A Tale of Two Digits

Okay, no more job talk today! :P I actually had a big day in that I hit what I consider to be one of my biggest fitness goals.

I kinda-sorta slept in today and tried to make a fancy feast of french toast. However, I made the rookie mistake of over-soaking the bread in egg whites.

100_9324

Still delicious, they were just super egg-y and fell apart on me. Had an orange dipped in almond butter on the side.

And don’t worry – I’m still eating lots of apple treats!

100_9335

These apple oatmeal muffins have taken up the space in my freezer that’s usually dedicated to vitamuffins. Slathered in PB. Of course.

I couldn’t wait for lunch today so I could make a pita with my leftover roast chicken.

100_9347

Do I even have to say this was good? :P Who needs deli meat?

I used a new-to-me hummus on the pita as well.

100_9337

I’m told this is the closest thing to Sabra hummus that you can find in the Maritimes. It’s pretty darn good! I liked the garlic in the centre. Besides the presentation, it wasn’t anything to run home about though. President’s Choice Organics hummus, in my opinion, is just as good.

Theeeen, I waited 2.5 hours, mustered up all my courage, and hit the trails for 10 miles. That’s right my friends! Double digits!!!

This is a huge running accomplishment for me. I have no idea why, but I’ve always put double-digit runs on a sort of “pedestal.” I always thought they were so hardcore, and I’ve never considered myself hardcore at, anything!

I tricked myself into thinking that I was just going on a very long jog. No stress. It was a nice and sunny day out, 6 C (43 F) so not too cold. Not a lick of wind either, the river looked like glass.

My first 5 miles were easy, other than the fact that I was having tummy troubles. For the record, garlicky hummus and dark chicken meat do not make the best pre-run meal :P My stomach doesn’t digest high fat foods well, and I was very crampy/burpy for the first half. But, since this was such a long friggin’ run, it did eventually pass.

I did my usual 9 minutes running, 1 minute walking intervals. I went at what felt almost like a “jogging” pace for me. I figured, if I was going to run a whole 10 miles, they didn’t need to be high intensity!

After 70 minutes, I dug into my cran-razz Clif Shot Bloks. I had three left, so I popped one every 10 minutes (during my last three walking breaks). This was my second experience with these and I loved them! I was scared they would bring my stomach cramps back, but spacing them out made them easier to digest. They were easy to chew and swallow, and didn’t leave a gross sugary taste in my mouth like some sport gummies or gels do. They provided me with the perfect amount of energy to get back home :)

I was actually feeling good enough at the end that I skipped my last walking break, and even sprinted towards the end! Total stats:

Time: 1:44:17
Distance: 10 miles
Avg Pace: 10:25

I’m thrilled with that. I was secretly hoping to get it done in under 1:45:00. Now I just don’t know where to go from here When I started focusing on running after my triathlon this summer, it was my goal to get up to the double digits before it started snowing. Now that I’ve done that, should I just keep going? Should I lay off? Maybe I just won’t set any more running goals and do whatever the hell I want :P

Walking down the stairs to my apartment after was so hard. My legs were really sore to begin with today from all the exercise classes I’ve been doing. I was literally hobbling around. I immediately took a couple ibuprofen then foam rolled and stretched for about 20 minutes. Then I took turns icing my hips, knees and ankles while drinking a delicious smoothie.

100_9350

  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 scoop peach-mango protein powder
  • 2 big scoops plain yogurt
  • handful each of frozen papaya chunks, frozen strawberries, frozen blueberries and frozen raspberries (remember not that long ago when these were super cheap fresh? Boo.)

Here’s my “holy crap I just ran 10 miles” face.

100_9358

Ha, I look a little tired. Rightfully so!!!

Dinner was another tofu quesadilla because the first one was so good.

100_9371

  • 1/4 block crumbled tofu
  • red pepper
  • red onion
  • chili powder, paprika, cajun seasoning
  • EXTRA cheddar cheese (10 miles deserves extra cheese, dontcha think?)

I had leftover potatoes and carrots from yesterday’s feast. Re-roasted and much better the next day. The chicken grease made them crispy on the outside and mushy on the inside.

100_9376

I always put the salsa on top of my quesadillas as not to make anything soggy. Plus it’s more fun that way.

100_9380

Yumm, perfect recovery food!

Thankfully, I’ve regained mobility in my legs. My upper body was surprisingly stiff too, either from tensing up or my camelbak. But that’s back to normal as well. Tomorrow will definitely be a rest day. Then maybe some light activity on Saturday to get my muscles moving and blood flowing again. Praying I don’t wake up with a Charley Horse tonight!

 

Question of the day: What’s your biggest fitness achievement so far? I talked about this on Brie’s blog before. But being able to run 20 minutes straight was a huge one for me. Others include swimming my first kilometre, squatting an olympic bar for the first time, and of course, the triathlon! And now running 10 miles!! :D

Posted on October 29, 2009, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. YAY! Congrats on double digits! I think you have rightfully earned the “I can do whatever I want” training plan. ;) Um… my biggest (pathetic) fitness goal is actually running a (pathetic) 5k without stopping last year. You put me to shame.

    • No freakin’ way a 5k is pathetic Leah!!! If anything, I think that distance is one of the toughest because there’s so much pressure to go FAST. I know a lot of super fit people who can’t run 3 miles without stopping, so I think you get mayjah bragging rights ;)

  2. Bravo Susan – that is a lot of miles! And quite a good clip, too :D

    I would recommend laying off a little bit. I’ve been reading around about periodization, and it’s a good thing to make a segment of the year about recovery fitness instead of being ready at Christmas for your events next summer.

    I am not sure if my tri or duathlon was the bigger one. The duathlon was really the harder one, but the tri was an event for me – as I am sure understand!

    • Lori, I think laying off may be exactly what I’ll do! I was contemplating diving in to another weight lifting program this winter, but I definitely don’t want to start it before Christmas. As of right now, I’m just having tons of fun playing around at my new gym’s exercise classes :)

  3. 10 miles is hardcore! That’s awesome!

    That smoothie looks delicious :)

  4. Congrats on the run! Double digits seems so far away for me…someday though. Way to power through the end of your run!

  5. Woohoo! Ten miles, girl. That’s awesome. You should be SO proud of yourself. I think my biggest accomplishment was when I ran 4 miles and realized I actually ENJOY running! Last week’s 5-miler was awesome too, it was a milestone for me just like 10 was for you, but for some reason, that 4-miler was epic. Another big accomplishment of mine was doing the 3 Day walk for breast cancer…I’m probably more proud, though of the $3000 I raised than the 60ish miles I walked over the actual event :-)

  6. wow wow wow! so impressed. my biggest achievement was hiking down grand canyon and not dying, then climbing back up. i was freaked the whole time but luckily it was gorgeous.

  7. My first mile was such a big deal to me, but when I hit two I thought I was queen of the world! And it really felt that way!!! :)

    Great job on the double digits. Can’t wait to get there with you, but I have a while to go to prevent injuring my foot again. When I hit 8 miles a few weeks ago it felt so good!

  8. The french toast and muffin look so good. And congrats on the double digits! That’s such a huge accomplishment and you should be so proud! My biggest fitness achievement was my 10 mile run, too :)

  9. Great job, congrats on the 10 miler!!! When you mentioned the 3 Clif Shots, it caught my attention. I had just gotten done reading this:

    http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-242-304-310-7771-0,00.html

    Best of luck, you’re doing great!

  10. Girl… Holy sh*t…. 10 miles? I don’t even know how many kilometres that is… but it’s a whole lot!

    The most I’ve ever run is 100 metres (and by run, I mean jog).

    Congrats! And way to reward yourself… that smoothie looks so good, I think I’m gonna go have one myself right now!

    xxx

    P.S. Thanks for your vote sweety :D

  11. AWESOMEEE :) You should sign up for a half-marathon! I know you’ll rockkk it!

    My biggest fitness goal so far is the fact that I survived 3 20-mile runs….But I remember it was only last year that I ran my first 10-miler, so hey! maybe next year, you’ll be training for a marathon too, haha :)

  12. WOW!!! That’s incredible Susan!!! Big congrats, you running Rockstar!! WOOOOT!!!!

    (Thanks btw ;-) )

  13. You can get Sabra hummus in the Maritimes. I’ve definitely bought it at Costco (I remember trying all the different flavours they had). Maybe that’s the only store that carries it though.

    Also, way to go on the double digits! I hope to say the same, some day.

    • Ooh, thanks for the Sabra heads up Diana!! Fredericton doesn’t have a Costco yet, but I can see them stocking it. Will have to look for it when I go to Moncton next week :)

  14. The Vegan Anti-Hero

    Definately considering running a half. Looks like you may enjoy the training for it! Either way…good job!

  15. Great job! You know what impresses me so much is that you are really enjoying the running. I think a half and maybe a whole marathon will be in your future!

  16. Congratulations, that really is a great accomplishment!

    Personally, I have run a couple of minimarathons now, so I guess those are my biggest fitness accomplishment so far. But, I haven’t yet run the whole thing. I had to walk a bit on each, so my next goal is to run the whole way.

  17. Super eggy french toast was always my favorite so over soaking sounds perfect to me ;)

    CONGRATS ON THE TEN MILES!! That’s huge – be proud! I love quesadillas and that tofu creation looks really good. What a great idea!

  18. Does that vitamuffin really have apple chunks?? crazy!

    Congrats on the ten miles! That’s so crazy! your intense! haha

    • Hahaha April, no, it’s a homemade muffin. Sorry to get you excited about the prospect of an apple vitamuffin! Unfortunately, I don’t think mine has the protein and fibre, but it’s at least a fraction of the price! :)

  19. CONGRATS ON THE TEN MILES GIRL! that is amazing. i say if you feel good…keep going! a half marathon is only another 5k from that :)

    mmmm i miss smoothies :( that looks soooo good, and you look radiant and glowing! love you!

  20. peach mango protein powder?!?! wow never heard of that before…I usually stick with vanilla or my new fav is cinnamon bun!

    amazing job on those 10 miles! longest I have ran was a 10k which is 6.2

    a recent accomplishment of mine was doing 10 FULL push ups, took me quite a while to get to that point but i was so excited

    • Naomi – it’s “ISO Lean” brand. Not my favourite kind of whey powder because it’s pretty full of artificial sweeteners (even for a protein powder) but it was free, and makes a tasty smoothie sometimes! :)

  21. Holey Moley!!! Great job on the 10 miles Susan.

    Honestly, I can’t even think of any great fitness accomplishments I’ve made. Sad, considering I have exercised religiously for years. I really do need to set some goals. I’ve talked and talked about doing some races, but never have. You may have just given me the motivation I needed.

    I’m curious to know what was your route for your big run?

  22. 10 miles! That’s awesome Susan! :)

    Sadly I have no major fitness accomplishment! I’m such a slacker!

  23. French toast? Quesadillas? You’re really making me miss my kitchen! haha

  24. hey! i’ve snooped your blog a couple of times and thought i’d come out of the shadows and say hi. congrats on the 10 miles that’s amazing :) i wanted to say that i always put the salsa on top of my quesadillas too, so you’re not alone in doing so :p it’s good to see another canadian out here and i’ll definitely be back to check out your delicious eats :D
    take care!

  1. Pingback: Flashback Friday – Food Blogger Edition « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

