Daily Archives: August 28, 2009

Flashback Friday

Happy Flashback Friday!! I’m taking part in Janetha’s little thang this week where every Friday you show some old pics for giggles. My pictures aren’t that old, but still fun to look back on!

e590re2
Here’s me and my sisters back in July 2005. Jealous they’re having fun at the cottage without me right now!

resized

Looking tough on Chris’ Harley in June 2006. Don’t worry mom, I’ve never driven it, I can barely reach the handlebars!!

And for good measure, here’s a present photo of me. In my new glasses!!

100_7225

You can’t really tell, but they’re a nice deep blue colour. My hair is still wet from the shower here. Blow dryer = frizzy disaster.

 

Even though I went to bed late last night, I was still up at 6:30 this morning. Ugh! Went for a small-ish breakfast to prep for my long run.

100_7200 
Maple cinnamon waffles with almond butter and peach raspberry jam. Oh you better believe I’m obsessed with PB&J now!

I spent too long fooling around on the internet though, and when I was ready to go a couple hours later, I was hungry again. So I had a few prunes.

100_7203

Then I was off!! Seeing as I was sleep deprived and still had more physical activity in store for today, I took it easy. Except, I still ended up going pretty fast!

Duration: 1:05:03
Distance: 6.88 miles
Avg Pace: 9:26 min/mi

It was pretty cool out this morning, very fall-like. My heart rate was lower than usual, not sure if it’s related to the temp. But I felt really relaxed the whole time and not like I was huffing and puffing like some of my more recent runs. I did intervals again of 9 minutes running followed by 1 minute walking. Oh, and yes, this is a new distance record for me… again ;)

Came home and rolled the eff out of my calves because they’ve been screaming at me lately (no idea why, my body is an enigma). Then made a lovely smoothie.

100_7206

  • 1 box One Coconut Water
  • 2 scoops Vega Smoothie Infusion
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen papaya chunks

Glug glug glug

100_7213

Gotta have a sweaty, unshowered pic in here too ;) Wearing my triathlon shirt!!

Lunch consisted of some more odds and ends from my kitchen.

100_7227

Chickpea pizza!

  • 1 pita pocket
  • 1/8 cup cottage cheese
  • spinach
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas (maybe more)
  • garlic, dried oregano, ground cumin, pepper
  • mozzarella

100_7226

This was majorly YUM. Pretty sure you can put anything on pita bread, melt cheese on it, and it will be awesome :P

After lunch, I called my landlady to check if buddy was going to be out of my new place by tomorrow, when my mover’s come. She said she still didn’t know. So I got his number from her and just called him myself.

Turns out he’s in Nova Scotia this weekend, and won’t be back until late Sunday. Problem is, I can’t re-book the movers for Sunday. And I have to be out of my current apartment Sunday at midnight.

My new landlord says we can store my stuff in the empty apartment next door until buddy moves out. But it’s looking like he won’t be out of there until Monday.

So, I have movers taking my crap Saturday, moving it to this apartment next door until Monday, at which point I have to move it all into my new place when buddy finally vacates.

I called my mother, hysterical, because I had no one to help me move my big items on Monday, nor do I have a place to stay Sunday night. Thankfully, my mommy was able to help me sort things out. She will pay for a hotel room Sunday night. Saturday night, I will just have to sleep on the floor of my current apartment, which will be completely empty by then. Then, she and my sister are coming to visit on Monday to help me do the final move, and Chris will be back from work that same night.

Holy crap. Kudos to you if you could keep up with all of that. Honestly, I think what frustrates me the most about this whole situation is that my new landlady just does not get it. English isn’t her first language, so maybe something is getting lost in translation, but she doesn’t really think it’s a big deal. I also have to work at 5 am both Saturday and Sunday, so I am going to be seriously sleep deprived going through all of this. As if I want to sleep on the floor of my empty apartment, only to get up at 4 in the morning to work. So, so not cool.

Anyways, that’s my rant. I’m puffy eyed again. But at least I never lose my appetite…

100_7235

Another strange combo. Soft fried eggs on toast with 1/4 of a butternut squash dressed in Earth Balance spread, brown sugar and cinnamon. Surprisingly, the sweet squash went really well with the toast!

 

That’s all for today, I still have toooons to do to get ready for the movers. I’m praying work is slow tomorrow, and that I at least get some sleep tonight. Three more days…

Question of the day: What are some of the strangest food combos you’ve ever had??

I still think candied sweet potatoes are super weird. Marshmallows belong in my cocoa, not my vegetables! :P

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers