Fibre Tarts

Hello friends! I’m currently sprawled on my couch. The extra morning shift this weekend tuckered me out! Thankfully, I am now officially on my “weekend.” I’ve got Tuesday and Wednesday off. First order off business – sleep. And then maybe spend tomorrow morning in bed watching the Today Show. It’s tough, I know ;)

I have a wonderful kitchen experiment I must share. I shall name them fibre tarts. Sounds appetizing, no? :P

I started off by grinding 1 1/2 cups Fibre 1 cereal in my coffee grinder with some cinnamon.

100_7559

Then I stirred in 1 tbsp Earth Balance spread, 2 egg whites, 3 tbsp unsweetened vanilla almond breeze and a squirt of honey.

I mixed up some fresh blueberries and blackberries with some honey and about 1/2 tbsp lemon juice.

100_7561

For the “crust,” I took the Fibre 1 mixture and pressed into onto the sides of a greased muffin pan. I baked it first for about 20 minutes at 350 F.

100_7565
Add berry mix and bake for another 15 minutes.

I was pleasantly surprised by how well the Fibre 1 crust held up!

100_7571

100_7572

I let them cool off and saved it for an evening snack. I of course, slathered yogurt and pumpkin spice on top.

100_7578

100_7583

Major yums!! Not bad for a healthy dessert if I do say so myself ;)

There were some other notable eats at work as well. A bum plum.

100_7554

It had two pits!!

And prune yogurt.

100_7551

Anyone ever see the Activia prune flavour before? This was inspired by that. It sat in the fridge overnight and got soft and sweet. It was so good. Try it!

I also did my weekly 5k run after work today. Instead of my usual path in the woods, I took the route downtown. So weird to run in a populated area! It was a mix of sidewalk and gravel trail too, so it was nice to switch up my surface.

I didn’t push my speed that much and still managed to do it in 27:41. Yay! I’m doing the 5k portion of the Terry Fox Run next weekend. I’m wondering if I can get below 27 minutes? Something to shoot for I guess! :)

Oh, and I want to thank you all for your wonderful plant suggestions. Not! Haha, kind of made me feel better about my plant ineptness :) Lori was the only one with a green thumb and had great suggestions. Not surprisingly, as her wonderful garden photos are always gracing the pages of her blog :)

Anyways, I’m a Starvin’ Marvin today. Don’t know what’s up. Think I’ll make some popcorn and continue the couch sprawling while watching “Center Stage” on TV for the gazillionth time. Whatevs, I’m on my weeekeeend!!! :D

Hope you enjoyed yours!

Posted on September 7, 2009, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Yum, yum, yum! Those tarts look divine!!

    I bet you could at least to sub 27:30 if not less for your 5K!

  2. Those tarts look divine!!
    <3 jess

  3. Those tarts (especially with the yogurt) look BUENO!! I love them!

    I feel like I’m the only one who hasn’t seen Center Stage! I should watch it!

  4. Haha, I love Center Stage! Good choice. Enjoy your weekend–catch up on sleep!

  5. A Siamese plum! Cool!

    Those tarts look absolutely fabulous, and now I have to try them. *sigh* I like food too much. I have tonnes of blueberries in my freezer though, and this could be an excellent use. I need a food processor or something though. Maybe my blender would work. Hmmmmmm…

    My family’s going to find it super strange when I start asking for cooking things for Christmas and birthdays. So unlike me.

    Hey, have you ever found Greek yogurt in Atlantic Canada? Where do I find that stuff/what are Canadian brands? I see it on tonnes of healthy blogs, and would like to try it. I have a friend who has been looking for some too.

    • Dee, a blender would definitely work! Or you could even put the cereal in a bag and smash your frustrations out on it with a rolling pin ;)

      Do not even get me started on my Greek yogurt woes… I secretly think the Maritimes has banned it from ever coming anywhere near us. I’ve been meaning to make some, but I hate the idea of paying for a full tub, straining it, and ending up with half the yogurt :(

  6. Those tarts look awesome! And so cute :)

  7. susan! holy yum! that is the greatest creation, those berries look amazing and i love the topping. i have got to make these, my brother has a ton of fresh blackberries ripe for the picking in his yard right now. and i love the way you spell fiber! awesome job on the run, can’t wait to see how the 5k goes. xoxo

  8. Those tarts look AMAZING esp with that “icing”. You should totally post this on Healthyyum!

  9. That’s pretty inventive! The fiber tarts look delish!

  10. Those tarts are SUCH a great idea! I’m racking my brains trying to think of a cereal I can buy here that will be similar. Seriously, just genius.

    Center Stage–haven’t seen that in years! I was obsessed with that movie at one point. I need to watch it again :) Hope you had a nice night!

  11. Those sound awesome! I am going to try a twist on this later… :D ENJOY your days off!

  12. Huzzah for those fiber tarts! Oh my god, they look so frickin good. Want. Now.
    Nice work on the 5K running lady. Go for that sub-27 minute goal!!

    Yay for you getting a weekend (finally!) – enjoy lounging around…

  13. LOVE those tarts! such a good idea!

    you relax and enjoy your “weekend”!

  14. ha – i love that two pit plum….i’m guilty of having watched “center stage” a million times too, when i was prepping to play a ballet dancer – i studied their walks…

  15. LOVE Center Stage. Haven’t watched it in forever…but I might have to change that. No shame in my game :-)

  16. What a wonderful idea to use the cereal as the base! You are very creative, and they look awesome!

  1. Pingback: An Indian Feast « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

