Daily Archives: August 20, 2009

Sleeping Beauty

Hello friends! How is everyone doing? Are we all T-G-I-effing yet? I am, and I work at 5 am on Saturday and Sunday…

Loved hearing how you’ve been challenging yourselves! Now I feel inspired to go sign up for an expensive yoga studio :P

I challenged myself this morning by getting up at 5:30, whilst still dark out, to run a new distance record. Well, okay, it’s my weekly long run. The point is to run farther every week, but it’s nice to celebrate the small accomplishments :)

Thankfully, it also cooled off a little last night. I actually had the opportunity to fall into a deep sleep, so I felt well rested for the first time this week.

Fuelled up with half a giant banana, PB and iced coffee.

100_7000

On my messy end table. Oh hell, my whole apartment is messy.

The stats:

Distance: 6.34 miles (10.2 km!! Heck yes!!!)
Duration: 60:06
Avg Pace: 9:29 min/mi
Avg HR: No idea, it cut out on me after 40 min. It was the usual though – 165 ish, probably a max in the high 170s (that’s when I start huffing and puffing).

I upped my run/walk intervals to 8:1. A little harder, but still awesome. I’m planning on doing a 10k race on Sept. 20, so today’s run was very reassuring! I’m hoping to cut out my walking intervals just for that race.

My post-run meal was beyond satisfying – savoury oats.

100_7006

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • salt
  • 1 tsp Earth Balance
  • 1 breakfast sausage, chopped
  • 1 fried egg
  • salsa
  • mozzarella cheese

This was my first time cooking REAL sausage! A little greasier than I’m used to, and definitely not on the healthy side. But one breakfast sausage every now and then ain’t gonna kill me ;)

100_7008

Ohhh yesssss. Soft yolks in hot oatmeal is absolutely glorious.

 

I actually made dinner tonight! SO glad I did – it was delish!

100_7016

A “tofu salad sandwich.” I chopped up 1/4 block tofu and microwaved it for two minutes (raw tofu doesn’t agree with my belly). Then I mixed it up with 1 laughing cow cheese wedge and green onion. Put on toasted bread with spinach and tomato.

100_7014

This was soooo good! Using real, bakery bread helped. I’m officially off the “light” stuff. What’s the point in eating bread if it’s not the best possible kind? Real stuff fills me up more anyways :)

 

Since I’ve been having a rough time sleeping this week, I thought it would be fun to ask you guys what are your tips for getting a good night’s sleep?

One thing I did differently last night is that I slept in the opposite direction – with my head at the “foot” of the bed. This is a trick I’ve been doing ever since I was a kid. Whenever I have issues falling asleep, I just turn around. For whatever reason, changing up my position so drastically helps out.

I also never go to bed hungry. I always joke that my stomach doesn’t sleep while the rest of me does :P Seriously, if I go to bed with an empty stomach, I will be up at 4 am ready for a big meal.

Finally, I cut back on caffeine. This is what I do on the days before my early morning shifts. I either cut my caffeine consumption in half, or don’t drink coffee at all. It’s amazing the difference it makes! Not having a morning coffee can be the difference between me conking out at 8:30 pm or lying awake until 11 pm!

 

So share away! I’ll be sure to post the tips tomorrow :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers