Daily Archives: September 4, 2009

Flashback Friday

Guess what day it is!? Flashback Friday!! Yay!!

This is a little thing Janetha started, where we share old photos for fun. This week I’ll demonstrate my long time obsession with photographing food, even before I started blogging.

Exhibit A: Bobbing for lost mushrooms in fondue.

100_1854

Exhibit B: Annual birthday deep-fried ice cream

100_1863

Exhibit C: Family at Christmas dinner (yes, we wear funny hats)

6f19re2 
Exhibit D: Chowing down on bananas in Jamaica

resized 
Exhibit E: Romantic barbecues at my cottage.

100_2934
Exhibit F: Making Chris pose with his breakfast

100_1288 
Exhibit G: The only cake I’ve ever made.

HPIM2465

That was fun! I have a surprising number of pre-blog food photos on my hard-drive. Guess I’ve always been a little weird that way ;)

I hope you all continued to challenge yourself a little and celebrate your accomplishments today :) I challenged myself as soon as I got out of bed. First, I prepared with some PB + banana + toast.

100_7429

I also guzzled back a bunch of iced coffee and water before heading out under dark skies for my 70 minute run. Anyone else bummed the sun is rising later now? It wasn’t up till 6:45 this morning. I don’t mind running in the dark, but it’s cold before the sun comes up!

Not gonna lie, today’s run wasn’t as easy as my other long ones have been. I can’t complain though, I can’t expect all of them to be flawless. One thing that made it harder is that I changed my intervals to 10 minutes running, one minute walking. I’ve been slowly increasing the length of my running intervals as I also increase the time of my overall runs. But I was just not feeling these intervals. I think 9:1 may be my magic number. Ain’t nothin’ wrong with that!

Stats
Duration:
1:10
Distance: 7.44 miles
Avg Pace: 9:24 min/mi

I also have to mention that I learned how to snot rocket today! Haha. Monica’s recent post on how she deals with her snotty nose on runs got me thinking about it. I forgot my usual kleenex today and started cramping up because I couldn’t breathe properly. Desperate times call for desperate measures people! So I took a deep breath and snot shot like a pro. It helps that I run on deserted trails :P

 

To finish off my Waffle Week I went for a savoury wafflewich a la Tay.

100_7433

Two eggs, 1/2 an Yves veggie chicken burger and salsa on maple cinnamon waffles. Unfortunately, this wasn’t as amazing as I thought it was going to be. I’ve done eggs and syrup on these waffles before, which was awesome. But I wasn’t really feeling the salsa with the sweet flavour, and the salsa made them soggy! Next time, I’ll make this on unflavoured waffles ;)

I was super excited for my morning snack today. I packed one of my new cinnamon roll crisp Myoplex Lite bars.

100_7444

One word – foodgasm. Let me explain. I used to eat these Quaker oatmeal-to-go brown sugar & cinnamon bars that were basically one of my favourite things ever. But they sort of fell out of my diet as I changed my eating habits. To be honest, I’d completely forgot about them until I bit into this bar today. It tastes the exact same. I’m in love.

Moving on… I tried a new combo in my lunchtime pita.

100_7439

Hummus + cottage cheese. Lovely. Those of you with texture issues may be iffy about it, but garbanzos and cottage cheese were meant to be.

 

Now I present you with the healthiest dinner to ever be featured on this blog.

100_7443

Hahahaha. I know, I know. They were having a barbecue out back at my office. I knew my over 7 mile run deserved a treat today, so why not a hamburger and piece of chocolate fudge? The burger was meh, you could tell it was cheap meat. That piece of fudge though was soooooo good. *droooool* 

It wasn’t exactly the most substantial dinner, so I had a snack when I got home.

100_7448

Cantaloupe + cottage cheese. It wasn’t quite ripe enough, boo :(

 

I had big plans of unpacking everything in my closets tonight, but my bedtime has snuck up on me! I’m working at 5 am every day this long weekend. I’m actually looking forward to it, my afternoons off will give me a chance to finish unpacking and get to decorating!

Today’s random Q’s…

Those of you with food blogs, have you always taken pictures of food? I guess I have! It actually comes pretty naturally to me, especially after studying TV and photojournalism. I just love playing with cameras :)

How do you feel about snot rockets? One of the first things Chris told me when I started cycling was that I had to learn how to do it. I thought he was super gross for suggesting it. Guess I’m just h-core now :P

Have a great long weekend!! Come back soon for a tour of my new place. It’ll be motivation for me to get everything done!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers