Daily Archives: October 17, 2009

Cleaning up and Clearing up

Hiii!!!!

100_8809

I got my hair did!! Not sure if you can tell by the picture on the side, but my hair was getting looooong. I’m pretty sure the longest parts were midway down my back! I didn’t let it go on purpose. I got a trim before my graduation in May, then forgot all about it!! You can tell where my personal priorities lay – gym first, grooming second :P

I also picked up a medium mahogany brown colour to dye it as well. I’m naturally quite fair-haired, but it washes me out, so I darken it. Don’t worry, I’ll obnoxiously take pictures of that as well :P

On to the day at hand…

As you could probably tell from my post last night, I was not on the top of my game. Thus, no breakfast cookie was prepared before my drug-induced sleep. I slept almost solid because of my handy dandy Nyquil. Reading the news on the radio irritated my throat all morning, but I’m hopeful after another 8-hour coma + rest day tomorrow, I’ll be back to somewhat normal :)

Oh, yes, no breakfast cookie. Breakfast sandwich instead.

100_8779

Back in my pre-weight loss days, I used to eat a fried egg sandwich for breakfast almost every single day. Except, those old-school sandwiches were made with two whole eggs, thick-sliced old cheddar, huge pieces of “birdseed bread” and lotsa butter along the way. Today’s was dry, with one egg, and a pre-sliced piece of light cheddar. For the most part, I really enjoy my “new” foods. But I gotta admit, this did not live up to its former glory.

I chased it down with an orange, in case you were dying to know :P

I rushed through my early morning tasks so I could head to the farmers market before it got busy. I was there at 7am and it was still pitch dark out!! I think it was a little too early, as not all the vendors were set up. It was pretty slim pickings.

Got back and snacked.

100_8781

I really enjoy these caramel ReBars. 12g protein and 4 servings of fruit & veggies.

100_8786

I mean, they taste like they have four servings of fruit and veggies, but I genuinely enjoy it! Put chocolate and peanuts on anything and I’ll like it :)

Lunch was from the market. Dolma:

100_8787

Aka grape leaves stuffed with rice and a few surprise chickpeas.

Pita bread with hummus and tabbouleh.

100_8791

It was like a pizza! A very messy, garlicky pizza.

My afternoon snack featured more market goodies. Homemade smoked herring.

100_8795

On crackers with laughing cow. The lady I bought this from is known for her smoked salmon, but I bought the herring because it was cheaper. Ohmygodsooogoooood. It was the first time I ever had smoked fish that actually melted in my mouth. Definitely splurging on the salmon next time!

I partnered it with a small McCowan apple.

100_8797

The vendor told me it was “a very good eating apple.” Which I would have to agree with. Very crunchy inside and out with a nice hint of tartness. It reminded me a lot of a McIntosh.

Aaaaand a quick Google search just told me it’s the child of a McIntosh! Also known as a Macoun. I probably won’t be eating a lot of them though. I bought a big bag which is destined for apple sauce and other baking projects.

Then it was off to the mall to get my hair done. Dangerous location for a hairdresser, as I also did a little shopping after. I swear I really needed that purse and matching wallet!

If there’s one good thing about doing an 8-hour work day so early, is that it allows me plenty of time to prepare dinner after. I decided today was the perfect day to step up to Janetha’s kitchen clearing challenge. While I may not be moving, I do have tons of dried legumes and grains in my pantry that should really be used up. Personally, I prefer getting my grains from bread and oats, so I never feel inclined to cook them with dinner. Plus, I’ve somehow convinced myself that it takes tons of time, which it doesn’t!

Kitchen clearing dish #1: stuffed bell pepper.

100_8816

  • 1 package Yves Original veggie ground round
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 jar basil tomato sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 cup dry quinoa, cooked with 1 cup water
  • 2 laughing cow cheese wedges
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • parmesan cheese to garnish

Every single one of those ingredients, minus the cheeses, have been taking up room in my kitchen for-ever! Even the bell pepper, I bought a huge bag of them weeks ago!

Kitchen clearing dish #2: Dazzled carrots with pears and balsamic

100_8821

This dish was 100% inspired by Zesty Cook, whose original recipe can be found here.

I cut the recipe in half, using about 4 carrots and half a pear. I have a few pears in my fridge that are starting to look sad, so I knew this dish was a must when I saw it! I also didn’t use chicken stock because I don’t have any. Instead, I cooked the carrots in a little water, onion, garlic and parsely, then added the pears and balsamic until my tastebuds were happy. This was a stunning dish – I loved it!

100_8823

Overall, a delicious meal that I couldn’t even finish.

I would also like to add that the $25 I spent at the market today is the only money I’ve spent on groceries in over 10 days. I need to buy some essentials (*cough* yogurtandcottagecheese*cough*) soon, but I’m pretty pleased with myself. I spend soooo much money on food!

Time to wrap this giant post up with some questions:

1. What’s your favourite kind of apple? Honeycrisp, galas, and red/yellow delicious :)

2. How often do you get your hair done? I typically only get it cut/dyed every six months. I’m pretty sure that’s too long though! I always get a few horrified looks at the hairdresser :P

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers