Daily Archives: August 23, 2009

Ellipticized

Hey guys! Hope you all had awesome weekends :) Mine was dull. That’s how it goes when you work every Saturday and Sunday I guess…

I just wrote a whole big spiel about how stressed I am at the moment and then deleted it. I’m sure you don’t want to hear that. Just know that a number of factors are making this week’s move way more difficult than it has to be, and that working 9 days in a row is not making matters any easier! I’m pooped!

Now, how bout some eat highlights?

Yesterday’s popsicle experiment was a grand success!!

100_7092

It’s a frozen PVL cran-raspberry whey cooler. A protein popsicle if you will ;) One of these bad boys clocks in at 10 calories and 2g protein. It was a little watered down in frozen form though, next time I’ll make the mix a stronger.

I also experimented with some new flavours in my breakfast cookie today.

100_7097

Apple cinnamon breakfast cookie.

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 scoop vanilla whey powder
  • 2 tbsp unflavoured soy protein powder
  • lotsa cinnamon
  • few shakes pumpkin spice
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • raisins
  • dried apple pieces
  • Splash almond milk

This flavour was inspired by Janetha who reminded me that cinnamon is my favourite flavour. Next time, I’ll take it up a notch and use a scoop of applesauce instead of almond milk for my “liquid.”

Umm, let’s see… There was also some of this…

100_7105

And a little of this…

100_7107

We were supposed to get a hurricane today, and I am very disappointed in the lack of both rain and wind. I still played it safe and brought my workout indoors.

Warm-up:
15 minutes on the elliptical, increasing the resistance every 2 minutes

A1 – Deadlift:
3 sets @ 60 lbs x 10

B1 – Incline dumbbell shoulder press:
3 sets @ 20 lbs ea x 10

B2 – Step-up:
3 sets @ 25 lbs ea x 10

C1 – Single-leg Romanian deadlift:
3 sets @ 20 lbs ea x 10 each leg

C2 – Bent-over dumbbell row:
3 sets @ 20 lbs ea x 10

D1 – Hip bridge:
3 sets @ bw x 15

D2 – Prone jackknife:
3 sets @ bw x 10

E1 – Plank:
1 set @ 2 min

HIIT:
15 minutes on elliptical, 1 minute intervals, 2 minutes recovery.

Cool-down:
Stretching

Recovery drink:
Papaya Peach Mango

100_7114

  • 1 scoop Iso Lean peach mango whey powder
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup frozen papaya chunks
  • 2 scoops plain yogurt

This was soooo thick and delicious. Kinda like a fruity ice cream without the cow’s cream funk taste!

I tried to switch up my ellipticizing today, but it didn’t quite work. I’m told ellipticals are miracle machines that are low-impact and easy on your muscles and joints. Except, most ellipticals are the opposite for me. The best I can think of is that my freakishly long legs don’t match the range of motion of most machines, so I end up straining my knees more by forcing them to move unnaturally.

Anyways, the one machine that works for me is the Reebok Body Trec.

It sort of simulates running, but almost feels like cycling standing up. Plus, my knees don’t scream at me on this thing, which is always good ;)

But in the past few days, I’ve heard about the Cybex Arc Trainer from both Anne and Lynn. So I figured I’d give it a shot!

Ow. No-go on the knees. It was such a weird motion! Sort of like a Gazelle, but more forward reaching and circular moving. I spent two minutes on it until I moved back to my trusty Trec. And least I tried, right?

 

By the time I showered and such, Chris showed up. So we just decided to head out to our friendly neighbourhood pub (ie The Lunar Rogue) so I could get dinner. I played it safe with a grilled chicken Greek salad.

100_7117

Dressing and feta cheese on the side. If I had to choose a favourite salad, I think it’d be a toss up between Greek and spinach.

Chris ordered some hot boneless chicken wings.

100_7118

I tried a bite of these and liked them much better than the boned variety. Still don’t care for the buffalo sauce though. I did however enjoy more than a couple of those tortilla chips ;)

After supper, Chris and I partook in one of our favourite evening activities – a stroll through the downtown.

100_7119

Chris totally called me out for taking the picture because I was wearing my contacts. Dammit! Must get less clever boyfriend… :P

Alrighty, it’s my bedtime. Want to get some quality zzz’s in so I can pound out a 5k in 27 minutes tomorrow morning. Not sure if it’s possible, but I’m gonna try!

More random Qs!

What’s your favourite salad?

Do you have an elliptical preference? (or any other cardio machine?)

 

Have a fantabulous Monday!

(whoa, “fantabulous” isn’t underlined as a spelling error – is that an actual word?)

Night night ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers