Daily Archives: August 18, 2009

Hot in herrrrrre

Sweet Jebus it’s hot here. Not to be a complainer, but it’s like 40C (104F) outside and it’s even hotter in my apartment. I can’t handle it. It’s also making me incredibly tired, lazy and cranky. How am I supposed to pack in this?

Oh! And you guys have moved around a lot! Kinda made me feel better, thanks :)

I was feeling a little ill this morning after a sweaty night’s sleep, but I still got up and went to the gym. It was a pretty low energy workout.

Warm-up:
15 minutes on the elliptical, increasing resistance every 2 minutes

Single-arm dumbbell snatch:
3 sets @ 20 lbs x 8

Lunge w/ rear foot elevated:
2 sets @ 10 lbs ea x 8 ea (I had to cut this short, I got an intense pain in my inner thigh that was really worrisome)

Incline push-up:
2 sets @ bw x 8

Tricep dip:
1 set @ bw x 8

Hip bridge:
3 sets @ bw x 15

Prone jackkinfe:
3 sets @ bw x 8

Plank:
1 set @ 90 sec

Side plank:
1 set @ 30 sec each side

HIIT:
15 minutes on elliptical, 1 minute sprints, 2 minutes recovery

Duration: 55 minutes

Kind of a random workout for me. That thigh pain is a result of my last bike ride. I think I may have strained something, so I’ll just have to remember to take it easy until it has time to heal.

I came home and had some oatmeal.

100_6941

Wait! That doesn’t look right! :P It’s the last of my frozen steel cut oats.

100_6953

That’s more like it :) It is beyond me why I had a hankering for hot oats on such a warm morning. This was positively delicious though. I chased it down with a mocha protein shake.

100_6946 
Just iced coffee, chocolate protein powder and ice. Sometimes the simpler mixes are the most delicious.

[insert lots of work here]

I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed my wonderful, air conditioned office so much!

Supper was 100% made in the microwave.

100_6956
Fake purple sweet potato slices and a Sol veggie burger. Normally I cook veggie burgers on the stovetop, but not tonight!

Chris stopped by for a little bit. He had a cold beer and I had a popsicle.

100_6959

Then I retreated to the balcony for the rest of the evening. Some balcony eats:

100_6966

Frozen deep chocolate vitamuffin with PB and a peach. What can I say, I love my vitamuffins unthawed!

I picked up a basket of Ontario peaches after work today. My gosh, soooo sweet and juicy!!

100_6969

It’s getting dark out, and the skeeters are starting to emerge. Time to head back into the sauna apartment. I was hoping to do a bike ride tomorrow, but my wonky thigh + excessive heat is going to make that a no-go. Instead, I’m going to do a little living room bikram yoga in the morning ;) Who needs a heated studio when you’ve got a top floor apartment!

Question of that day: What are your best beat the heat tips? I’ve been using cold compresses that have been pretty helpful, but I need all the tips I can get!

See ya tomorrow for Waffle Wednesday!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers