Baconator

Hey friends! Well, today was less apple-filled, but “Apple Watch ‘09” continues. Ellie’s concerns of my turning into an apple may in fact be legitimate! :P

Before getting to my lovely breakfast, I was up at 5:30am to make it to a spin class before work. As always, it was awesome! Chugging a glass of iced coffee beforehand makes all the difference for me. Today we had a different instructor. An older guy who wasn’t quite as intense as the younger girls we usually have, but you could tell he was suuuuper nice. I pushed myself really hard just because he was so polite about it! :P

Okay, then I came home and re-heated the steel-cut oats I made before bed last night.

100_9216

For a two serving batch I cooked:

  • 1/2 cup steel cut oats
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • lots and lots of cinnamon
  • 1 chopped macoun apple

The directions said to let simmer for 30 minutes, but it didn’t feel like that long at all. I measured out half of it this morning (can’t trust my post-spin judgement! :P ) and topped it with almond butter and Fluff watered down a little for optimal drizzling.

100_9226

This bowl was epic. I actually meant to put applesauce on top too, but I got too excited and forgot! Good thing I still have another bowl’s worth in the fridge ;)

I had a cah-raaazy busy day at work today. Covered a trial all day long, and spent what should have been my lunch break chasing after protesters in the woods. Pita was eaten in the news car.

100_9233

Deli chicken and cottage cheese with all the veggies I could find in my fridge.

Carrots to round it out…

100_9236

Yeah, haven’t been taking pictures of my week-day work eats because it’s still always the same thing – pitas with veggies or fruit. This isn’t a rut either, I just love it!

Ended up working super late and got started on a tofu quesadilla the second I walked through the door.

100_9242

I crumbled the tofu up in a frying pan with some onion, red pepper and mushroom, dousing it in every spicy seasoning I have. Topped it with some quality jarred salsa (or, as quality as it gets anyways).

100_9243

Because people like to say saaal-sah.

Now, you’re probably wondering why this post is called “Baconator” when I had tofu for supper. Well, the fabulous and adventurous Emily the Experimentarian sent me some bacon-flavoured goods she sampled on one of her Freaky Food Fridays. I love bacon. I love mints. Why not bacon mints!?

100_9249

I like candy too!

100_9251

100_9253

It almost had the texture of raw bacon.

100_9255

Thankfully, it was strawberry flavoured. I actually really liked this stuff! It’s no secret I have a soft spot for candy and corn syrup. Even when it’s shaped like raw meat :P

100_9256

I especially appreciated this warning…

100_9262

The mints however, were much more interesting. They were actually smoky smelling like bacon. I had to call in back-up for this one.

100_9260

Chris was scared, but he wouldn’t admit it :P

100_9258

He said “Ew. Minty ew. I already had bacon once today.”

I said, “Tastes like rubber tires.”

100_9263

NO to bacon mints. YES to bacon-shaped strawberry flavoured gummy strips :P Thanks for the Monday night entertainment Emily!!!

Don’t forget! Tuesday is your last day to enter my giveaway! You’ve got till 5pm Eastern time (I figured most of you haven’t heard of Atlantic time, which by the way, is 6pm my time :) )

Question of the day: What’s your favourite candy? If we’re excluding chocolate here, my favourite is just plain ole’ suckers or Twizzlers.

Chris’ question of the day: Am I bacon you hungry?

Posted on October 26, 2009, in Fun, Reviews, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Those oats do look epic! Your making me want some of that fluff..mmm!

    Bacon mints sound soo weird! It’s kind of like those harry potter jelly beans they make with flavors like vomit and stuff..crazy!

  2. Aww, that instructor sounds cute. Haha! Those oats look awesome, and so does that pita! I love how it has so many veggies. Wow, I don’t think I’d be a fan of bacon mints, either. The gummy strip sounds good, though! My favorite candy is candy corn!

  3. My fave candy is Reese’s (pronounced Reese- ehz not Reese-eez) eggs, trees or hearts! They have way more filling than the cups…yum! I include the pronunciation bc Mallard calls them Reese-eez even thought I have explained that Reese is the founder’s last name.

  4. I love that bacon gummy, so cute! lol
    And WOW your bowl o oats is phenomenal! That fluff! OH MY GOODNESS!!!
    And fave candy…hm….milk candy! The ones from Korea! They are SO good! Oh, and red bean paste! It’s like a thick, chewy chunk of sweetened adzuki beans, and so good!

  5. Ha ha ha! Yay! I am laughing so hard right now! I’m so glad the package made it to you and you liked the gummy bacon. I figured I’d better have at least one good thing in there, because those mints ARE disgusting. You are so brave for trying them, though.

    You know, I don’t love candy, except chocolate, but if I had to pick one, I’d say Hot Tamales or Dots. Classic movie candy. Have a great day! xoxo

  6. lol

    I’m not sure I have a favourite candy… fuzzy peaches or jelly bellies would probably be tied for first spot.

    I will tell you my favourite bacon-flavoured product… smoky bacon potato chips… I LOVE THEM! They are one of my biggest weaknesses when it comes to unhealthy treats.

  7. Ewwww! That gummy bacon looks like a tongue LOL! Or some kind of comic prop (where’s the rubber chicken??).

    Seriously – quit it with the fluff, cause I am going to have to buy some! :D

    Bacon mints…. hmmmm… don’t you usually have mints *after* bacon, not with?? Usually everything goes with bacon, but perhaps not.

    I have seen bacon salt, which I am curious to try.

  8. Bacon mints?!?! eww!! My favorite candy are skittles, red starbursts, mini nestle crunch and kit kat’s ;) lol

    If you like hot chocolate, put some fluff in it. You will thank me later.

  9. OMG bacon mints! Ewwwww! lol

  10. Bacon mints? What would possess someone to think of such a combination? What would possess someone to try them? ;) Chris is a true sport.

    My favorite candy is a three-way tie:
    -Haribo gummy bears
    -red Nibs
    -Swedish Berries

    I have absolutely NO self-control when in the presence of these items and will eat myself sick – literally.

  11. “This bowl was epic.” <— LOVE that.

    Fav candy? Peanut m&ms. Yummmmm.

    The bacon stuff didn't make me hungry… looks kinda gross to be honest. Hehe.

  12. hahahaha. LOVED your review of the bacon products. i think i would throw up with the mints though. a girl has got to draw the line somewhere.

    fave candy – starbursts, sweet tarts, almond joys, laffy taffy…yah, i like candy!!

  13. haha that is a funny warning on the bacon candy. not gonna lie, the bacon mints made me gag the first time i saw them on em’s blog and now again! ewww. ha, chris’ question i had to read twice because i am a moron. but then i laughed. as for yours.. hmmm.. i haven’t eaten candy since december~because of my new year’s resolution.. i don’t really even know what my fave is. there is some really good chocolate in norway and england, i think i would pick one of those! but honestly i would rather eat ice cream over candy annnny day! your steel cut oats looked good, i need to try making some! sounds like it is a good way to make a speedy breakfast.

  14. I love your pitta lunches- it’s not a rut, it’s a groove :D I had tzatziki tonight and ate extra since you weren’t there to share :(

    I haven’t had bacon in a looooooong time (since my family turned Orthodox) but I am contemplating breaking into the bacon maple syrup lollipops I bought my brother. Curiosity killed…tastebuds?

    Favourite candy: I’m not a gummy candy person. Jelly babies rock (do you get them? they are more firm than gummy candy and oh-so-good). I love these awesome white chocolate hearts and skulls that have pink gooey stuff inside :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

