Daily Archives: November 11, 2009

An Anniversary Remembered

Hello friends! Hope you all had a fabulous day :) My dizziness has thankfully subsided. I played it safe last night and tried out some Amazing Grass Green Super Food to hopefully help things along.

100_9880

I won this and the chocolate mix in Angie’s giveaway. I hadn’t used it up to this point because I didn’t really know what to do with it!

100_9881

I mixed one (tiny) scoop with 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk. 

100_9844

It was… okay. I drank it, but it wasn’t delicious. One thing I’ve noticed about Amazing Grass is that it is pretty filling for a drink powder. The fibre perhaps?

It’s a day off here because of Remembrance Day, which meant plenty of time this morning to celebrate Waflle Wednesday :)

100_9848

Drooooool. Used my usual protein pancake recipe and topped with heated strawberries and blueberries then drizzled an almond butter-almond milk mix.

100_9853

It was heavenly. But why stop there? I added a little hot chocolate mix to my morning brew ;)

100_9867

A perfect way to start my three-day “weekend” :D

I spent my morning and good chunk of my afternoon re-working my resume, writing a gazillion cover letters, and sending them out to as many places as I could think of. So far mostly communications-type jobs. Seems to fit my skill set, and I applied to some really interesting companies that I would be proud to represent :)

At some point, I breaked for chocolate protein yogurt.

100_9874

Yumm. P.S. Do not try this with chocolate Amazing Grass. Gets nice and thick, but tastes disgusting. Consider yourself warned.

After letting my boring lunch digest and hitting our daytime high of 9 Celsius, I set out for a long run. Been a couple weeks since I did a long one, and opted for a solid 8 miles. It flew by! Eight is my favourite number, and seems to be a pretty good one for long runs too :) Oh, and I saw two women riding horses on the trail! It was fun, but frightening, as I’m intimidated by horses :\

As always, I whipped up a post-workout smoothie. They just go down so easy!

100_9888

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 2 scoops Vega Smoothie Infusion
  • handful each frozen strawberries, blueberries, raspberries
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

100_9890

It was actually a pleasant purple colour. The cup is pretty, but makes everything look a gross shade of green :P

Not gonna lie, part of my long run was also meant to work up a hunger. Remembrance Day happens to be Chris and I’s anniversary (easy to remember!). Four years!! Although, I say it’s more like two since we live in different cities :P

We celebrated with one of our common hobbies – food. Went to one of Fredericton’s “fancier” restaurants, Brewbakers.

One thing I love about this place is that it has an open kitchen so you can see what the chefs are doing.

100_9893 
And a pretty decor. One thing I do like about Christmas are the lights!

100_9895

Chris ordered, what else, steak.

100_9899

It came on top of parmesan garlic mashed potatoes and carrots. I tried a bite and it wasn’t too bad. But I liked my dish much better!

I went for the special, maple balsamic pork.

100_9900

On top of roasted baby potatoes, broccolini and grilled cantaloupe. So good! I’ve only had pork once since I started eating red meat again, and this did not disappoint. The maple syrup was of course divine, and I included a sweet bit of cantaloupe in every bite. Yum!

Our server caught me taking photos, and captured Chris and I before digging in.

100_9902

We just want our meat :P

I insisted on dessert, and Chris let me choose. I went for the richest, chocolate-y-est thing on the dessert menu.

100_9906

Molten lava cake with some decaf black tea. It was deconstructed though, with the “lava” on the outside. The sauce was definitely the best part. Chris and I split it. This is approximately where I went from pleasantly satisfied to FULL :D

Now we’re just taking it easy and Chris is pretending not to like Glee, but I know he secretly loves it ;)

Hope you all had a stellar Hump Day!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers