Daily Archives: November 2, 2009

Eating with Purpose

Loved hearing all your goals for November!! I was already successful with one of my goals last night and slept for 8 hours. That’s two nights it a row! I can’t remember the last time that happened! It helps I was in bed at a ludicrously early hour :)

Which led to a very dark morning for me. Enter, mysterious bowl of oats…

100_9520

Ooohh, so dark and shadow-y :P

  • 1/2 cup oat bran
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate whey powder
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp marshmallow fluff

I’m also super excited that my recipe for mocha oats made with Starbucks Via instant coffee is on the Starbucks website!! Ch-ch-check it out!

A couple hours of digesting and internet-ing later, I went to another stellar step class. This was my fourth time there and I really felt like I had all the moves down this time. It’s true when they say it takes 3-5 classes! I think one of the reasons why I love this class so much (besides the high energy of it) is that it occurs at the perfect time of day for me. I get my best workouts mid-morning. I have a good breakfast and some coffee in me. Early morning can be a little rough, and I tend to drag a little any later in the day.

Came home and refuelled with smoothie made with chocolate Amazing grass, almond milk, 1/2 a banana, scoop cottage cheese and ice.

100_9541

It’s even growing plants out the top! :P The Amazing Grass has actually grown on me. Most of all, it surprisingly keeps my hunger at bay!

Lunch was a Janetha inspired cottage cheese-garbanzo-ranch mix.

100_9547

  • < 1 cup cottage cheese
  • <1 cup garbanzo beans
  • 1 tbsp ranch seasoning
  • cherry tomatoes
  • red onion
  • red pepper
  • spinach

100_9545

Don’t let my reused plastic container dishware fool you. This was delicious!

Dinner was incredibly simple, and also incredibly tasty.

100_9559

The pita had hummus, grilled chicken breast and sweet potato. I usually stuff my pitas silly with a whack of veggies, but tonight I got to enjoy every flavour. It was wonderful :)

 

Now, I know I’m not the only one out there over the internets who feels like their eating has gotten away from them lately. I don’t know if it’s the time of year, or if we’re all just going through things that are causing us to relax on our food intake, but something is going on! :P

I think it’s easy to make a list of goals like “I’m going to stop the mindless munching,” or “no treats after dinner.” But getting to the bottom of why we’re doing these things is a lot more difficult.

I would never say I ever had a “food binge.” However, pre-weight loss, I often consumed food without taking any notice of it. If my roommate brought home cookies, I’d throw back three without even thinking about it. After dinner, I would get a piece of chocolate, then immediately get up and go for more without an ounce of pre-meditation.

This is why I made one of November’s goals to be less complacent with food. Lately, these old habits have been creeping back into my life. Not nearly as bad. I am much better at being present when I eat a meal, or being conscious of choosing snacks. However, I still find that my hand reaches into the cereal box without my noticing. Or I’ll grab a few chocolate chips thinking “what does it matter?”

Really, it’s maybe only an extra 100 calories a day and isn’t the end of the world. But I also don’t think it’s the right way to approach food. Especially when it’s so frighteningly close to my old thoughtless approach.

Complacency: self-satisfaction especially when accompanied by unawareness of actual dangers or deficiencies

I think I need to do more than just hide the cereal box on the top shelf, or not allow crackers in my house. I really need to focus on being aware and present when I eat food. I need to sit down to a meal and enjoy every bite. I need to decide that I want to eat that date, instead of just reaching for it because it’s there. Maybe I’ll even still have those chocolate chips, but they won’t be as I run out the door. I’ll take the time to treasure every sweet bite :)

So when I say I’m going to be less complacent with food, that is what I mean. For those of you who struggle with mindless munching, fast eating, and boredom snacking, I encourage you to do the same!

This isn’t just something we can put on a list of goals and forget about. It’s a lifetime thing, just as exercising and eating vegetables are. It’s just another commitment I need (and want) to make to ensure I have a healthy relationship with my body.

So there ya go! I’ll let you know on Sunday how this is coming along. For me, it’s going to take a while to shift the thought process behind the complacency that’s been happening lately. But I think even just taking a second to stop and ask myself “Why am I eating these raisins? Am I bored? Hungry? Searching for something else?” will get the ball rolling.

 

Question of the day: What’s one food that always finds its way to your mouth? Mine is peanuts. Put me in front of a bowl of peanuts and they don’t stand a chance :P

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers