Ellipticized

Hey guys! Hope you all had awesome weekends :) Mine was dull. That’s how it goes when you work every Saturday and Sunday I guess…

I just wrote a whole big spiel about how stressed I am at the moment and then deleted it. I’m sure you don’t want to hear that. Just know that a number of factors are making this week’s move way more difficult than it has to be, and that working 9 days in a row is not making matters any easier! I’m pooped!

Now, how bout some eat highlights?

Yesterday’s popsicle experiment was a grand success!!

100_7092

It’s a frozen PVL cran-raspberry whey cooler. A protein popsicle if you will ;) One of these bad boys clocks in at 10 calories and 2g protein. It was a little watered down in frozen form though, next time I’ll make the mix a stronger.

I also experimented with some new flavours in my breakfast cookie today.

100_7097

Apple cinnamon breakfast cookie.

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 scoop vanilla whey powder
  • 2 tbsp unflavoured soy protein powder
  • lotsa cinnamon
  • few shakes pumpkin spice
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • raisins
  • dried apple pieces
  • Splash almond milk

This flavour was inspired by Janetha who reminded me that cinnamon is my favourite flavour. Next time, I’ll take it up a notch and use a scoop of applesauce instead of almond milk for my “liquid.”

Umm, let’s see… There was also some of this…

100_7105

And a little of this…

100_7107

We were supposed to get a hurricane today, and I am very disappointed in the lack of both rain and wind. I still played it safe and brought my workout indoors.

Warm-up:
15 minutes on the elliptical, increasing the resistance every 2 minutes

A1 – Deadlift:
3 sets @ 60 lbs x 10

B1 – Incline dumbbell shoulder press:
3 sets @ 20 lbs ea x 10

B2 – Step-up:
3 sets @ 25 lbs ea x 10

C1 – Single-leg Romanian deadlift:
3 sets @ 20 lbs ea x 10 each leg

C2 – Bent-over dumbbell row:
3 sets @ 20 lbs ea x 10

D1 – Hip bridge:
3 sets @ bw x 15

D2 – Prone jackknife:
3 sets @ bw x 10

E1 – Plank:
1 set @ 2 min

HIIT:
15 minutes on elliptical, 1 minute intervals, 2 minutes recovery.

Cool-down:
Stretching

Recovery drink:
Papaya Peach Mango

100_7114

  • 1 scoop Iso Lean peach mango whey powder
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup frozen papaya chunks
  • 2 scoops plain yogurt

This was soooo thick and delicious. Kinda like a fruity ice cream without the cow’s cream funk taste!

I tried to switch up my ellipticizing today, but it didn’t quite work. I’m told ellipticals are miracle machines that are low-impact and easy on your muscles and joints. Except, most ellipticals are the opposite for me. The best I can think of is that my freakishly long legs don’t match the range of motion of most machines, so I end up straining my knees more by forcing them to move unnaturally.

Anyways, the one machine that works for me is the Reebok Body Trec.

It sort of simulates running, but almost feels like cycling standing up. Plus, my knees don’t scream at me on this thing, which is always good ;)

But in the past few days, I’ve heard about the Cybex Arc Trainer from both Anne and Lynn. So I figured I’d give it a shot!

Ow. No-go on the knees. It was such a weird motion! Sort of like a Gazelle, but more forward reaching and circular moving. I spent two minutes on it until I moved back to my trusty Trec. And least I tried, right?

 

By the time I showered and such, Chris showed up. So we just decided to head out to our friendly neighbourhood pub (ie The Lunar Rogue) so I could get dinner. I played it safe with a grilled chicken Greek salad.

100_7117

Dressing and feta cheese on the side. If I had to choose a favourite salad, I think it’d be a toss up between Greek and spinach.

Chris ordered some hot boneless chicken wings.

100_7118

I tried a bite of these and liked them much better than the boned variety. Still don’t care for the buffalo sauce though. I did however enjoy more than a couple of those tortilla chips ;)

After supper, Chris and I partook in one of our favourite evening activities – a stroll through the downtown.

100_7119

Chris totally called me out for taking the picture because I was wearing my contacts. Dammit! Must get less clever boyfriend… :P

Alrighty, it’s my bedtime. Want to get some quality zzz’s in so I can pound out a 5k in 27 minutes tomorrow morning. Not sure if it’s possible, but I’m gonna try!

More random Qs!

What’s your favourite salad?

Do you have an elliptical preference? (or any other cardio machine?)

 

Have a fantabulous Monday!

(whoa, “fantabulous” isn’t underlined as a spelling error – is that an actual word?)

Night night ;)

Posted on August 23, 2009, in Restaurants, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Mmmm…. boneless wings! I adore buffalo sauce, and the hotter the better! Yum.

    I don’t like ellipticals that much either, I just don’t ‘get’ them. I keep trying to run off of them and lifting my feet. Guess that is the outdoor runner in me. I get kind of bored on any cardio machine as well.

    I don’t know as I have a favorite salad, but I love parmesan pepper dressing!.

  2. ooh~ That muffin looks better than the ones in McDonald’s!

    My favorite salad is just one with interesting ingredients: cranberries, candied nuts, lots of good greens, maybe figs, lots of good stinky cheese, easy on the dressing. Oh, and preferably topped with a few bits of crispy bacon and soft-boiled egg! Oh my…I’m drooling now…

  3. Aww, I hope you have a little time to de-stress soon! I know what you mean–school starts tomorrow and I am like WHAT?! Haha oh my gosh I’m gonna be sooo busy.

    Love the breakfast cookie and peach mango smoothie! It looks so creamy and delicious.

    Sorry you didn’t like the arc trainer! It actually works better for my knees–probably depends on how your knees track. If I keep it at a 2-3 incline and make sure to stand up straight, I’m good to go. It’s kinda like a skiing motion, but lifting the knees. Oh, and I always use the ones with handles. But definitely don’t do it if it hurts–everyone’s different :)

    My favorite salad is a…. hmm…. geez this is hard! It varies, but right now I’m craving an apple, strawberry, pecan, fig, and goat cheese salad with strawberry balsamic dressing. Haha!

  4. so funny how everyone has different favorite ellipticals! i have a favorite too and its neither of those LOL

  5. The elliptical was my most valuable workout tool when I lost my “baby weight” but I hav no idea what the brand of the one at my gym was :( My favorite salad is one that I make myself with randoms from my produce drawer plus hummus, nutritional yeast and yogurt dressing.

  6. I’m sorry you’re stressed :( 9 days of work in a row is enough to drive anyone crazy! I hope you are able to get some rest soon.
    On the plus side, that salad and dinner out look so nice!
    Good luck with your 5k today. I forget, are you training for something specific right now?

    • thegreatbalancingact

      Hey Lara! I’m thinking of doing a 5k Sept 13, then my first 10k on Sept 20. Then possibly another 5k in October. The only one I’m really “training” for is the 10k since that will be my longest race distance. I just wanna go fast in those 5k’s! :P

  7. Cinnamon reigns supreme in my book as well! I love the protein popsicle – how innovative!!

    My favorite salads: dried cranberries, shredded cheddar cheese, salted cashews, raspberry vinaigrette OR Panera’s strawberry poppyseed salad which is a whole bunch of fruit (strawbs, pineapple, blueberries) and pecans with poppyseed dressing

  8. My favorite salad has spring mix greens, roasted pears, blue cheese crumbles, and a pear viniagrette dressing. My second favorite is the Fuji apple chicken salad at Panera.

  9. April (Foods of April)

    For some reason the Arc trainer gives me a better workout than the elliptical! Not sure why? What’s the difference?

  10. Gah…sorry about all the stress going on right now. Am sure moving didn’t help. Feel free to vent on your blog- it’s your BLOG! :D Failing that, inbox is open.

    That salad is identical to what I ALWAYS get at the diner I eat at in NY several times a week…just throw it in a wrap, get tzatziki on the side and that’s my ideal meal.

    Favourite salad- hmmm… I made one a while ago with strawberries, asparagus, portabello mushrooms, butternut squash and goats cheese which was good. Though I love ‘weird’ salads- ie, cold leftovers. Burritos, lasagne, mac and cheese…anything goes. Throw it on a bed of spinach and I am happy. Reading blogs has made me really want to try a Chipotle salad!

  11. oh my gosh, i love the idea of a protein popsicle! you are so dang smart. i wonder if doing a chocolate banana one would taste like a creamie? hmmmm.. i need some popsicle molds stat! LOVE the photo of you and chris, and hey, new contacts! all the more reason for some photography, right? haha i am always astonished at some things that are words according to firefox, (ironically, firefox is spellchecked as wrong when not capitalized) like thingamajig is totally a word but unphotographed is not! i am a little sad that a bfast cookie with RAISINS was inspired by me, haha! other than that nasty ingredient i love it. snickerdoodley thanks to the cinnamon! loving the workout, do you do 20# dumbbells in each HAND for the single leg DLs? that is some serious balance! ok this is long, i just love your posts so much!!

    • thegreatbalancingact

      Janetha, as soon as I made those popsicles, my mind started to fill with all the wonderful protein popsicle creations I could make!

  12. Beautiful picture! :) Yum, breakfast cookie! Great idea adding cinnamon and dried apples!

    I love the elliptical. I just don’t have (or push myself to have I guess) the endurance for long runs on the treadmill. I like it! :)

    I love Greek salads too (minus the olives ughh), but with spinach as the base ;)

  13. I see Sweetwaters in the background of your “stroll” picture. ;) I lust love King Street…and Queen Street. Ah heck, it’s such a pretty city. I miss it lots.

    My husband and I just love salads and are quite content to make salads our “meal” at least two or three times a week. Since he’s Greek AND used to own a restaurant we eat a lot of horiatiki or village salads in the summer. It consists of tomatoes cut into chunks, sliced cucumber, sliced red onion, whole Kalamata olives, chopped green pepper, pickled beets, crumbled feta and then drizzled with olive oil and some tomato juice squeezed out of the tomato as you cut it, just to give the salad extra “juice” and acidity. It’s definitely my favorite summer salad.

    • thegreatbalancingact

      Hahaha, Jenn, funny that you mention Sweetwaters because as we were taking the picture, Chris made a comment about us being in front of Fredericton’s “classiest bar.” :P

      That salad sounds awesome! I’ve heard traditional Greek salads don’t have any lettuce, which I think sounds wonderful. It usually just acts as filler anyways ;)

  14. Your breakfast cookie looks really dang good! Sorry the moving/working thing is stressing you. I am also nervous/stressed about moving but really more excited – I am only moving one mile away though!

    Umm virtual house warming = yes!

    I don’t really have a favorite salad since I just like making random concoctions although at the moment I am loving having a morningstar spicy black bean burger torn up in my salad and plenty of avocado and cheese!

  15. Oh, that foods looks wonderful! I hate moving, we have moved so many times during our marriage that I don’t even want to tell you!

    Right now I’m kinda burned out on salads, so I’ve just been eating salad without the greens! Weird I know.

  16. wow- that breakfast cookie looks AWESOME! i want to try that out as soon as go shopping next I will grab some of those ingredients and link you!

    i love evening strolls with my manfriend too!

    salads… hmm… i LOVED this one I got in Charleston SC … i ordered a bunch of different ingredients like hearts of palm, grilled chicken, kidney beans, olives, gorgonzola, spinach, broccoli, it was never ending seriously- and delicious!

  17. Oh, the lovely breakfast cookie!! They’re so good, and I love the sound of your mix-ins! Usually I stick with bananas, but I need to branch out and try the apple flavor. YUM!

    Your salad looks great too. :D I think my absolute favorite salad is one that has chicken, strawberries, feta cheese, walnuts, and a raspberry dressing. Love it! :D

  18. I love all kinds of salads (which is funny because I really wasn’t a salad person until about a year ago) but this summer I was truly obsessed with this combo: spinach, shrimp, avocado, mango with a vinaigrette.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

