Home Cookin’

Hello blog friends! I am currently blogging from my mother’s living room. It’s fabulous. This guy is currently curled up next to me keeping my feet warm.

100_9586

Hi Archie!! What my mother doesn’t know is that I’m packing him up in the Focus and bringing him back with me tomorrow ;)

Would you believe it if I told you I got another 8 hours sleep last night? I know! Three nights in a row. That’s a record. I was awake after my usual 6 hours, but was actually able to fall back asleep when I tried to this time. Led to oversleeping, but I’ll take it! :D

I wanted to hit the road before noon, so I went to the gym right away. Turned into a pretty good workout!

Warm-up:
5 minutes on the elliptical

HIIT:
on elliptical:
0:00-1:00 – sprint @ level 16
1:00-3:00 – recovery @ level 14
3:00-4:00 – sprint @ level 18
4:00-6:00 – recovery @ level 16
6:00-7:00 – sprint @ level 20
7:00-9:00 – recovery @ level 16
9:00-10:00 – sprint @ level 18
10:00-12:00 – recovery @ level 14
12:00-13:00 – sprint @ level 16
13:00-15:00 – recovery @ level 12

Strength:
3 sets front squat push press – 10 reps @ 30 lbs
3 sets Romanian deadlift to row – 10 reps @ 40 lbs
3 sets lunge w/ forward reach – 10 reps @ 10 lbs each hand
3 sets YTWL – 5 reps each letter @ 5 lbs each hand

HIIT:
on treadmill:
0:00-1:00 – 3.0 mph
1:00-3:00 – 3.5 mph
3:00-4:00 – 8.0 mph
4:00-6:00 – 3.5 mph
6:00-7:00 – 8.5 mph
7:00-9:00 – 3.5 mph
9:00-10:00 – 9.0 mph
10:00-12:00 – 3.5 mph
12:00-13:00 – 9.5 mph
13:00-15:00 – 3.5 mph

Cool-down:
5 minutes stretching

Phew! I was going to tack on abs at the end, but this took me exactly one hour so I decided to call it a day.

Rushed back home and filled my hungry belly with a big bowl of savoury.

100_9567

Savoury oats! I was reeeally craving a bowl.

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup water
  • pinch salt
  • 1 tsp Earth Balance
  • 1 breakfast sausage,sliced and stirred into oats
  • 1 fried egg
  • lotsa saaaahlsa

100_9570

Runny eggs are a thing of beauty, right Sophia? ;)

100_9575

I know I harass you guys about this every time, but you really gotta try savoury oats if you haven’t yet!! The protein, fat, and fibre in this dish always holds me over forever. Close to five hours today, which is almost unheard of for me!

My 90-minute drive home was rather boring. I arrived home and my mother popped this wonderful taco dip in the oven for me.

100_9577

It’s a mix of lean ground beef, black beans, kidney beans, homemade salsa and cheese.

While it was heating I prepared this:

100_9579

Which then turned into this:

100_9583

Hm. Looks gross there, but I know you’ll trust me when I say it was delicious ;)

Then I went searching for the Halloween stash. I knew it was somewhere! Found it hiding in the pantry closet.

100_9595

I went for the Reese’s pieces and savoured every little piece.

100_9585

I also arrived home to a house that smelled of turkey! My mom had one roasting in the oven all morning, and we were treated to it this evening.

100_9590

My mom forgot the cranberry sauce, so I put some plum sauce on it instead. We also had stir-fried veggies in a gravy made with soy sauce and mustard. It was delicious!!! And then I swiped a few french fries that were made for the kids.

And I maaaay have attacked the candy stash again for dessert.

100_9594

I like these little chocolate balls because I suck on them until they melt in my mouth. I actually suck on Reese’s pieces the same way too. Makes them last longer!

 

Now I’m just tucked in with my mom, Mark (her boyfriend, although that term is a little silly applied to their situation. Life partner? Common-law?) and the doggies. I’m just happy to be home and in their company. Tomorrow my mom and I are going to the gym together, then meeting my dad for lunch, visiting my Nana and then Costco!! Woot! See ya after!

 

Question of the day: What dishes does your mom always make? My mom is famous for her vegetarian chili. She also makes a mean hummus and vegepate :)

Posted on November 3, 2009, in Fun, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Great workout! Love the deadlift/row. I think that is my very favorite move.

    I remember beef stew, lasagna, and blueberry buckle as the dishes most associated with my mom’s cooking.

    Reese’s Pieces! I would be all over those.

  2. yeah thrusters. love. my mom loves making things with tofu (tofu stirfry is bomb!) and she also makes a lot of curry.

  3. I know what you mean about the spicy oats…so amazing!

    My mom…uh makes a mean call to the pizza delivery place :-) I’ve started calling her “other half” her boyfriend, even though it sounds silly, it’s the best of all the options.

  4. Level 14 and 16?? Ahh I’m jealous of your leg strength! My little legs are total weaklings!!

    I know I need to try savory oats.. but I’m kind of scared! What’s the yummiest combo?

    • Hey April! If you like runny yolks, then I definitely recommend fried eggs on top! I’ve seen some yummy looking combos with chopped veggies burgers and ketchup on top too :)

      I think the elliptical I go on just goes really high. The first 10 levels for some reason feel like really low resistance…

  5. You already know this one; as you love it too. :)

    Turkey dinner made by my mom with some incredible dressing made by my father. Extra gravy!

    Pie for dessert (apple, cherry, blueberry, lemon) with the best crust this side of heaven.

  6. there is NOTHING like home to make a gal feel so good. i am glad you got to spend time with mama and time with daddio is on the agenda too. do you have siblings? maybe you’ve mentioned this before, but i cannot seem to recall.

    that taco dip needs to get in my belly right now. it looks soooo good! enjoy the rest of your time at home me lady :)

    • Hey Holly! I’ve got two older sisters that live far away, then my mom’s boyfriend has three kids between the ages of 11 and 16. It’s a zoo, but I love ‘em!

  7. My mom is an amazing chef and has only a few things that she makes frequently… hmm… wonder where I got that trait from…

    Some of her classics is lasagna, apple pancake, and chili.

  8. Those savory oats look glorious!
    My mom always made a rockin’ carbonara, pizza dip, and pumpkin bread.

  9. I admit, I’ve been a chicken so far and held out on the savory oats. But as soon as my plain oatmeal shipment from Flying Pig lands on Friday I will try them. Saturday for lunch… it’s a date! :D

  10. savory oats are delicious – i like them combined with salsa and frozen spinach!

  11. During this time of year, my Mid-West Mama is making chilli and potato soup. Winter brings homemade noodles with chicken. In the summer it’s always chicken breast marinated in Italian dressing and grilled to perfection.

  12. Savoury oats… I’ll never understand :P

    Buuuuuut I have a little something for you on my blog… come check it out ;)

    xxx
    p.s. my mom doesn’t cook anything… except for christmas (so maybe christmas rice is her specialty?)

  13. What a workout! Those are some serious sprints!

    Still haven’t tried savory oats…not sure they’d be my thing, to be honest. But I should try them before I say that!

    My mom makes a mean turkey too, but what I really love are her roast chickens, because then afterward she does a homemade chicken soup that is AMAZING!

    So glad you are getting some mommy time :)

  14. That taco dip looks ah-maaaaaaazing!

    The Romanian Deadlift Row sounds like you were inspired by Body Pump – I know it’s a mainstay in the Les Mills repertoire. It’s one of my favorites – that and the clean and jerk that alternates with rows.

    My Mom makes pretty fantastic banana bread and scalloped potatoes.

  15. My mom doesn’t like to cook but every single year she makes lasagna for my birthday! It’s my absolute favorite food ever.

    I love Reeses Pieces. I have a mini bag in my desk drawer!

  16. Oh wow! Those oats are to die for! I disagree, that salad combo sounds and looks fantastic :)

    Archie is such a cutie!! Sounds like you’re getting a lot of quality family time in! My mom makes really good quiches and chili but I always forget to ask her to make me a portion without meat so I haven’t had them in a while.

  17. Mom’s are great cooks- the dip and turkey look delish! My mom is famous for her veggie lasagne, brisket (oh-so-good) and corn pudding. Oh, and roast chicken but I think that comes with the Jewish territory :P Enjoy your time at home!

  18. loving the runny egg. i too, have an obsession with a perfectly cooked egg. mmm.

  19. If you want to try 30 Day Shred, YouTube it. I think most of Level 1 is on there. :) It’s tough at first, but if you keep going it gets easier!

  20. Methinks your full night of sleep prepared your body for an awesome workout. I’m loving the interval action!

    Chile Relleno- my mom is the master of that dish. Now I’m hankering for it, all 3,000 miles away from her. :(

  21. AH i love going home to my mom’s. She is a decent cook, I think I’m better but shhhh. She does have all the great ingredients that I can not always afford on my college budget though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

