Daily Archives: September 2, 2009

Waffle Wednesday and perhaps a challenge?

You know what day it is… 

100_7385

Waflle Wednesday! Yay!!!

I worked hard for these waffles though. I was up early before work to pay a visit to my new gym. I slept like a log last night, which is very rare for me. Usually I wake up a few times throughout the night, but last night I was out solid until my alarm went off! I think it’s just because I’m beat from moving, but hopefully I continue to sleep well in my new place :)

Gym visit this morning was awesome. One of my favourite things about my new gym is that they have a plethora of cardio machines, none of which have time limits, or required sign-up. Which makes jumping on them randomly throughout a workout very easy!

Duration: 1:07

  • 15 minutes on the elliptical, increasing resistance every 2 minutes
  • three sets barbell squats
  • three alternating sets dumbbell shoulder press and curtsy lunge
  • 10 minutes running on the treadmill, increasing speed every 2 minutes
  • three alternating sets cable horizontal woodchop and back extension
  • 10 minutes on the rowing machine, alternating underhand and overhand grip
  • two minute plank as the cherry on top ;)

I didn’t bother counting reps today. Instead, I lifted until it felt really hard, then did two more reps. It was fun! I’m so far in love with my new gym. Tomorrow night I’m trying out one of their yoga classes.

Then it was waffle time.

100_7383

The usual mix. Two Nature’s Path maple cinnamon waffles, almond butter, yogurt, blueberries. Apparently the first week of September is also waffle week. I didn’t have time this morning, but tomorrow I will be having some fun with waffles!! :D

I also cut the BS this morning and put my protein powder directly in my coffee.

100_7388

Just stirred about 2/3 of a scoop of chocolate whey into my chilled brewed coffee. It mixed very well, I was impressed!

For some reason, I’ve been on a bread kick lately. I think it’s because I cut “light breads” out of my diet, so I’ve been eating the real stuff. All I want are sandwiches!

100_7389

This particular one had turkey, hummus, laughing cow and romaine.

No better way to polish off an old-school sandwich than with an apple.

100_7390

This was another new apple to me – a Paula Red. I didn’t really care for it. Too sour, too soft.

A festive Larabar was also consumed during my work day.

100_7391

I remember liking the ginger snap flavour the last time I tried it, but today I found it was too spicy. Anyone ever notice Larabars can be a little “over-spiced?” It would probably be good crumbled over something though. Or, with cream cheese icing :P

I had a loooong afternoon at work. An early lunch + late dinner = one hungry tummy come 4 pm. So I swung by the Bulk Barn to pick up some rolled oats and a snack. Figs!

100_7392

These were just bursting with crispy/gooey goodness on the inside. They held me through getting many last-minute stories written up.

My mother text messaged me today to say that she saw yesterday’s blog, and that I needed placemats for my dining table. I know better than to go against my mother’s wishes, so I made sure to get some for tonight! :P

100_7394

Is that better Mom? :P I bought them for a buck each at the Dollarstore.

My mother also provided the food on that placemat. Veggie pizza she left in my fridge, that I added some broccoli to. Made in my brand new toaster oven (I can already tell we’re going to be best friends).

100_7398

My side salad was just garden veggies topped with cottage cheese. This was a huge meal and I almost ate all of it! My crazy hunger is starting to get a little more under control though. Hopefully it’s back to normal by tomorrow!

 
To my fellow Atlantic Canadians: This Friday is Eat Atlantic Day. It’s a challenge organized by the Co-op store, to eat only food produced from the four Atlantic provinces all day Friday. They’re pretty lax with it. For example, they approve Just Us! coffee because it’s roasted in Nova Scotia. Anyways, I encourage you to check it out! I won’t be participating, mainly because my life is way too hectic at the moment. But would everyone else out there be interested in a similar challenge that we can all take part in? We can all pledge to eat “regionally” for one day. It’ll be fun!

Anyways, Chris just got here and is demanding my attention. Hope your week is filled with waffles! ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers