Low-Fat Chocolate Muffins

low-fat-chocolate-muffins

Good morning everyone! I’m Seth, and I write Boy Meets Food, a food blog dedicated to finding and perfecting recipes, as well as learning about ingredients, techniques, and sometimes even the history of different dishes/cuisines. I have a giveaway going on right now where I am offering LARABARs to 2 lucky winners. All you have to do to enter is leave a comment here. Seeing that our friend Susan, has a mild (and costly) addiction to chocolate Vitamuffins, I thought I might see about finding a cheaper, homemade alternative for her. I couldn’t find any recipes that I really liked that quite measured up to the nutritional data for the Vitamuffins, so I had to make my own. These were deliciously chococolate, and very healthy to boot! I used low-fat plain yogurt in mine (because that is what I had on hand), but if you replace that with fat-free vanilla yogurt, a pan of 12 muffins comes out to only 130 calories and 1.5g fat each. Low-Fat Chocolate Muffins

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup vanilla fat-free yogurt
  • 1/4 cup apple butter (don’t worry, you won’t taste it
  • 1/2 cup fat-free milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 400° and fill a muffin pan with cupcake liners. 2. Mix the first six ingredients in a large bowl or stand mixer. Note: If using an electric mixer, be sure to put it on the lowest speed at first, because the dry ingredients will want to fly out of the bowl. 3. Add the yogurt, apple butter, milk, and vanilla extract and mix well. 4. Pour the mixture into the cupcake liners, filling only about 3/4 of the way up the side. Top each muffin with approx. 7-8 chocolate chips. Place in the oven, and bake for about 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Prep Time: 10 minutes Cook Time: 15 minutes Servings: 12 Adapted from a recipe at Hershey’s Kitchen.

Posted on October 4, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Looks delicious! awesome blog, by the way!

  2. Chocolate anything = Yum!

  3. yum yum! This would fill my chocolate fix nicely :)

  4. What a fantastic recipe! Love the nutrtionals on these!

  5. Thanks Nicole. I hope you visit again to see more!

    J, yeah, the other recipes I found had too much fat (from using eggs and oil) or too much sugar. If you cut back on the chocolate chips on top, it would drop the calories even more. But, I wouldn’t take them out all the way, because I think a few are still needed for the taste.

  6. I share the Vita addiction so THANK YOU for the recipe :)

  7. Ohhhh, I’m SO trying this one. Vitamuffins are makin’ me poor!!

  8. I’ve never known the joy of vitamuffins so I can say, I’m not suffering from an addiction. But if I do ever become a victim, I’ll be making these (veganized of course)
    ^^

  9. these look delish and i need to check out your blog! thanks for the fab guest post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

