Lessons Learned and a New Set of Goals

Thank you so much for all your kind words regarding the passing of my wonderful kitty cat. I loved hearing about everyone’s pets too! Seems like pretty much everyone has had one at some point. Chris and I both grew up with miniature poodles and we both agree that we’ll need to get one when we’re in a house together someday. I seriously can’t wait!!

I had planned on doing a monthly round-up of sorts yesterday, seeing as it was the final day of September. I did this for the month of July and hoped to make it a monthly feature. Goshdarnit, it’s gonna happen!

So without further ado, here are the things I learned in September:

  • No matter what, family is always there for you when you need them most.
  • I LOVE exercise classes. Even step.
  • The blogging community is amazing. I really wish I could meet each and every one of you.
  • The best food really does come from the Farmer’s Market.
  • Living alone is awesome.
  • The only race that matters is the race against yourself.
  • When it comes to work, you have to follow both your heart and gut.
  • Macroeconomics can be applied to real life. Sometimes a cost-benefit analysis makes the answer very clear.
  • It’s okay not to like canned pumpkin.
  • I should never take my relationships with people for granted. I need to put the time in too.

Now, looking forward, I think it’s also important to set some goals for October:

  • Manage my time better so I get more out of my day.
  • Continue using my new tiny kitchen to the fullest.
  • Complete my first double-digit run
  • Do some freelance writing. Preferably paid.
  • Make a trip home.
  • Get the guts to take a Zumba class.
  • Be more social. Join groups and reconnect with those I’ve lost touch with.

Ahh…it feels so good to write all that out! I’m already failing on one of those goals though. I’d scheduled an 85 minute run for today. I was supposed to work this evening, giving me time to do it in the afternoon. Well, that changed. I worked 9-5 instead. When I got home, it was cold, windy and raining. Three things I can put up with separately, but didn’t sound appealing all together!

So I totally wimped out and went to the gym to run on the treadmill. The idea of 85 minutes on the treadmill depressed me, so I did 60 minutes instead. Varying the speed and incline a little, and covering about 6 miles overall. I haven’t spent that long on a treadmill since April!! I actually don’t mind it that much. It was just weird to have a belt underneath me. And my heart rate was much lower. Unlike my usual long runs though, I didn’t take any walk breaks.

And just so you know that I’m still eating…

100_8385

Half of the open-faced ricotta, lettuce and tomato sandwich I packed for lunch.

Those happen to be some of the only fresh ingredients I have in my fridge. So I basically had the same combo for dinner…

100_8387

Ricotta and tomato omelette. Both were quite good! I’d never had a ricotta sandwich before, and it was darn tasty. I usually don’t buy ricotta because it’s so expensive, but I picked it up for a recipe I never ended up making. Some day!

Now I must be off to get ready for my trip to Windsor/Detroit! I’m flying out tomorrow, and coming back Tuesday. I don’t imagine I’ll be using a lot of the computer, so I have four wonderful guest posts that will be going up. Seriously – you do not want to miss these! I’ll be back Tuesday with all the fun stuff we were up to! Have a great weekend!!

Question of the day: What did you learn in September? What are your goals for October?

Posted on October 1, 2009, in Health, Lessons Learned and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. wow! you’re so mapped out
    interesting to see it
    crystal clear thinking…

    Thank You for your post, my condolences about your cat, Good Luck with Your goals, and Cheers! :)

  2. Have a super trip! Maybe you should search for Chai Luna bars when in Detroit :D

    In September I learned that are some things better not stressed over.

    In October, I am going to be like you and try to make the most productive use of my time during the day.

  3. That’s a great and exhaustive list you have! Very organized!

    I learned in September that I don’t have to count calories and the world won’t cave in. October, I’m going to need to find a balance between the blog-world and “real” life. Love me my blogosphere, but the time suck is really getting wild! :-D

  4. Those are incredible things to have learnt, and your goals for October are awesome!

    In October, I plan to run my first race. In September, I learnt that I really love oatmeal :)

  5. I learned that positive thinking is one of my most powerful life tools!

  6. In September I learned that time passes way too quickly, because where the hell did September go?

    Have fun on your trip!

  7. Have a great trip!

    I’ve returned to the treadmill for more of my runs lately because of the weather and the fact that it gets dark so darn early.

    In September, I’ve learned that Grade 1 is a lot of work and I really have to manage my time well now that school is back in session :(

  8. I love recap posts and goal lists :D Hehe. I learned a lot on September…the most important being that no matter how lonely I feel, there are always people ‘out there’ who care and have been through similar or can relate on some level. Most of October is going to be spent in NY so my goal is to have fun and not sweat the small stuff.

    I am so low on food right now it’s ridiculous- I gave up photographing because every.single.meal has been some sort of muesli combination. I don’t even have yogurts…so sad :( lol. I don’t think I’ve ever succesfully (and intentionally) run my food stash so low- I usually cave and panic buy things!

  9. I agree with so many of the things you learned in September. Especially about family always being there.

    In September I learned that it’s okay to admit when something isn’t working for me and that it’s okay to ask for help once in a while.

    In October I hope to continue making smart choices and really focus on spending quality time with my husband. Our lives get so busy it’s easy to take eachother for granted.

    Have a great trip!

  10. April (Foods of April)

    Have a great trip!!

    Your goals sound awesome! I think I’m going to try to listen to my body more considering my legs have been really achy from all of the exercise!

    And I’m going to copy you with that ricotta sandwich :D

  11. I learned that sticking my neck out so much at work doesn’t always garner more praise or thanks. I’ve decided to me more assertive and speak up when I’m being asked to do things that really aren’t my responsibility. I’m done getting thrown under the bus!

    October – I’m going to slow down and do more things around my house with my family. September was beyond hectic. I’m going to roast a prime rib, bake apple crisp and brine a turkey. I’m going to decorate the front step for Thanksgiving/Halloween, do Fall crafts with my kids and take a walks to see the leaves change colours. I need to enjoy the stuff in front of me and not always worry so far in advance about pleasing others.

    Have a safe trip. It’s raining cats and dogs here today, so fingers crossed for no delays…

  12. Try Zumba. I did a few days ago and survived! Trust me there is absolutely no way you could do worse than I did!

    Things I learned in September: More responsible grocery shopping saves money because we don’t dine out as much, that I can make homemade bread, and that blogging is fun. In October my goals are to enjoy the outdoors before it’s way too cold and to make healthier food choices.

    Have a safe and fun trip! :)

  13. Great reflection and goals!! I hope you guys get a pupper-bean soon :)

    I think ricotta is the ONLY cheese I’ve never tried! It always sounds fantastic though – love your sandwich rendition!

    YAY for D-town!! I hope you have a blast this weekend despite the craptacular weather we’re supposed to get!

  14. HAVE A FABULOUS VACAY SUSAN!

    enjoy your time off and eat lots of good stuff so we can see it when you get back :)

  15. I love all your goals! I am scared to try Zumba as well! Even though I love pretty much every other class at the gym. I think it’s the dancing. It makes me self conscious. Ugh.
    The very idea of canned pumpkin freaks me out so I am with ya there…
    Also, ugh on the cold, wind and rain. That was my life yesterday morning. Treadmills suck to me.
    What did I learn in September? That buying organically and as locally as possible is more expensive but worth the money. And that I like baking.
    Goal for October? LISTEN to the pains and aches in my body and run accordingly. Reassess my workout plans for the winter and save some moolah!

    Have an amazing time!

  16. I love your lessons/goals list. :-) For October:

    1. Stay on top of my readings and studying.
    2. Say YES! Just enjoy life and don’t get held back by anything.
    3. Stay organized and clean my room.
    4. Enjoy each and every moment :-)

  17. in september i learned that i can be around my husband 24/7 without killing him. in october i will learn to readjust to life without him (he goes back to work)

  18. Hi Susan!
    I am so sorry to hear about your kitty :( The first experience I had with the death of a pet was when I was 8 years old with my beloved cat Pearl. I was never the same with animals after she died (the day before XMas Eve). I haven’t allowed myself to get too close to a cat since then.
    In September I learned about compromise. Usually in difficult situations, there has got to be a compromise somewhere!

  1. Pingback: Onward and Forward « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Things I Learned – January « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

