Daily Archives: October 30, 2009

Flashback Friday – Food Blogger Edition

Thankyousomuch for all the nice comments about my journey to double-digit land! I was surprised by how many of you said you have yet to reach any fitness accomplishments. Bullshit! As I told Ang, some days, just making it to the gym is an accomplishment in itself. We don’t all have to be running marathons here :)

Speaking of which! I do have plans to do a half marathon next spring. I’m iffy about doing one sooner because I’m not too keen on training in the snow and ice. Plus, I think the winter is a great time to focus on strength training and doing those other activities that get neglected while training for races during the summer. I would also love to do a full marathon in 2011. I think next summer will be the season for my half-mary, duathlon and metric century. The summer after that will be The Big One ;)

I thought for this week’s edition of Flashback Friday, it would be fun to look back to the beginnings of the blog. As most of you know, I started The Great Balancing Act in July because blogging at Trying For A Tri felt weird after I finished my triathlon!

To see my first ever blog post go here. It was kind of boring, and the pictures aren’t great. I actually didn’t even tell anyone about the blog until I’d been at it for a week so there would be some content on there first.

I was still calorie counting during those first few months, I gave it up for good in April ‘09. There were some good eats in my first six months as a food blogger though :)

Tofu and fried egg sandwiches…

01-19-09 sandwich

My first ever sushi…

01-24-09 sashimi01-24-09 maki

Experiments in homemade protein bars…

01-28-09 bar

Ginormous mugs of coffee…

01-29-09 coffee02-13-09 coffee 02-18-09 coffee

Alotta almond butter…

01-25-09 almond butter

Oatmeal parfaits

01-23-09 oatmeal

Pre-workout snacks…

01-21-09 banana

…and post-workout shakes.

02-03-09 shake

Luna bars.

 

02-14-09 lunas

02-15-09 luna 2

02-21-09 luna2

 

A lot of pitas.

02-15-09 pita2 02-15-09 pita3

02-15-09 pita4 02-15-09 pita5

Hmmm…I think my favourite of all though was my homemade birthday carrot cake.

01-23-09 cake

Droooool. Can we do this again this year mom? Or maybe…pie!?

I also miss my cute puppies.

01-23-09 rudy 01-23-09 archie

But I do not miss this:

02-01-09 deck 01-21-09 snow

Uugggghhh :P

Okay, that’s enough fun with old blog pictures. Wanna see what I’m eating these days?

100_9389

PB&J oats, now pronounced “peeeebjuh”

  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey powder
  • 1 heaping tbsp PB
  • 1 tbsp blueberry jam

I “sandwiched” half the PB and jam in the centre of the bowl again. You can see it peeking out a little!

100_9393

Dinner was a rather large salad.

100_9399

These days, I’m eating them out of a casserole dish.

100_9403

Anyone else eat their romaine lettuce by the head? I guess they’re on the small-ish side, but I still feel pretty badass chopping up a whole head of romaine for just one salad.

  • romaine
  • peeled carrot
  • chickpeas
  • roasted sweet potato
  • cottage cheese
  • cajun spice, cumin and pepper

100_9404

I ate it all, and still had chocolate after ;)

My legs are feeling pretty good today, so I’m happy a light workout may be in the picture for tomorrow after all! Otherwise, it’s my usual 5am-1pm shift. With no candy, costumes or other Halloween joy. I don’t get trick-or-treaters where I am and I love handing out candy. Anyone in Fredericton care to hire me as a candy-hander-outer tomorrow night? :P

If you are celebrating on Saturday, have fun!! And have a package of rockets for me please ;)

Question of the day: What would be in your flashback Friday food edition? When I do this again another six months down the road, there will definitely be waffles :P

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers