Daily Archives: October 15, 2009

Looking for a brave soul (who likes free stuff!)

Loved hearing some of the other food rules you like to follow! Some extra ones:

  • Try to get all food groups in at meals
  • If you can’t picture it in a natural state, then don’t eat it!
  • Be mindful of what you’re eating but don’t obsess about it. Enjoy it!
  • When offered a dessert, rate it on a scale of 1 to 10. If it gets a low rating, then it’s not worth it.
  • Eat breakfast
  • Balance out your carbs, proteins and fats.
  • Nothing is ever off limits.

And most importantly (drumroll please…) food rules are meant to be broken!! ;)

For example, who said you can’t have candy for breakfast? First thing in the morning sounds like a perfect time for a treat to me!

100_8685

Candy oats.

  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate whey powder
  • 1/2 a banana
  • coconut
  • M&Ms
  • peanut butter

100_8697

My gosh this was good!! I don’t care how many weirdo ingredients are in M&Ms, sometimes a little candy coating does the body good! Oh, and big news! Mini Eggs are now available year round! I know one boy, whose name starts with a C-h-r-i-s, who will be very excited about that ;)

I had a small snack before heading out for a chilly run today. I say small, because I’ve heard several people note that Larabars seem to be getting shorter…

100_8700

This apple pie flavour was pretty dinky – and yet still 170 calories! I had a cashew cookie the other day that I swear was half the length of the wrapper.

Makes chopping them up into bite size pieces much more difficult.

100_8705

Yeah, I like to play with my food :)

I was also excited to try out a new product before my run.

100_8709

The fine folks at Sequel Naturals sent me a canister of Vega Sport in acai-berry flavour. It’s basically a natural sport drink, meant to be consumed before or during activity. Like most other Vega products, it’s chock full of wonderful and healthy ingredients.

100_8718
The organic sprouted whole grain brown rice syrup and organic palm nectar are a combo of high and low GI carbs that are supposed to give you both immediate and prolonged energy. It’s also chock full of anti-oxidants, natural caffeine (green tea) and even a natural muscle relaxer! (kombucha).

100_8712
I’m a big fan of the Vega Smoothie Infusion, so I had high hopes for this stuff. Well, I did until I mixed one scoop with one cup water as the packaging instructed.

100_8719

Ummm…it looks like sewage.

100_8722

And honestly, it kinda tastes like it too. I’m sure this stuff is wonderful for some people, but I refuse to choke down food or drinks that my tastebuds don’t enjoy – no matter how healthy! I took a few big gulps, then dumped it down the sink. I then proceeded to burp it up throughout my run :(

My run however, was still stellar! It was around the freezing mark (30-ish F?) again today. I just wore some spandex capris, long-sleeve running turtleneck, running hat and gloves, and I was quite comfortable in the cold! I think I should pick up some ear muffs though, as they were getting chilly toward the end.

No big goals for this run today, just wanted to get the ground under my feet :) Ran 5.25 miles in 50 minutes. I love my easy mid-length jogs, but I think it’s time I start bringing some more short n’ speedy runs back into my routine too!

Lunch featured some more of my coveted honeycrisp.

100_8734

I mixed up one can tuna, 1 tbsp plain yogurt, 1/2 tbsp mayo, pepper, 1 tsp lemon juice, chopped apple and onions. Loaded it on bread and melted some old cheddar on top.

100_8726

Everything tastes better with melted cheese on it.

I chopped up the remainder of my honeycrisp and sprinkled some pumpkin pie spice on it to munch on.

100_8737

That’s only 3/4 of the apple!! Mind you, I slice it up reeeeal thin :)

I spent the rest of the day “oot and aboot.” I made a Starbucks pit stop to try out Meghann’s drink.

100_8739

Grande nonfat awake tea latte with 2 pumps pumpkin spice syrup. It was okay. I love tea lattes – but I always found the Starbucks pumpkin syrup to taste like rubber! Anyone remember the chantico? Now that shit was goooooood :P

I then immediately went home, and a turkey and hummus pita from the Pita Pit magically fell from the sky and onto my coffee table.

100_8742

I couldn’t just send it back! :P

100_8744

I got almost every vegetable they offer…

  • spinach
  • romaine
  • tomatoes
  • onions
  • green peppers
  • mushrooms
  • bean sprouts
  • olives
  • pickles

I had just enough time for this to digest before heading to yoga! I thought it was a BodyFlow class tonight, which is a pre-choreographed mix of tai chi, yoga and pilates. But Thursdays are the regular yoga nights. It was a mix of hatha and yin, filled with lengthy pigeons and spine twists. It was wooooonderful.

Question of the day: Want a free canister of the new Vega Sport?? I’m not going to drink the stuff they gave me, so I’ll send it to a brave soul who’s willing to try it!! It’s open and missing one scoop, otherwise I even still have all the packaging it came with :) Just leave a comment and I’ll pick a victim random person in my post tomorrow!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers