Fant – ab – ulous

Hello!! Hope you all had fantabulous weekends :) I always feel so weird writing weekend posts, because I’m speaking to people who mostly had the days off. But I’m smack middle in my work week!

It was a slow news day, my only assignment was to clean the newsroom. Wow. I don’t think it’s been cleaned since the introduction of computers…

I came home tired and hungry, so I decided to satisfy my hunger first. With a parfait!

100_8218

I don’t like wine, so it was nice to find a use for my wine glasses :)

It had a blueberry bran vitamuffin, peanut butter, blueberry jam and yogurt.

100_8227

Baaahhh, soooo good!! I just sort of plopped little bits of PB and jam as I layered the muffin and yogurt. Every bite was different and delicious!

Then I promptly passed out for two hours. These early morning shifts still really tucker me out. My body just can’t get used to them!

After navigating my way out of a post-nap fog (and a banana), I went to the gym. Weekend afternoons at the gym are so chill. It’s so easy to just whittle away my day playing around on the equipment. Actually, that’s exactly what I did :P

It’s been a while since I did some serious core work, so I wrote down ab circuits to do, inspired by April’s total core workout.

100_8248

I’m a total nerd and often bring cheat sheets to the gym with me. If I’m trying out new moves, I’ll write down descriptions so I don’t flub up and get the form wrong!

Anyways, here’s what I did:

  • 15 minutes on the elliptical, increasing resistance every 2 minutes
  • Middle ab circuit (x3)
  • 10 minutes on the rowing machine
  • Oblique circuit (x3)
  • 10 minutes on the stepmill, increasing then decreasing speed
  • Challenge ab moves
    • two 90-second planks
  • 10 minutes running on the treadmill, increasing speed every 2 minutes
  • 5 minutes walking on treadmill

With stretching after, I was at the gym for over an hour and a half! Whoops.

I was staaaarving by the time I got home. So I just threw a bunch of stuff in the oven so it would be ready for when I got out of the shower :)

100_8234

I covered some tofu in teriyaki sauce and black sesame seeds.

100_8236
Then some green beans, mushrooms and onions with a little Bragg’s.

100_8241

Deeeelicious!! My favourite parts were actually the mushrooms and onions. They make such a mean combo when cooked!

I’m still pretty hungry though. This was eaten at 7pm, and my “lunch” was at 10am, with a couple snacks and a long ass workout in between. I find I need a substantial meal every few hours. Now I feel like I just can’t get satisfied!

Well that wraps it up for me. Regardless of my afternoon coma, I’m still exhausted! I want to be nice and chipper for my step class tomorrow. Ohthatsright. I’m going back!

Question(s) of the day:

1. What’s your favourite time to go to the gym? Definitely love my weekend afternoons! I used to go on Friday nights which was a lot of fun. My least fave is after work. It’s when it’s the busiest and just seems like no one wants to be there.

2. What are some of your favourite ab moves? I used to hate the plank, but I love challenging myself with it now. I also really like the Pilates “roll up.”

See ya tomorrow!

Posted on September 27, 2009, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. April (Foods of April)

    Awesome workout!! I’m so happy your inspired by my ab work haha! I always write out routines too.. I feel kind of dumb bringing around a piece of paper but it keeps me from being lazy! I love how you broke up your cardio.. I’m going to try that!

  2. Great workout! Long time at the gym, though. Sometimes the time goes by so fast.

    I really like the early morning 7am time. My gym is very uncrowded at that time. Sometimes I am the only one there for the first 15-20 minutes! I don’t like afternoons as all the preeners are there. Ick.

    I pretty much stopped doing ab exercises except for planks, although I know wood chops are good for abs and I like those.

  3. Your breakfast is making me crave jam!
    1. I am a morning workout person–ONLY in the AM for me!
    2. I really like planks with glute flexion. Killer!

  4. i’ve gotta go to the gym first thing in the morning – i’ve got a real mental block about going any other time!

  5. Ah, I feel bad, Susan, but I can’t answer an of your questions…I hate gyms, and I don’t like ab workouts! Haha, I am so impossible!

    But anyway, that tofu actually looks really good, and I’m a tofu-hater, too! Gosh, I am full of hate today!

  6. Fantabulous post indeed :P
    That parfait looks delish! Anything with peanut butter makes my day. (I love PB+jellying everything!) and that tofu teriyaki looks amazing! I’m really bad with tofu (which is pretty ironic, being vegan and all) but this one looks terrific; just the way they make it in my favourite japanese restaurant!

    I love going to the gym in the mornings, when no one else is there but I go to school, so I can’t ever do that (especially cause the gyms here don’t open till 10 in the morning), but otherwise, I like the afternoons.
    My favourite ab work out is the sit-up… it’s the only one I know :P

    xx

  7. honestly, I prefer the mid afternoon for a gym workout – main reason… it’s empty! No gross sweaty guys hanging all over the quipment – loved the dinner by the way, think I might try that Braggs trick soon :)

  8. After having my daughter, I did knee lifts and reverse crunches to tighten my belly. They did the trick.

  9. Ugh, I hate the gym, but I guess I like to go around 9am on weekdays (which, at gyms on college campuses like mine, is very UN-crowded).
    I love April’s workout- I might have to check it out. Oooh, and I love doing planks too, but my fave ab move is jack-knives.
    Have a great week :)

  10. It sounds like you got a great workout in with some amazing eats! I practice yoga regularly, since starting… I don’t need to do many ab exercises.

  11. I am so obsessed with mushrooms and onions right now- I never post it, but every night for the past 3-4 months my dinner has been accompanied with a plate of roasted mushrooms, onions and broccoli. SOOOOOOO good. I can’t get enough! Lol. Worse addictions to have ;)

    1. What’s your favourite time to go to the gym? mornings!

    2. What are some of your favourite ab moves? plank! does that count as an ab move? I like crunches too :D

  12. Between that parfait and that dinner, I’m in love. Can I marry your meals?! ;)

    I think that’s smart that you right down the moves! Having the wrong form can cause injuries so smart thinking, lady!!

    1. AM for sure!
    2. http://www.ehow.com/video_2360106_reverse-crunch-exercise-balance-ball.html I didn’t listen to what he was saying but that’s the form my trainer had me do, HOWEVER she had me lift my booty in the air so I was in a V form – I love that exercise!

  13. Um, how can you not like wine? I’m sorry. We can’t be friends any more.

    Haha, I kid.

    1) AM but it hasn’t been possible lately.
    2) stuff with the physio balls.

  14. 1. The best gym times for me are Friday or Saturday evenings and Sunday afternoons. Almost no one is there. Sadly I always end up there around 6 on weekdays when everyone is there!

    2. Jack-knives.

    Don’t feel bad, I only like super sweet dessertish wines…not “real” wine! lol!

  15. Ha Ha! I write down my moves too. My gym bag is seriously littered with crumpled up post its :) I vastly prefer a morning workout to any other time of the day. My gym is pretty empty, except for the regulars and I get to watch the Today show. I will even get up early on the weekends and go if I need to.

  16. I love putting food in wine glasses!

    1. What’s your favourite time to go to the gym? The morning, for sure

    2. What are some of your favourite ab moves? Planks… they’re so hard but they work!

  17. Mmm, that dinner looks amazing.

    If I’ve managed to get to bed early the night before I really love to go early to the gym….5am. I know, I’m psycho – but I just loving getting my workout out of the way and having the rest of the day without a workout looming over my head.

  18. hahah. i love your title. you are such a word geek like me :) dude, that is what i use my wine glasses for too! no shame! although i do want to get a proper parfait glass. LOVE going to the gym on sundays. especially since i live in mormon country and nobody does anything sundays so it is super dead there! and i also love going friday nights, i went just barely and it was glorious. your workout looked really fun though, worth the time spent! fave ab moves include reverse crunches and lower abs on decline bench. have a great day m’lady!

  19. I love going to the gym on the weekends too! It’s so un-crowded, and unlike in the morning, I usually don’t have to rush so if I want to spend an hour and a half there, I can! Thanks for posting those ab moves, I’ll have to save that page :-) it’s hard to do abs without a set routine, I think.

  20. My favorite time is Saturday and Sunday mornings. I get there by 8 and I’m out soon there after! Then I have the whole rest of the day to do chores and/or relax. During the week I go after work, but I used to love going in the mornings when I had an after work obligation.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

