Daily Archives: September 12, 2009

Walkabout

Hellooo… How is everyone’s weekend going? Mine started with work. At 5am. I spent so long going through old pics for Flashback Friday last night that I didn’t have time to prepare a breakfast cookie! So I microwaved oats at work instead…

100_7728

One packet of President’s Choice multigrain instant oats, 1 cup water, 2 tbsp soy protein powder, cinnamon, shredded coconut, 4 dates, cashew butter. Oats never keep me full on these early mornings for some reason. My tummy was growling less than two hours later. Ohhh the mystery that is my tummy…

Lunch was also microwaved.

100_7731

Campbell’s herbed chicken with brown rice. I “beefed” it up with some leftover tofu from last night.

100_7732
And then some watermelon. 

100_7737

x10

It was a crazy busy morning. One of those mornings where I found myself running down the hallways and reading newscasts out of breath. Ahhh…deadlines. I did however find time to scoot on over to the market and get a bounty of goods!!

100_7742

  • Romaine
  • Cucumber
  • Tomatoes
  • Beets
  • Purple “green” beans (purple beans just sounds weird…)
  • Cabbage
  • Potatoes
  • sliced Smoked Montreal beef
  • Cabbage roll

Despite all my wonderful fresh food, I was having a major hankering for chocolate. So I snacked on a chocolate chocolate chip crisp Myoplex bar.

100_7745

100_7748

Well, it was definitely chocolatey! I found it was a little dry and mega rich, but still good. The cinnamon flavour is still my fave!

Oh, and I also had the world’s gooey-est fig.

100_7752

Bursting with yumminess!! I wish I could find fresh figs around here, I’m curious as to what they taste like…

I’m running a 5k race tomorrow, so I wanted to keep my exercise today light. I opted for a walk downtown so I could pick some stuff up. The weather was gorgeous!

Wanna come with?

100_7754

I started on the trail across the street…

100_7757

And continued along the river…

100_7762

Until I got downtown.

100_7766

Passed a few familiar buildings, like the courthouse where I spend many days reporting.

100_7767

And city hall, where many late nights are spent covering council.

100_7769

Then it was off to Victory Meat Market.

100_7771
 
Ironically, I was there to pick up some of their cheap fruit! :P

100_7773

Cantaloupes for 99 cents. Suh-weet deal.

Then it was off to the Running Room in search of some Gu.

100_7775

Luckily, I got there just as they were closing, otherwise I would have easily dropped money I don’t have on expensive running gear :P

And my final stop before making the trek back home was Second Cup.

100_7776

I wanted something to quench my thirst, so I got myself a little treat.

100_7777

Sugar-free strawberry Italian soda. Basically sucralose in club soda :P

The other wonderful thing about the river route, is there are gorgeous homes on the other side of the road.

100_7779

I’m partial to this one because I have extended family that used to live there. It’s beautiful (and huge) inside.

And then home!

100_7782

Overall I covered about 5 miles (8 km) in two hours. Much longer than planned. I live an extra 15 minute walk from my old place, I forgot to factor that in!

I was starving by the time I got home. It’d been a long time since my 10am “lunch.” I threw together a meal made up of my market goodies.

100_7791

Haha, that cabbage roll looks so gnarly, but it was delicious! It was filled with rice and ground beef. Bought from my favourite Lebanese stand :) There’s also a cucumber salad made up of just cucumber, yogurt, lemon juice, garlic and dill.

Finally, the green stuff! Those are the greens from my beets!! I couldn’t just cut them off and throw them away, especially since there was so much. So I cooked it my favourite way to eat greens, sauteed with garlic, olive oil and parmesan. It was delicious. I couldn’t really distinguish a huge difference from spinach. It’s maybe a little less “tough” and didn’t dry my mouth out like spinach always does.

Dessert!

100_7792

Dates + cashew butter. This is a combo that was just meant to be. I don’t know what it is but the two flavours compliment each other perfectly, more than peanut or almond butter!

I’m starting to get pumped for my race tomorrow! I kinda feel like a huge loser because I’m doing it all alone. But it’s at 2pm, and I work till 12pm, so I figured I might as well go run it seeing as I’m always working during the morning races. I don’t have any huge expectations as I’ll likely be sleep deprived and coming off a full day of work. I just want to go run my little bottom off and have a good time! :D

See ya for the recap tomorrow!!

Question of the day: What’s your favourite kind of “ethnic” food? I’ll gobble up anything Greek, Lebanese or Moroccan. Yum!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers