Random Facts

Hola blog peoples! Wow, today has been a day of playing catch-up and I still have tons to do! Never leave a messy house when going on vacation. My apartment is a disaster, the last thing I want to do is come home and clean it!

Seemed like the only uncluttered spot in my apartment was my fridge. In fact, it was bare! I got up early to do a little cardio and lifting. Nothing fancy, just wanted to get my joints and muscles moving again. I of course wanted waffles when I came home (it is Waffle Wednesday after all!) alas, that was not an option.

Instead, breakfast was inspired by this…

100_8404

Starbucks Via instant Colombian coffee. I picked up a little package in Detroit. I’m not a huge instant coffee fan, but I knew the Starbucks stuff would at least be strong tasting. Of course, what fun is just plain ole’ coffee?

100_8406

Mocha oats!

  • 2/3 cup oat bran
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 2/3 scoop chocolate whey powder
  • 1 package Via instant coffee
  • chocolate chips
  • roasted almonds
  • coconut

100_8407

SO good! Usually I’m rushed to down a big bowl of hot oats with my mug of coffee in the morning. It’s too many hot things at once and makes me break into a sweat. This way I killed two birds with one stone. One tasty stone :P

Another new (to me) product I tried today was a white chocolate Clif!!!

100_8417

I’ve been trying to track down this flavour in both the Clif and Luna for-ever. I found this hidden at the local bike shop.  I popped it in the microwave at work for 22 seconds to make it all warm and gooey (the only way I eat a Clif now). It was deeee-vine! Not sure if it topples Maple Nut on my list, but a well deserved second spot perhaps ;)

After work, I proceeded to the grocery store and spent SO much money on groceries. I can justify that by an empty fridge, right? I was craving one of my favourite healthy meals after my weekend of indulgences.

100_8424

Maple curry salmon on a garden salad with balsamic vinegar as dressing.

100_8428

I just pan fry the salmon in some cooking spray and curry powder. About 6 minutes on each side. I always cover the pan, I find it locks the juices in that way :)

And what’s a dinner without a sweet treat after?

100_8432

M&Ms! What can I say, I fell victim to the Halloween candy at the grocery store.

And because it is Waffle Wednesday, I found a picture of the waffles I had before I left on Friday. I forgot all about them and they were so good!!

100_8398

That beautiful icing on top was a mix of ricotta, cashew butter and maple syrup. Not to be dramatic or anything, but it was mind blowing. Just putting that out there.

Apparently my bloggie friends were feeling quite generous while I was away because I got an award!

kreativ_blog

Brie and Hallie, two of my favourite bloggers passed this on to me. Not without an assignment though! I must share 7 random facts about myself:

  1. I have to eat the second I open my eyes in the morning. I often get started on breakfast before I even use the washroom.
  2. It still amazes me that cucumbers and pickles are the same food. For the longest time, I thought they were two separate vegetables.
  3. I think music videos are really, really boring.
  4. I never played sports as a kid, but I did do highland dancing and synchronized swimming.
  5. I don’t like ice cream.
  6. I played guitar in an all-girl punk band called The Brats.
  7. I’m a natural blonde.

Okay, okay, enough about me. What’s one random fact about you?

Posted on October 7, 2009, in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. I love the idea to microwave Clif bars! That sounds awesome

  2. Ahhh those mocha oats look to die for! I saw the Starbies instant packets the other day, but didn’t see any reason for them. Now I do. =)

    I actually had some leftover coffee in my pot today and decided OVERNIGHT MOCHA OATS were in order. I basically did the same thing with some oikos, chocolate protein, oats and coffee. I threw in a little cocoa too. mmm. But your oat bran looks positive delicious.

  3. I must recreate that waffle topping! I haven’t ever tried coffee in my oats but I do love mocha. Maybe I should be more of an oat-risk-taker ;)

  4. I spent my last day at home cleaning because I figured it would be the last thing I feel like doing when I get back! Though my fridge is barren too…aside from a bottle of ketchup and as much as I love the stuff, I have a feeling I will want more to eat than that :)

    Random fact: My ‘big’ toe is shorter than the two next to it!

  5. Susan! I swear to goodness that I saved some coffee to make mocha oats for breakfast today, and here I see your post! I think we are on the same oat wavelength or something.

    Grocery shopping always seems bigger after a vacation, no matter how short :D
    I’d love to see you blonde!

    My random fact: I kept my last name when I got married.

  6. Those waffles look bomb! I will have to try those with whipped cottage cheese sub for ricotta :) I always forget about waffle wednesday, but I guess I can celebrate any day of the week. Hmmm…you are a natural blonde, but I am a natural redhead!

  7. That waffle look DIVINEEE :) Icing on top? Genius, my friend. Though I’m curious about the whole not liking ice-cream thing…? Thats so sad! But I think the fact that you played in a all-girl punk rock band is pretty awesome!

  8. One of my biggest To Do’s when I leave for vaca: CLEAN!! The last thing I want to do, besides unpack, is clean when I get home.

    WCMN Clif, Mocha oats, AND those waffles?! YUM!! My taste buds are slightly jealous right now!

    The Brats? Can my brat be your long lost mascot!? ;)

  9. I love that waffle topping! I’ve just recently found out the wonders of ricotta.. its so good!

  10. No ice cream?! Oh girl, send your ice cream my way!! And you reminded me about mocha oats way too late – already made my coffee! Darn!

  11. Hahah! I just informed Jodus a couple weeks ago that a pickle is a pickled cucumber! lol! Now every time we see a cucumber, I say, “Hu. That looks awfully like a pickle to me!” haha.

  12. I’ve been trying to find that Clif bar flavor too! I’m glad to hear it was good! Microwaving them is a great idea, I’ll have to give that a try!

  13. You are genius! I must try mocha oats!

    My daughter would be super impressed about your punk guitar days! She’s learning guitar now.

    Random fact: I’m quite conservative so most people are shocked to find out that I have 12 tattoos.

  14. LOL!! I was a synchronized swimmer too. Not a whole lot of us out there…

  15. The Brats?! That is too cute ;)

    I think I missed these mocha oats while I was away. This is the second blog I have spotted them on! What a great idea!

  16. Wow, great idea to put the coffee in the oats! Very nice, I wish there was a starbucks near me…well, there are but I’d have to drive 15 minutes away. But yet I have 500 dunkin donuts within walking distance of me *sigh*. Micowave clif bars sound devine.

  17. mmmm those mocha oats look amazing! so, how did you make them? ive seen them on Ks blog and now here and i wonder did you make the coffee first then use it instead of water? i have to try this. oh and i totally agree about coming home to a messy house! i have anxiety just thinking about my house right now.. it was already a mess and now with my dirty lake powell stuff it is really bad. AAHHH! anyway, that fish looks so good! and i blew it on waffle wednesday yesterday. bah.

    OHMYGOSH! your random facts! you are a blonde?! no way. FBF that business, now! and you dont like ice cream.. ahh. that is like the worst sin :P and you were in a band? that is AWESOME! i want to see some FBF of that as well!!

    random fact: i have geographic tongue.

    • Hey Janetha! I just dissolved the coffee in the water with my protein powder first, before turning up the heat and adding the oat bran. Although, I think you could just substitute brewed coffee with whatever water or milk you usually use.

      Oooh! Maybe a random fact flashback friday this week? Thanks for the idea!! :D

  18. i LOVE waffle wednesdays!

    m&m’s are everywhere!!! they were in my new issue of the ADA journal- apparently, Mars Co is going trans fat free among other healthier techniques.

    congrats on your award!!

    I love your random facts- I totally do the same thing with breakfast before anything almost!

    random- my minor in college was Modern and Classical Languages- Latin . I used to dream in latin…. all the time… i would think in latin too for awhile – it was weird.

  19. Mocha oats just sound so so good – I REALLY like the idea of those!
    I hate coming home to a messy/dirty house with a passion! I always try to clean before I leave – I’ve become a little beaver about it!
    Hmm random fact? I am half WELSH hence my crazy name (thanks dad) :)

  20. SUSANNNNN…i don’t know if i can ever forgive you for not liking ice cream, but that morning bowl of oatmeal loveliness makes up for some of it. i LOVE the idea of using those new starbucks vias in oatmeal. also, maple nut IS the best clif bar.

    you are redeemed :)

    Rando Fact: I am a descendant of Princess Diana’s family. I don’t lie. Obv you couldn’t tell because we look exactly alike :)

  21. i try to keep my house as clean as possible before going on vacation – makes coming back a little less harsh.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

