Happy Baby

Hey blog friends! Is it just me or is this week going by sloooow… Chris and I actually just booked a trip to Windsor, Ont. for the first of October! His best friend lives there and I’ve never been! Anyone have any suggestions on things to do/places to visit in the Windsor-Detroit area?

Back to the present day, it was an active rest day for me. Which means no morning workout and extra time to enjoy my breakfast :)

100_7850

My best bowl of oats ever.

  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate whey powder
  • half a banana
  • shredded coconut
  • chocolate chips
  • peanut butter

*drooooool* This bowl kept me full for a long time too!

My morning was spent with my tuckus on a court bench. I was back at the office for the usual lunchtime fare.

100_7854

Pita! I mashed up one can of sardines in a mustard sauce with a laughing cow cheese wedge and capers, and stuffed in a pita with a couple slices of Montreal smoked beef, tomato, zucchini, cucumber and romaine.

Carrot sticks on the side!

100_7855

Crunch crunch crunch.

I got off work early so I came home and started working on food for tomorrow. I’m working 1-10pm, so I thought it would be nice to have a meal ready so I wouldn’t have to worry about it. You’ll have to wait till tomorrow to see though, they’re completely new dishes for me from the Moosewood Cookbook ;)

Tonight’s dinner also featured something new!

100_7858

A yuca!! According to Mr. Wikipedia this is also called a cassava root. It’s high in calcium and Vitamin C, but pretty low in protein and other nutrients.

The exterior is thick and waxy. I was surprised when I cut into it that it’s raw texture was a lot like a coconut, and smelled like one too!

I made it into fries, spraying it in some olive oil and barbecue seasoning then baking at 400 F for 25 minutes.

100_7862

These were SO good! Seriously. Butternut squash has a new rival! Baked, they were thick on the outside, and mushy on the inside. A little more dense and starchy tasting than potatoes. They held up really, really well, unlike many other fry substitutes I’ve tried. I also had an old-school egg salad sandwich with mayo and some beet slices (hint to tomorrow’s dinner!).

Afterwards I went to the BodyFlow class at my gym where I spent a lot of time like this:

Okay, maybe I don’t look quite as cute in happy baby pose. But I love it!

As I’ve mentioned before, my gym, GoodLife Fitness, is the only gym in Canada that offers Les Mills fitness classes. Les Mills is a New Zealand athlete/fitness instructor/businessman who designed a line of pre-choreographed fitness classes used at gyms around the world. The routines are designed around the same music, and then changed every four months along with some new tunes.

The BodyFlow class is a mix of tai chi, yoga and pilates. All classes, while changing every few months, follow the same format, which can be found on the website:

  1. Tai chi warm-up
  2. Sun salutations
  3. Yoga standing strength
  4. Balances
  5. Hip openers
  6. Core work
  7. Twists and forward bends
  8. Relaxation and meditation

At first, I was really skeptical about doing the same classes over and over, and to cheesy music. But I love it! This class in particular is the perfect mix of poses and moves for me. The music is actually really well timed and suited to what we’re doing.

I’ve already decided that I want to try out all the classes that are offered at my gym. This week I’ll also be doing BodyPump and BodyStep. I’m excited!! (and slightly scared I may break my nose on a step :P )

What’s your favourite group fitness class? Least favourite? My fave is still spin class, but I’m a yoga convert now too :)

Time to hit the sack! I’ve got an early morning “business meeting” and a long-ish run to do before work tomorrow! G’night!

Posted on September 15, 2009, in Health, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. I’ve never eaten yuca root. Is it basically like a carrot texture with a potato taste?

  2. The week IS going by so slow! Ok, yuca root looks pretty cool. Is anything bad in fry form, though? ;)

    Favorite group classes are body sculpting or cardio kickboxing. Least favorite is STEP! I am so uncoordinated that I don’t even get a workout!

  3. Yay for vacation! Never been to Canada, but if you come to England and go to Windsor, there is an awesome fudge store, Windsor Castle and some cool boat rides. Oh, and an amazing dungeon :D I vote change your flights!

    Can’t wait to see what comes out of the Moosewood book! Yuka sounds good- I’ve seen it in a couple of places here and am tempted- is it hard to cut? I can’t get butternut squashes because my knives aren’t sharp enough :(

    Favourite group classes- dance, dance and more dance :D

  4. I’ll need to try the Yuca now that I have a way to prepare it. Sounds great! :D I’ve always wanted to buy the funny looking root vegetable everytime I pass by it, but have always been intimidated by it. ;)

  5. This week is crawling by for me too. I love the picture of the baby at the end. I bet you looked that happy!

    I’m so jealous of your upcoming vacation. How fun for you!

  6. I’m so excited I’m jumping in my ergonomic chair. I seriously couldn’t believe my eyes when I read your blog this morning…you are coming to my “hood”!! If you want to email me I can give you suggestions on things to do on both sides of the border. Do you have a valid passport? You’ll need one to cross over to Detroit and I would suggest that you do. It’s not as dark and dangerous as everyone makes it out to be. There are terrific things to see over there. I think that’s what makes Windsor so nice…we can live here in our happy little haven of Canadian safety and then when we want all the conveniences of a major US city, it’s at our doorstep. Literally.

    I also wanted to tell you that I always love your pitas. I have pita envy. On Saturday I tried to make a pita for lunch and while doing so, I was trying to make it look like one of yours. It tasted good, but it looked nowhere as yummy as yours always seem to. Must practice more, I guess.

  7. Got so excited with the Windsor thing that I forgot to add that my favorite classes were always Body Pump, when I was a member at Good Life. I miss attending those. Now I go to another gym and I love the TRX classes. So challenging!

  8. April (Foods of April)

    Holy cow that oatmeal looks amazing!! And I really need to try a yuca! It’s our state flower haha!

    My favorite class is definitely kickboxing.. least would probably be hmm.. I like them all actually!!

  9. If you do go cross over into the USA, I’d recommend Greek Town in Detroit. It’s tourist-friendly and there are some really good restaurants there. If you’re in the mood for pizza, I’d try Pizzapapalis, or I’ve always really liked Pegasus (Greek). We used to go to Windsor all the time when I was a kid, and then then when I turned 18, we went there since the drinking age was lower, but I haven’t been there in 10 years! I’m sure you’ll have a great time no matter what!

  10. This week is soooooo dragging.

  11. SHOOT! I’ll email you in .2 seconds – sorry!

    Prepping food ahead of time is a lifesaver!! Can’t wait to see what you made :)

  12. My favorite exercise class is definately kickboxing. I have a love/hate relationship with spinning but I usually go once a week or so. I do not do step aerobics or anything dancy due to terrible coordination issues.

    I love the thought of having a meal ready as soon as I get home. Especially on late gym days! This is where my crockpot comes in handy!

  13. I’ll be honest… I found the title a little shocking… :P

  14. I have seen the yucca root, I need to try it. Those fries look good.

    I have only driven through Windsor on my way to to upstate NY. As far as Detroit, bring $10 and you could probably pick up a house. :D

    • HA! The only way I’m moving to the States is if I find a place with a Whole Foods and Trader Joes next door :P

      Yes! Try yuca! It would make an awesome Great Veggie Experiment :)

  15. hahahha.. ok so dont read the ingredients of your bowl and just look at the photo. it looks like refried beans (chocolate oats), rice (coconut) and melted cheddar (PB). i was like what did susan make for breakfast?! anyway, haha.. sounds like the new gym is really giving you your moneys worth! i don’t usually do classes, i wish my gym offered cool ones like body pump. but i really am wanting to do a spinning class and start going to pilates again!

  16. Hey girl heeey! I am glad you have come around to Les Mills…you also introduced me to the fact that that is what the classes I go to at the Y are based on so thanks! I always thought they were YMCA-branded!
    I love Body Pump!! Hope you like it! It is such a good work out and I always feel so strong (if wobbly) afterwards. I am also a big Step fan but I haven’t been for ages. I am a yoga convert too – we are totally work out twins!

  17. wow those oats do look amazing – do you add the chocolate powder at the end?

    • Hey Lynn! Nope, I add it at the beginning. I mix my cold water, oats and protein powder together at the beginning, then put in on the stovetop, or in the microwave if it’s instant. I find it gets chunky if you stir it at the end rather than letting it dissolve in the water first.

  18. I was just looking at Yuca root today at Sobeys – but they had funny soft spots on them and I envisioned them completely rotten on the inside or something. What should they feel like if you’re buying one? Firm? Soft? Anything to look for?

    As for favorite group class, I will sound like a total dork or little old woman, but I really LOVE aquasize classes. LOL

    • Hey Dee, definitely no soft spots! Firm like a potato I guess :) I find you always have to be careful when buying less common produce, sometimes it goes bad while still in the store.

  19. Dang – how do you get the PB to melt like that over the oats?! Like frosting!!! I need to pick up a yucca next time at the store. You peel it, right?

    I love bootcamp type classes because they work you HARD! And I just have no motivation to do that type of stuff on my own ever.

  1. Pingback: Blog Updates! « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

