Monkey Town

Hey guys!! I went a little MIA yesterday, but it was worth it ;) I think it’s healthy to take a little break from the computer and blogging sometimes. AND, I got lots to show you today! Lets get to it, shall we?

I’ll skip over all the boring food I ate at work yesterday morning and get to my afternoon snack before hitting the road.

100_6873

Peanut butter chocolate Simply Bar. 

100_6874

100_6877

Fun fact: I always break my bars into pieces so it takes me longer to munch on them :)  I really liked this flavour. It wasn’t fake tasting or too sweet. The texture was the same gooey-crispiness. I ate this with some strawberries at 4 pm and it held me over till dinner at 7 pm – impressive for a bar!

Then Chris showed up and we secured our bikes onto the truck.

100_6878

Having a bike rack on the truck makes bringing our bikes so easy. Much easier that trying to shove it in the back of my Focus! Chris however refused to store his bike in the outdoor barn at my mom’s place. So we are sharing our room with a Pinarello. *rolls eyes* Boys!

Kath recently mentioned that car trips are one of the few times she’ll have a pop (or soda). I feel the same way about iced tea! I like flavoured drinks when I’m in the car or eating fast food. Strange!

100_6880

Mmm… Splenda :P T’was a nice treat.

Upon our arrival in Moncton, Chris and I went to a Vegetarian/Vegan restaurant called Calactus.

100_6881

Surprisingly, this place was Chris’ suggestion!! He was craving their aaawesome veggie burger. I don’t blame him, it’s dang good.

100_6882

I wish we had a place like this in Fredericton…

100_6883

Chris got the Big Marc Burger: “Our famous all-dressed veggie burger with cheese. Served with oven-baked potatoes and Caesar salad.”

100_6885
Soooo good!! Besides the cheese on the burger, everything on this plate is vegan. They make a tofu cream sauce for the salad and a crunchy nutritional yeast mix for the “bacon bits.” The burger is hands down the best I’ve ever had, and I’ve tried a lot in my day. This was actually my meal of choice for my birthday this year.

I wanted to try something a little different though, because everything on their menu looks delicious.

100_6884
I went for the Classic Flute which is a “rolled chapati sandwich with veggies, served with tabbouleh and organic corn chips.” The classic version came with curried vegepate. I lovelovelove vegepate and don’t eat it nearly enough.

100_6886

100_6890
My only complaint is that there was a touch too much sauce and not enough vegepate. But it was still delicious. The chapati bread was soooo fresh. And the tabbouleh was perfection.

We are happy eaters….

100_6887

100_6888

Ick, it was a hot and sticky day. So much for straightening my hair! I love the decor in this place too. We sat right next to a fountain.

100_6889

Afterwards, we strolled around downtown.

100_6891

Happy bellies!! My meal left me incredibly full too. It was one of those creeper fulls that didn’t set in until like 30 minutes later…

The hot and sticky day turned into a very warm night, so beer on a patio was a must. We hit up Navigators for some his-and-her beer.

100_6893

It was approximately here that I had a very awkward run-in with a drunk ex-boyfriend. That’s one thing about hometown visits. Old friends and boyfriends are everywhere! And I’m the queen of awkward run-ins. I hate small talk.

We eventually moved on to Mexicali Rosas for some more sketchy flash photography booze.

100_6899

I got a sangria. One of the few “girly drinks” I love. And I don’t even like wine!

100_6896

I got my buzz on… I am cheap-o.

100_6895

Chris and I had very intense cycling discussions. Geeks to the extreme.

Then we came back to my mom’s place where I decided a snack was in order. It had been six hours since dinner, too long for me!!

100_6900

Crackers with hummus and bruschetta. I had about 4-5 of these. I was pretty proud of myself for at least not snacking away the whole bag of crackers. I called it quits once my belly was reasonably satisfied. Some people say not to snack before bed, but I’m pretty sure had I not eaten, I would have been up at 6am staaaarving. This allowed me to sleep in!

Chris paired his snack with an Indian beer.

100_6901

He said it was good, but was a little disappointed by how light tasting it was. My theory is that lighter beers come from places with spicy food. The darker ones come from places with bland food. At least, it seemed like a genius theory last night…

Okee, the boy has just emerged. I’ve already eaten breakfast but I’m going to go make him a feast. I love making breakfast for people!

Plans for today include a bike ride, Nana visit and dinner at another one of my favourite restaurants. If I’m not back later tonight with an update I will be tomorrow. Have a great Sunday!! :D

Posted on August 16, 2009, in Fun, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. what a great lil trip! ive never heard of that kind of bread but it looks fantastic!!!!!!

  2. I’m so jealous of all these healthy restaurants you find! We have zip here!

    That peanut butter bar sounds so good!

  3. I’m a bar breaker as well!! Gotta make it last as long as possible ;) That flavor of Simply Bar sounds delicious!

    That restaurant sounds fantastic!! I think your beer theory is right – I had the Today Show playing in the background this morning and they were talking about beer and food pairing. I’ll try to find the article when they put it up!

  4. Super eats! That restaurant looks so cool and that veggie burger looks out of this world!! Glad you two can get your geek on chatting it up about biking. That’s the cutest/coolest thing ever.
    OH – and I LOVE your earrings! My eyes kept getting drawn to them in every picture!

  5. That restaurant sounds so good. I so want to try the Mahal Thali! :D

    The interior looks so relaxing, too.

    I like your thinking on the beer, that sounds very logical!

  6. hummus AND bruschetta?! inspired!

  7. susan! you are so adorable. i love all the photos of you and chris. that veggie spot looks SO good, i was a little surprised to hear your carnivorous man suggested it but i can clearly see why. yummo! sorry about the awkward run in, gotta love that, right?? i love cooking bfast for people too! cant wait to see what you created! xo

  8. I don’t go out to bars in my hometown so that I can avoid the ex’s. However, since the place is so small I run into people I know literally everywhere I go! But, I enjoy seeing old friends.

  9. Oooh I love simply bars! I’ve never tried that flavor though–it sounds delicious. That restaurant looks amazing, too! Your dish looks fantastic :)

  1. Pingback: Blogging About Bloggers « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: The Last Lunch « The Great Balancing Act

  3. Pingback: Another Fabulous Sunday in the City + Final Goal Check-In! | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

