Sleeping Beauty

Hello friends! How is everyone doing? Are we all T-G-I-effing yet? I am, and I work at 5 am on Saturday and Sunday…

Loved hearing how you’ve been challenging yourselves! Now I feel inspired to go sign up for an expensive yoga studio :P

I challenged myself this morning by getting up at 5:30, whilst still dark out, to run a new distance record. Well, okay, it’s my weekly long run. The point is to run farther every week, but it’s nice to celebrate the small accomplishments :)

Thankfully, it also cooled off a little last night. I actually had the opportunity to fall into a deep sleep, so I felt well rested for the first time this week.

Fuelled up with half a giant banana, PB and iced coffee.

100_7000

On my messy end table. Oh hell, my whole apartment is messy.

The stats:

Distance: 6.34 miles (10.2 km!! Heck yes!!!)
Duration: 60:06
Avg Pace: 9:29 min/mi
Avg HR: No idea, it cut out on me after 40 min. It was the usual though – 165 ish, probably a max in the high 170s (that’s when I start huffing and puffing).

I upped my run/walk intervals to 8:1. A little harder, but still awesome. I’m planning on doing a 10k race on Sept. 20, so today’s run was very reassuring! I’m hoping to cut out my walking intervals just for that race.

My post-run meal was beyond satisfying – savoury oats.

100_7006

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • salt
  • 1 tsp Earth Balance
  • 1 breakfast sausage, chopped
  • 1 fried egg
  • salsa
  • mozzarella cheese

This was my first time cooking REAL sausage! A little greasier than I’m used to, and definitely not on the healthy side. But one breakfast sausage every now and then ain’t gonna kill me ;)

100_7008

Ohhh yesssss. Soft yolks in hot oatmeal is absolutely glorious.

 

I actually made dinner tonight! SO glad I did – it was delish!

100_7016

A “tofu salad sandwich.” I chopped up 1/4 block tofu and microwaved it for two minutes (raw tofu doesn’t agree with my belly). Then I mixed it up with 1 laughing cow cheese wedge and green onion. Put on toasted bread with spinach and tomato.

100_7014

This was soooo good! Using real, bakery bread helped. I’m officially off the “light” stuff. What’s the point in eating bread if it’s not the best possible kind? Real stuff fills me up more anyways :)

 

Since I’ve been having a rough time sleeping this week, I thought it would be fun to ask you guys what are your tips for getting a good night’s sleep?

One thing I did differently last night is that I slept in the opposite direction – with my head at the “foot” of the bed. This is a trick I’ve been doing ever since I was a kid. Whenever I have issues falling asleep, I just turn around. For whatever reason, changing up my position so drastically helps out.

I also never go to bed hungry. I always joke that my stomach doesn’t sleep while the rest of me does :P Seriously, if I go to bed with an empty stomach, I will be up at 4 am ready for a big meal.

Finally, I cut back on caffeine. This is what I do on the days before my early morning shifts. I either cut my caffeine consumption in half, or don’t drink coffee at all. It’s amazing the difference it makes! Not having a morning coffee can be the difference between me conking out at 8:30 pm or lying awake until 11 pm!

 

So share away! I’ll be sure to post the tips tomorrow :)

Posted on August 20, 2009, in Health, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Ok. I must try spicy oats. They look so amazingly good. If I prepare them for the boy, he’s gonna look at me like WTF?! haha… So doing it.

    As far as a good night’s sleep, I really find it helps to take maybe 10 minutes to really unwind and relax, tv off, computer off, just get rid of the day! If I have a hard time falling asleep, this is going to sound weird, I press on my heart, laying on my back, and just focus on my breathing and relaxing from my toes all the way up and I am usually out by the time I hit my shoulders!

  2. niec job on the run susan! you are a rock star! ok so that mozz cheese on your savory oats just gave me a great idea.. PIZZA OATS! mmmm.. i have to try this sometime. a little marinara and some turkey pepperoni oh and of course cheese. brilliant. i agree, real bread is worth the extra calories/carbs because it is full of good grains. my tips on sleep, oh you know, dont stay up past midnight watching tv episodes on DVD! when it comes down to it, i have no problem sleeping, but i do have a problem with telling myself to get to bed at a decent hour. before blogging this was easier to do… haha. xo.

    • thegreatbalancingact

      Ohmygosh, pizza oats is genius!!! You could even get fancy and put the oats in a dish and stick it under the broiler to make it extra melty!!!

  3. Congrats on your run!! That’s fantastic!! I totally thought of pizza oats when I saw your oats too. Funny! I’m sorry about your sleepless nights, but I really have no advice! I go through stages like that too. I usually sit in bed and read or go on my computer. I also never go to bed hungry – hunger will keep me up all night long! Hope your nights get better!

  4. April (Foods of April)

    You make those oats look so good!

    Does the microwave cook the tofu? The other day I microwaved my bbq tofu and it seriously sparked in there!

    • thegreatbalancingact

      Hey April! Yup, the tofu does cook in the microwave (I used plain though). It gets kinda hard and chewy in there, but I actually love it that way! My sandwich almost had the texture of a chicken salad.

  5. Way to go on the run! You already can do the 10K race, so great job!

    I don’t have any tips on better sleep, unfortunately. I will have to come back and read the advice you get since I can’t find anything that really helps me.

  6. Between the savory oats and the tofu salad, I’m in love with your eats!!

    Way to go with that run! That’s awesome :)

    As far as sleeping tips go, the last two are two tips I would bring up in addition to sticking to a schedule. I keep my sleep time fairly consistent and always get up at the same time. I like the idea of switching up positions though!

  7. one of these days i will have to try savory oats…they sound delicious but something about actually cooking them totally throws me off LOL

  8. Yo, those oats look KICKIN’!

  9. that dinner looks great! when i’m going to bed, i sit and count all things i’m grateful for (like counting sheep). puts me right to sleep thinking in a positive way!

  10. Nice run! I’m intrigued by your savory oats. Maybe I’ll have my oats for lunch next week instead of breakfast!

    When I have trouble sleeping (and it isn’t often these days, training wipes me out!) I always find that a small glass of wine puts me right out. :)

  11. I use meletonin to ease me into sleep when I have trouble. It’s all natural and doesn’t make me feel groggy and exhausted in the morning.

  12. rediscoveringlauren

    way to go on the run :) yay!
    everynight when im going to bed i put a few drops of lavender oil on a tissue under my pillow and i swear, it makes me fall asleep so fast! it helps you relax so i highly reccomend it!

  13. You’re addicted to running in the AM, girl! That is awesome. What a great run, you should be proud.
    I’ve cut back from 2-3 cups a day to ONE, and it has made a HUGE difference!

  14. The savory oats look amazing, yet somehow weirds me out…I think I might try that first with grits and then move up to oats!

    I’m not so good on sleeping tips. I’ve always been the type of person who can sleep anytime day or night. Plus now I have mono so I sleep even more! Of course it’s probably quantity not quality sleep! The few times I do have trouble I just read until I fall asleep!

  15. I’m glad someone else gets lost on their runs too! Yay for a new distance record! It’s way reassuring hitting that 10K in training isn’t it? Now you know you can do it!
    Your savory oats officially look the bomb and I will be trying them out!
    I feel you on the sleeping – I have had a terrible time this week but a lot of it for me is just going to bed at a decent time! If I am having trouble sleeping, I find it’s because I have a lot on my mind so I try to make a to-do list before bed to organize all my thoughts. I also try to make lunch for the next day/organize my crap before bed so I’m not thinking about what I need to do whilst trying to sleep!
    And yeah – with you on not being hungry! I’ll eat a bowl of cereal before bed if my tum is empty. YUM.

  16. Awesome eats Susan! I need to try savoury oats one of these days- the closest I’ve gotten was apple and cheddar…strange, but worked.

    That sounds like a neat trick turning around in bed! I find having half an hour before bed with no TV/computer can help…hot milk works wonders too 9drink, don’t pour on bed :P )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

