U-Pick Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving!! In case you missed my tweet about it, I highly suggest you watch this video on Crappy Canadian Thanksgiving. It’s high-larious :P

Today was just what I needed. A fabulous long run, delicious dinner and some quality time in with the boy :)

I actually managed to sleep past 7am today. I had one thing on my mind – pancakes. (aka flat waffles)

100_8555

I used my protein pancake recipe. For dipping, I mixed up a 1/4 cup fake syrup with 2 tsp peanut butter.

100_8553

After a big mug of coffee and some digestion, I set out for my longest running distance yet – 9 miles. I was actually nervous for this one!

I did my usual 9 minutes running, 1 minute walking that I do for most long runs. The first 3 miles went by quite easily. I was going at a steady pace. The weather was brisk, 5C (41F), but the sun was shining and the scenery on the river trail was gorgeous as always.

I was pleased when I hit the halfway point at 45 minutes on the dot. I wasn’t checking on my Nike+ because I wanted to go at a pace that felt natural (I tend to push myself faster when I see the numbers!). So I was happy I was naturally holding up 10:00 minute miles with the walk breaks.

I had to run into a cold and gusty headwind on the way back. I wished I’d worn gloves. After an hour I took one Clif Shot Blok in cran-razz flavour.

100_8593

100_8599 100_8601

In the past, I’ve tried to get all my mid-run nutrition in one go so I get a quick burst of energy. This works really well when biking, but it cramps me up when running. So today I opted to spread out the bloks, taking one every 10 minutes for the last half-hour. It worked really well! The bloks themselves were much easier to chew than Sharkies. And breaking them up like that sustained me better to get home :)

Honestly, the run wasn’t that hard. No reason to worry at all! The last 20 minutes, as always, were the hardest. I’ve run that route so many times now, I think I tend to pick up the pace when I know I’m getting close to the end. My heart rate goes up and I start huffing and puffing. Then there’s the mandatory sprint to the end that totally tuckers me out :P Oh, and I finished in 1:29:11!!

Today was one of those days where I needed immediate replenishment after walking in the door.

100_8563

  • 1 box pure coconut water
  • 2 scoops Vega Smoothie Infusion
  • 1/2 a banana
  • big scoop plain yogurt
  • 2 tsp peanut butter
  • ice cubes

After lotsa foam rolling, stretching, icing and beautifying, I was then off to Chris’ parent’s place for thanksgiving dinner. I never take pictures over there, but here’s what it kinda looked like :P

turkey dinner

White turkey meat, cranberry sauce, mashed squash, stuffing, mashed potatoes, a whack of gravy and carrots. Then cherry pie for dessert!

pie

Looks delicious, doesn’t it? :P

Chris and I decided to go for a drive after since it was such a beautiful fall day. Then I got the idea that we should drive to an apple orchard!

100_8574
Finally! I found some honeycrisp!!! They’re not in the stores here yet.

100_8577

I’ve never been apple picking before, but apparently Chris is a seasoned pro! He knew how to spot all the good ones and about “twisting” it off the branch.

100_8581

I love apples!! Even more, I love honeycrisp!! Favourite fruit ever.

100_8579

100_8580

The orchard itself is beautiful. Up on a hill that overlooks the river.

100_8584

100_8583

I just filled up a small bag. I have no plans to bake with these gems, so I didn’t want more than I could eat up before they go bad.

100_8587

Chris and I continued our drive to Mactaquac. It’s gorgeous down there this time of year. The dam…

100_8590

Nature…

100_8588

Cheesy…

100_8591

The turkey dinner obviously held me over for a looong time. We ate at 2pm, but I was feeling like I needed something at 8pm.

PB + honey sandwich.

100_8605

HUGE honeycrisp apple.

100_8610

Also incredibly crispy and juicy. Soooo good!

Okay, that just about wraps up this beast of a post. I’ve got a (hopefully) quiet week ahead. Just what I need after last week’s craziness! See ya tomorrow!

Edited to add: Check out my guest post at Leftovers For Lunch on packing lunches!

Posted on October 12, 2009, in Fun, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. congrats on the nine miles! that absolutely fabulous!

    and yay for thanksgiving and picking apples – a good day if i do say so myself :)

  2. Happy Thanksgiving! Those apples look delicious and I like your paint drawings!

    Nice job on the 9 miles. I’ve got a lot of work to do to catch up to you in our half training!

    (Oh, and yeah, mapmyrun.com and some guy on a running forum with a Garmin both confirm our 5K was actually 3.25 miles, so I’m mentally shaving off about a minute and a half from my time!)

  3. I just went apple picking last weekend! I loved it.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog :) Just added you to my blogroll.

  4. Mmmm.. I had my first Honeycrisp of the season with my dinner tonight! (I got mine at Wal Mart surprisingly.)

    And PB+honey= flavor explosion in my mouth. yuuummm one of my favorites.

  5. hm pb and honey! when i made those long time ago(i don’t have honey right now) i never could taste th ehoney! thoughts? how much to spread on? and why dont you toast your sammies?!

    • Hey! I drizzle the honey on instead of spreading it. That way you get mouthfuls of honey instead of just a faint honey taste ;) I’ve never toasted a PB sandwich before! That just seems so weird to me! :P

  6. Oh man–what I would give for a sack full of Honeycrisps!

  7. I want to take Snuffy to an apple orchard this year so bad! Darn the work and school… BTW , love the drawings of your dinner. You are too funny.

  8. Happy Thanksgiving! You know, I’ve seen people talking about these apples, but have never tried them. I feel compelled to now, LOL. I’ll have to look for them at Avery’s Farm Market or Masstown Farm Market, because the orchards in the valley are quite far from me. I’m afraid of picking apples in the orchard because I’m terrified of spiders… which probably find these tress make a nice home?

    Forgive my lack of commenting lately (and also my lack of blog posting). I’ve not been feeling well and pretty warn out. I AM however, happy to share that I’m down 25.5 pounds now! Woohoo! Nothing fits anymore, this is great! Slight problem however is the fact that this mean all of my nicest clothing no longer fits – and this week alone I have client meetings, a campaign opening here in Truro with Jack Layton and our own NDP by-election candidate Mark Austin (tonight, short notice – but quite interesting that Layton is expected to attend so I can’t miss it!), and a Chamber of Commerce Board meeting. I may have to buck up and go buy a couple of basic pieces (pants) so I can stop looking like my clothes are falling off of me.

    -Dee

  9. Hahaha Susan, you are so damn funny! Lovely pics! ;)

  10. I’ve never been apple picking but it looks so fun! I love the pic of you two–not cheesy at all! Just discovered honeycrisp apples myself…SO good! Juicy and crisp at the same time :)
    I was looking forward to photos of your Thanksgiving dinner, but the fantastic artistic representations are nice too ;)

  11. I can’t wait to go apple picking! I have never been. What beautiful scenery, too.

    The 9 miles – awesome! You rock. Can you believe you ran 9 miles? 9 miles!
    I love to go back and read posts from many months ago about how I felt exercising back in the early days and then note how far I have come.

    Have you thought about trying to make your own applesauce?

    • Ha, your comment made me laugh Lori! I was doing that all day yesterday “9 miles. 9 miles!!” I don’t know why, but it feels like such a long distance to me compared to my other long runs.

      An yes, applesauce and apple pie are on the list after I go to the market this weekend. Not with the honeycrisps though. They’re so precious they must be eaten plain as is ;)

  12. Haha I love your thanksgiving meal.. looks so appetizing ;)

    I love apple picking! And pumpkin picking! Fall is just great! haha

  13. Ohhh, Honeycrisp are my all time favorite apples. They are ready here at the beginning of September and we picked our share! When my Mom was here a few weeks ago, she tried them and was hooked. She went to a place in Keswick to pick them last weekend.

    Contratulations on the amazing run and Happy Belated Turkey Day!

    • Yes, there’s tons of orchards in Keswick! We went to a place past Silverwood. I went for the honeycrisps and lucked out – it was the only kind they had! :)

  14. What a great run, CONGRATS!! LOVE the dinner pictures – looks like a tasty meal ;)

    The apple orchard looks gorgeous! Apples are the best fruit!! Bananas, shmananas! PB + honey reminds me of my dad, that’s the kind of sandwich he introduced me to. You and the boy look CUTE!!

    PS. I’m probably late on noticing this but I love your new picture on the side – you look great :)

  15. Your T-Day dinner looks FAB! ;-)

  16. haha I love the pictures of the turkey dinner, it looks delish!

  17. Happy Thanksgiving! Love the dinner pictures! lol! I’d love to go to an apple orchard!

  18. i am incredibly behind on blogs and i think i told you already on twitter but if not WAY TO GO ON THE RUN!!! lmao @ your dinner drawing. looks so appetizing! LOOK AT ALL THOSE HONEYCRISPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! jealous! cute photo of you and chris! and pb&honey, wow it’s been ages since i had one. <3!

  1. Pingback: A Tale of Two Digits « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

