Daily Archives: September 19, 2009

This n’ That

Hey! Before I get into things, don’t forget to check out my first video post if you haven’t watched it yet! ;) The funny part is, after going through all that breakfast cookie business on film, I didn’t even take a picture of it this morning! I do however have some fun new products I’ve been eating that I wanted to share :)

First up, soy nut butter.

100_7946
I looooove plain roasted soy nuts, so why not soy nut butter? I had it on a wasa cracker today with some cinnamon and raisins.

100_7951

I’m not a huge fan of the nut butter plain, but it’s really good on things! Overall though, I think I still like my soy nuts plain and roasted, and not from a creamy jar ;)

Product numero deux…

100_7953

Aaahhhh!!! A new kind of VitaMuffins!!! Blueberry bran to be exact. Ooohh, Vita, why must you continue to deliciously steal my money?

I enjoyed it my favourite way to eat blueberry muffins – toasted with some earth balance spread – paired with new product find number three!

100_7959

Old cheddar cheese strings! I lovelovelove old cheese (or, I think you American’s call it “sharp cheddar,” which I guess sounds more pleasant). But I stopped eating it because of the calories, blah blah blah. Well now it’s back in my life in a convenient single serving package :)

All together now…

100_7962

This actually served as the perfect post-workout snack. I hit up the gym for a little pre-10k race sesh:

  • 20 minutes intervals on the elliptical
  • 10 minutes on the rowing machine
  • 10 minutes on the stepmill
  • alternating sets of the horizontal woodchop and weighted back extension
  • 10 minutes of various plank poses

It looks like a lot, but I took it fairly easy. I just wanted to get the blood flowing. It was also my first time on the stepmill!

I keep it no secret that I looooaaathe the stairmaster. I would run a marathon on a treadmill before putting any time in on the stairmaster. So I had pretty low expectations for this. I figured I’d just jump on for 10 minutes for the hell of it. Thing is, I really liked it! It took a lot of concentration not to fall off, but I thought the movement was really fun. Yay for new machine finds! :)

After the gym (and my snack) I got to work on making a feast for Chris and I. I should preface this by saying that my city is obsessed with samosas. Seriously, every corner store and restaurant sells samosas. People will stand in line outside for an hour, in the dead of winter, just to get their hands on the farmer’s market samosas. I swear, some people probably start foaming at the mouth at the thought of them!

Anyways, so when I saw a samosa recipe in the Moosewood cookbook, I knew I had to make it. Regardless of it being a little more complicated than recipes I generally cook, I just had to try my hand at this “local” favourite!

I made some coleslaw from the cookbook as well, and Chris brought the beer ;)

100_7965

We also had some plum sauce and ranch dressing for dipping.

My plate:

100_7972

The coleslaw was a mix of cabbage, carrots, apples, yogurt, lemon juice and a small amount of mayo.

The samosa recipe was vegetarian, but both Chris and I prefer chicken ones. So I added some pulled chicken breast to the potato, pea, onion and cayenne filling.

100_7974

To my amazement, they tasted really good! I was kinda scared of the crust, as I don’t do “doughs” very well. I bought white flour specifically for this recipe because I didn’t know what difference using whole wheat would make. Next time I’ll give the wheat flour as try, because I’m definitely making these again!!

Happy bellies :)

100_7975

Chris has decided to go biking tomorrow afternoon instead of doing the race with me (pffft). But he said he’ll come out for a 5k practice run with me when he’s home next weekend :)

As for me, I’m starting to get excited for the 10k! Technically, the sprint triathlon I did in July is the “longest” race I’ve ever done. But tomorrow’s 10k will be my longest running distance in a race. I know I can hammer the distance out no prob, it’s just going to be weird running in a race for such a long period! Start time isn’t till 11am, so at least no huge stress to get up early, and the weather is supposed to be peachy :)

Aaand finally – go check out my guest post over at Meals and Moves!! It’s all about how I got started with weight lifting :)

See ya tomorrow for the race recap!

Video Post!! The Breakfast Cookie

It finally uploaded!! (10 hours later :P) So I present you with my first ever video post on how to make a chocolate macaroon breakfast cookie. Basically one of my favourite foods ever :) I forgot to say it in the video – but I did not invent the breakfast cookie! It’s the genius creation of the lovely Fitnessista. Her original recipe can be found here. My adapted recipe for what’s in the video can be found here.

I also ask you to pretend as if there is no dirty laundry hamper behind me in the video :P

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers