Daily Archives: October 25, 2009

The Forbidden Fruit

Love all the food and nut butter suggestions that I’m getting from yesterday’s post! If you haven’t heard yet, I’m giving away a free jar of almond hazelnut butter go here to find out how to enter!

If you thought yesterday was an apple extravaganza, just wait until you see today. Apples are hands down my favourite fruit, and probably in my top 5 favourite foods of all time. So I may not like pumpkin, but I’m making up for it with apples this season! :)

Got things started off this morning with an apple cinnamon roll breakfast cookie.

100_9174

Uh-mazing. I liked this just as much as my chocolate macaroon kind, which is saying a lot!

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey powder
  • several shakes cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • handful dried apple pieces
  • scoop of applesauce

All mashed up until the protein powder dissolved enough to make the mixture crumbly (the apple sauce acted as my liquid here). Flattened on a plate and stuck in the fridge overnight. I put about 1/2 a tbsp of Fluff in a baggie this morning and drizzled it on top for my icing, but some of it came off en route to the office :(

More apples for my snack this morning, in the form of muffins.

100_9180

I sliced up a cheestring and melted it in the microwave. This wasn’t as amazing as I was hoping it would be. I think that’s because the cheese was cheap and kind of plastic-y tasting (they were on sale!). I imagine it would be much better with some quality cheddar.

My only non-apple meal of the day was made in these guys:

100_9186

Microwave egg cookers. I got these for free at the Running Room. The box had images of perfectly poached eggs. But I think I may need a little more practice to get the perfect microwave setting down.

100_9184

I cooked them in the microwave together and one of the eggs exploded while the other one barely cooked. Probably need to do it separately. Still edible though :)

We had a really bad rain storm last night, so I was expecting to have to drag my butt on the treadmill today. But it cleared up just as I got off work. Turned out sunny and 14C! (57 F)

I ended up doing 5.3 miles in 50 minutes. It was surprisingly tough for me. I think I must be having a hard time getting back into it after taking much of last week off. I didn’t really get into my groove until the last part of the run, at which point I booted it to the end. My heart rate went up to 181! I usually get up there in races, but not very often during training runs.

I also added some new tunes to my iPod! Here were some of my faves that popped up:

1. Meet Me At the Equinox – Death Cab For Cutie
2. Gold Digger – Glee Soundtrack
3. Electrify – Mute Math
4. Uprising – Muse
5. Daylight – Matt & Kim (thanks for the suggestion Kathleen!)

When I first started running, I would always pick really upbeat, techno-type songs. But they always kinda bored me! I’m learning that good, quality tunes, no matter the tempo, are much more enjoyable to listen to. It’s nice to have something to pace to, but sometimes it’s also really nice to zone out and enjoy the music and scenery (and maaaaybe sing along :P )

I was megamega hungry when I got back. So dinner was thrown together quickly.

100_9195

Ha! You can see a running shoe in the background.

Tofu wrap with some plain sautéed tofu and garlic, with some garden veggies and laughing cow cheese wedge.

100_9191

With a chopped honeycrisp sprinkled with cinnamon. Cinnamon is one of my favourite ways to jazz up plain apples. Okay, it’s my favourite way to jazz up anything ;)

More apples!

100_9203

This time in the form of homemade applesauce. Scooped on top of plain yogurt mixed with vanilla whey powder and some crumbled Kashi cinnamon harvest.

This was too pretty though – had to turn it into a legit yog mess!

100_9209

Ohmygahh this applesauce is GOOD!! I’m in love with it. I want to run away to Vegas and elope with it. I mean I like regular applesauce, but this stuff is a whole other level. It’s really thick, almost like a cross between regular applesauce and apple butter. I want to eat in on everrrything. With Fluff :P

Anyways, that wraps it up for tonight. I actually just finished cooking another apple dish for breakfast tomorrow. Don’t forget you’ve got till Tuesday to enter my giveaway!

Question of the day: What’s your favourite fruit? Pretty sure I don’t have to elaborate on that one :P I’m pretty boring with my fruit choices, oranges and bananas are second and third.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers