Found a new second home!

Hiii! Well, I am feeling much better today. After nine straight days of work, I finally had a whole day off to get my act together. I’ve been very productive so far!

  • Picked up my new glasses and got my contacts checked and okay-ed
  • Took a tour of a gym and signed up!!
  • Set up my utilities and a new credit card
  • Ordered a new adapter for my computer
  • PACKED. A lot. Got a good chunk of my bedroom done.

What’s left:

  • Find out if I can actually move in on Saturday!
  • Pack up the kitchen and living room

I’m happy with that for now :) I’m most excited for my new gym!!! I signed up with GoodLife Fitness, which is a Canadian chain. There are two locations in my city – a large co-ed one, and a smaller women’s-only one. I went to the co-ed one. The real selling points for me were 1) no sign-up or time limits on cardio equipment, 2) opens early in the morning, 3) a variety of group fitness classes held throughout the day, 4) a feeling of community. A woman dropped off a box of fudge for everyone while I was there, love it!

Check out the classes (which should increase with their Fall schedule):

100_7195

Most of the classes are Les Mills programs.They’re pre-choreographed classes used across the globe. Being a music snob, this worries me a little, but I’m also excited to try something that’s been so successful! You better believe I’ll be aaalll over those morning RPM (spin) and evening Bodyflow (yoga) classes. The schedule is different at the women’s only location, so I’ll have that to choose from too!

I signed up for a year membership, and they’ll take $23 out of my account bi-weekly. This is a new expense for me, because my campus gym was free. I got to thinking about it, and I spend around $10 a week on packaged bars. If I cut that expense out, then it will pay for my gym membership. So expect to see some homemade bar concoctions soon. Feel free to share your recipes!

Oh! And I got a free book :)

100_7196

Written by the gym’s founder. It actually looks pretty good!

Okay, that’s enough “new gym” excitement. I’ll become a regular fixture there as soon as this moving madness is over, so you’ll hear all about it then ;)

Trying my best to eat up the odds and ends. Breakfast:

100_7172

Laughing cow, egg, smoked salmon on an english muffin. Orange with some freshly opened chunky AB (as if I’m going a couple days without opening a new jar of nut butter. That’s the one exception!)

Lunch:

100_7175

Pita and a peach. Last peach in the basket. I totally showed that basket who’s boss.

100_7176 

  • cottage cheese
  • chickpeas
  • butternut squash
  • green pepper
  • onion
  • caesar seasoning

Half-eaten butternut squash, onion, and one apple are now the only fresh produce I have left in my fridge.

Snack!

100_7180

Two wasas with almond butter, raisins and cinnamon. One of my faves.

Packing also means I have to take certain items from their hiding places…

100_7183

Which led to a mandatory handful…

100_7184

Although, I don’t think this should count. This banana almond cereal was part of my national banana day celebration ;)

The contents of my closet…

100_7186

…in garbage bags. It should be said some of those bags are blankets, pillows and coats! Only a few more days in a disaster zone, then hopefully there will be some order in my life. ‘Bout time!

Supper:

100_7189

Veggie burger with swiss cheese and some frozen broccoli and brussel sprouts sprinkled with parmesan. I feel the need to get a little green in everyday. 

 

Some fun links:

Mark Bittman’s ode to peanut butter and tons of ideas on ways to use it.

Eating take-out for lunch also eats up a huge chunk of your daily calories (still waiting for homemade pitas for lunch to catch on…).

Drinking cold water can boost your metabolism, especially in the morning.

 

Well, I’m off to finish packing up my bedroom. Since my cable’s been cut off, I’ve been listening to old Jillian Michaels podcasts. A little dated, but I’m still learning lots! She mentioned the cold water boosting your metabolism thing too.

While I traded in exercise for packing today, I’m reeeeally looking forward to my long run tomorrow. It will be the first time since I started running again that I won’t have to rush off to work after. I won’t even have to set an alarm! That my friends, is luxury :)

Question: Do you belong to a gym? What do you look for in one?

See ya tomorrow!

Posted on August 27, 2009, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. YAY for the new gym! Sounds awesome! I want you to try Zumba and report back. I wish my gym offered better classes. Oh well. Not like I’ve been going lately anyway.

    I hope you can move in on Saturday so you don’t have to sleep on the futon in the newsroom! ;) fingers crossed!

  2. I love my gym. After I graduated, the new expense was a shock, but it’s totally worth it to have classes, which I’d never done before. It really keeps things fun and gives me a reason to get up and get to the gym! I do kickboxing, yoga, circuit training, lifting, and spin every week–it’s great. Enjoy!

  3. I don’t belong to a gym but have thought about joining one. Yours sounds awesome!

  4. April (Foods of April)

    I’ve never but butternut squash in a wrap but that sounds freakin’ amazing!

    And yay for the gym! I’m excited because Body Pump is coming to my gym too! Classes are the best.. your going to have so much fun!

  5. Yay on the gym! Mine doesn’t offer any classes, it’s pretty basic. I would love to do the Zumba class.

    Cereal snacking – it’s so addictive!

  6. My gym is a small family-owned place that has decent hours and I like it because there are people of all ages and sizes that work out there…it’s not some musclehead men and skinny girl gym with no personality like some of the others around here. and they have everything I need when it comes to classes and equipment. But I have to say, no one has ever brought in treats when I’ve been there, so I feel cheated :-)

  7. oh so glad things are going better today! sounds like you got a lot accomplished, that is good. i look forward to hearing how you like the classes! i always debate going to them but then i opt to do my own routine more often than not. hahaha ok so i was laughing SO hard at your cereal hiding spot! well worth the mandatory celebration ;) loving the garbz and cc combo! i have never seen caesar seasoning in the stores, but i bet that would be a nice addition! trust me, if i could find a pita like the ones you use i would SO make a stuffed one! the only ones here are the flatbread type :( i have a gym membership, i paid 4 or 5 monthly payments of $125 and got 39 months! it was for 3 years but if i paid in large installments i got 3 free months. i basically picked my gym based off location! have a great night!! xo

  8. I belonged to a Gold’s that turned Urban Active during the 3 years I was a member. I loved it. Pre-pregnancy, we were able to afford a personal trainer. The facility was nice but I didn’t take any of the classes. Now, we have made some budget cuts but I do belong to a yoga studio and my university has a gym on campus that I can use for free! They have classes too but they are in the evening when I am not on campus. Plus, their classes only meet once a week . Example: yoga on Monday, Core on Tuesday and so on. That’s something I don’t like.

  9. So glad things have worked out! :D new gym sounds great…enjoy!

    I moved 4 weeks ago and my apartment is still in chaos, lol :P

    Pitta looks amazing!

  10. Yay for getting everything done! That new gym sounds really cool. Love the fitness classes, and your lunch looks so good. I belong to my school’s gym, which I love for the fitness classes. I also belong to the local YMCA in Arizona… I don’t love it, but it’s the best option here–close, safe, clean, decent machines. I love my YMCA in Michigan cause they have arc trainer machines! It’s also close to my house in Michigan. But I look for cleanliness, variety and number of machines, and the environment. If I didn’t have fitness classes at my school’s gym, I’d look for those, too.

  11. Fun! Your new gym sounds fantastic. My number one criteria is having a pool! I belong to a chain, which has a location close to home and one close to work. Both are pretty big and between the two of them have just about every piece of equipment you could possible want. I always want to try classes, but never have yet. I find they don’t always fit well into my schedule.

    I just made homemade larabars earlier this week! You can check it out here: http://triathlontrainingblog.wordpress.com/2009/08/25/the-great-larabar-experiment/
    I’ve been keeping them in the freezer and love them that way!

    • thegreatbalancingact

      I almost joined the YMCA here because they’re the only gym with a pool. But they open too late in the morning for me, and their pool is kinda dinky anyways (18.5m). Something I’ll have to consider though if I want to do another triathlon next summer!

  12. I’m a member of the Y. There aren’t a lot of options in my area. I like it though because the equipment is newish and they have spinning, yoga, and kickboxing classes. They also have zumba, step aerobics, and cardio/strength but I don’t do dancy or steppy stuff! Uncoordinated! lol!

    • thegreatbalancingact

      Angela, I’ll probably give all the classes a try. But I’m least excited for the Zumba, that has injury or embarrassment written all over it for me! :P

  13. classes are the biggest selling point for me – most of the gyms have machines, weights, etc but classes are muy importante!

    that pita looks divine me lady…yay for moving, i feel ya on that. i “moved” 3 weeks ago and still have stuff to do!

    have a good weekend!

  14. Your new gym sounds fancy :) That is awesome. I wish my gym offered classes like that.
    Congrats on your productive day! If only it were contagious ;)

  15. That pita combination is AMAZING! I want it ASAP – yum :)

    Glad you made it to your day off and found a new gym! It sounds really nice!! I “belong” to my university’s gym but hardly even use it. It’s included in our tuition but it’s kind of out of my way. I think I’ve been there twice?!

  16. Hooray for joining a gym – that’s a majorly good feeling! Wow, that reminds me that that was my turning point in becoming a for real healthy person :)

    I look for cheapness (just being honest!) and a good class schedule since I’m not really one for using equipment/machines! I love my Y because it fits both of these requirements and it has a great neighborhood/family feel to it.
    Not gonna lie, the man on the cover of that book is HILARIOUS looking and made me laugh out loud!

    Your wrap = amazing!!

  17. Good job on joining the gym. It sounds like a great one! Our gyms here aren’t so good!

    I hope you get to move in tomorrow! YAY!

  18. Enjoy the new membership! I was a member of Goodlife for over 10 years but recently switched to a gym close to my new house. I loved the Body Pump and Body Step classes and really miss those. I think you would really enjoy the Pump – regardless of the music.

    My new gym is starting a program called TRX. I did a session with a personal trainer the other day and it’s phenomenal. Do a Google search for it.

    And it’s funny you mentioned the “Y”. My brother is a personal trainer at the “Y” over at Willie O’Ree Place on the Northside. It’s super small but NEVER busy and squeaky clean (a big must for me in a gym!) I went every day while I was there on vacation. It’s a hidden gem.

    • I totally forgot about the YMCA on the Northside!! It’s way too far from where I live though. I can zip up to my new one in 5 minutes, and the new Y is at least 15 minutes away for me :( I’ll keep in in mind for future pool usage though, thanks Jenn :)

  19. i want my gym to be cheap and uncrowded.

    that’s great you got a free book! score!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

