tastes like heavy cream to me. Just thinking about cream makes my stomach churn! :P

  9. Social life? What’s that!? ;)

    Woah to the 9.5! That’s awesome!! Everything is better with more cinnamon! Nut butter on popcorn? You are a genius. I need to get more fat in my diet as well. Maybe that will be my next goal?

  10. susan, thank you so much for linking to the fundraiser! seeing how generous people have been has completely been so heartwarming and makes me so grateful to have met people like YOU!

    glad your goals seem to be going well, and YAY for yoga! hang in there – you are almost done!!!!!!!!

  11. It looks like you have a great workout plan. I like to see what people are doing in the workout department too :-) Have a great night!

  12. not enough fat?! ugh i wish that were my case. lol. and great workout!

    and yessss carrots+salsa= best combo ever.
    my friends in high school alwaysss looked at me weird.

  13. stellar gym session susan! you inspire meeee. i love that you are reassessing your goals also. i have some of my own. i need to go read holly’s blogs ive missed next i guess! mmm.. more peanut butter. and that is a LOT of fiber! yes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

